Daybreak

Posted: January 27, 2013 in Music nobody listens to

Ah, hell with it, let’s just do a Harry Nilsson post, why not?

I imagine it is kind of surprising that with the other music I like, it turns out I am a pretty good Nilsson fan.  Owe it all to Silent Mike, who inducted me into the Love of Harry.

Nilsson didn’t perform live; but the BBC managed to get him in the studio, but he did it his way:

As I get older, I appreciate his voice more.  He was a great, great singer.  There was a funny story in that doc; on one of his first singles, he tracked himself as backing vocals.  The producer said he had an instinctive ability to add his own backing.  When the single was released, a reviewer took him to task for not crediting the person singing the wonderful backing vocals!

Watched a Jeff Lynne documentary last night.  Coincidentally, Eric Idle showed up in both. He wrote a song about Harry, that showed up on Nilsson’s last album.  Hasn’t been released on CD or digitally yet, it would be interesting to hear how Harry did it.  Idle’s version was fun.

“a little dignity for these people”:

At the end, the documentary discussed a scene at Harry’s grave, where George Harrison led a group singing “You’re Breaking My Heart”.  Nobody doubts Harry would have approved.

Although that would be a great ending, Harry has another message for us:

Comments
  1. Silentmike says:

    Harry just put Eric Idle’s version on the album. His response was that he sang “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life”. I have a copy if you want to hear it. Or give it a listen at fortheloveofharry.blogspot.com

  2. I have a copy if you want to hear it.

    OF COURSE YOU DO.

  3. So, mikey tells me that you watch “Walking Dead.” I just started it. zomg, it’s good.

    ALSO TOO DID YOU SEE THE END OF AHS: ASYLUM?

  4. I really love a fresh baguette from the bakery. Mm-mm-mmm.

  5. I am busy with YouTube MST episodes all afternoon, and doing my best to ignore the snow that should be shoveled.

  6. mikey says:

    Slacker. I’ve just swept the bamboo leaves off my back porch.

    The same as shoveling snow. Or the neighborhood undead…

  7. Ok, I thought I was losing my mind when I couldn’t find any of their stuff to stream.

    Those aren’t necessarily exclusive.

  8. Snow does not want to be shoveled.

    It wants you to run through it with your d.a.w.g.
    ~

  9. El was sent over here by mikey. El had posted a Nilsson song on FB this morning… Jump Into the Fire. It’s been going through his head off and on through the weekend, and then again upon waking. Nilsson must be in the air.

    Mikey (if that is your real name), it was pure coincidence, even though El has been known to fraternize with teh Zombeh.

    • Jump Into The Fire was yesterday’s Nilsson. Although I would NOT recommend that EL go to yesterday’s post. I have been told it is scarring.

      I liked your Graham Parker viddy too. Graham’s backing band is the Figgs, who are one of my favorites.

  10. mikey says:

    I’m not. Kinda hungry though.

    Just got back from another meeting with my soon to be employers. Can’t wait to BUY some shit!!

    Brie. A new comforter. Umm, some other shit I can’t think of right now – but I’m pretty sure I need it…