Strange Magic

Posted: February 3, 2013 in Fridge Note, Thread Open; have at it.

Whoah.

I started blogging a LONG time ago.  And there was quite a long period that saw no comments, ever.  I have been told by Zelmo and others that they had READ what I posted, but didn’t feel like commenting.  WTF? says I.  This is a SOCIAl medium, like a disease, you GOTS to pass it on.

Anyway, that was an old blog.  Got kilt dead by the Logs of the Cob.  Sank into the swamp.  So I started another one.   THAT one sank into the swamp.  The next one burned down, fell over, THEN sank into the swamp.  But the next one STAYED UP!  And that’s where you’re commenting, the most stubborn blog in all the internoozzles!

So yesterday was the Great Jon Swift/Al Weisel Blog Amnesty Day, and TG passed it on to me, and I passed it on to others.  I confess I abandoned the sidebar blogroll for the most part.  There seemed to be a ‘popular kewl kid’ popularity contest at some places, and not just the bigs, I didn’t want to participate in.  I have my favorite links up there, like Animals Being Dicks.  The bloggerhood is what it is, and you could do worse than clicking on the people who comment here; most of them have lively joints too.

But what inspires the blogs is the commenting, along with the interlinkery (Look, you might just as well go to thndr’s or Chrome Beach and look at their sidebars; that would pretty much be the same as mine).  And the thing that fosters the community is the commenting.  So after screaming out onto my first blog for some time, I started wandering around to the dive-bars of the bloogersphere, and making obnoxious grammar joke comments.  People followed me back to my joint so they could yell at me some more.

Over the course of time, some bloggers have faded in and out, some have returned to life (without being zombies) and it’s good to see those voices return; hopefully others will, but really, how permanent is a blog?  And I think this Internet thing is going to fade away too.

So anyways; after all that blather and intro, here’s the thing: this WordPress platform has some built-in statistics that blooger never did (and I never got the hang of the 3rd party blooger apps, or just couldn’t be arsed) but since starting this joint up about a year and a half ago, there has been a reliable amount of traffic (not counting the HORRIFYING traffic spike when a post got linked over at Crooks and Liars – seriously, I thought I had been hacked or uber-spammed), and I thank all of you who made for some lively action.  I missed the milestone when this iteration of the Empire passed 50,000 visitors, but I didn’t miss this milestone (agreeably enough, obtained during Blogroll Amnesty Days!):

10,000That’s….a whole lot of yelling.  Thanks!  You make me feel alive.

zombie-2So this is for all a yez, you zombie-loving weirdos.

Also, you guys can see a complete summary of the Empire in 2012 HERE.  It’s got some funny bits.

Comments
  1. doe says:

    as i’ve said to blackdog ..on his grid ..before , .. blogging will never end , the cats will lay , warmth /, please could someone tell me what the moving pic tures are ?, my lap top doesn’t do adobe .. . , said midnight on the eau .. . , .

  2. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    Maybe Pinko hardly blogs now because you don’t link to him, zrm.

    Pinko? Pinkerbelle?

    Link if you believe!


    ~

  3. If y’all follow that link to my Annual Report, thndr, you’ll see that you are one of my top commenters, and your blog is one of my top referrers.

    So I guess I owe it to you, in part.

    Thanks. Dammit.

  4. Another Kiwi says:

    Most visitors came from The United States. New Zealand & Canada were not far behind.

    Hah hah. Not Australia then?

  5. BDR says:

    Bmpthnx of course, but serious question: I am hearing ELO all the time, WFMU, gas stations, friend’s blogs – is this ELO’s Mac-like resurrection or have the glaucoma drops triggered old man flashbacks or, I vote for this, Death to the Either/Or?

  6. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    lol.
    ~

  7. mikey says:

    When I first started hanging out at Sadly No the average comment thread was like 20 or 30 comments. Part of my disappointment in the evolution of the commentariat was the incredible growth in people who, unlike what I had grown accustomed to, were NOT smarter than me. I found this…disconcerting. But I don’t have that problem here – even the people who are dead are smarter than I am. I just run along behind with the wackypedia open in another tab and enjoy the lessons….

  8. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    Great. We’re going to be listening to Ray-Ray for the rest of our effing lives.

    http://i.imgur.com/0tf2xFt.jpg
    ~

  9. M. Bouffant says:

    Street Cred: Caught ELO opening for BÖC on the same bill at some dump in Hollywood in 1973/4/5

    • Street Cred: Caught ELO opening for BÖC on the same bill at some dump in Hollywood in 1973/4/5

      Ha! I saw Aldo Nova open for BÖC in ’82. Now that was a show!

      Bonus: Mr. Nova had a cold. Super. Also: there was a giant styrofoam Godzilla. I don’t think Aldo and the Godzilla weren’t the same person.

  10. If y’all follow that link to my Annual Report, thndr, you’ll see that you are one of my top commenters, and your blog is one of my top referrers.

    So I guess I owe it to you, in part.

    Yeah, I look at Thunder as the Mayor of this bloggerhood. Even when I did that nutso “24 posts in 24 hours” thing, he commented on every single post.

    Also, I can’t see any mention of ELO without linking to this. It’s not like I don’t like ELO, I just crack up whenever I hear, “And Johnny played little violin, and Bobby Joe played big violin- the one that stands on the floor.” Gets me every time.

  11. Landru says:

    Oh. Hey, thanks. Most kind. Too kind, really. No, really.

    Oh, I mean about your last post. Sorry, my brain is cheese, which actually ought to be a pretty good thing for a brain to be around these parts some time.

    You’re so fucking kind I won’t express an opinion on ELO. Now, excuse me, while I kiss this guy.

  12. blue girl says:

    the Great Jon Swift/Al Weisel

    Wow, what a shock that way. So, so sad. *Sniffle* RIP JS/AL

  13. blue girl says:

    If I continually call-out all the typos in my comments after I make them, you’ll be up to 20,000 comments in no time!

  14. Brando says:

    Bleu Gurl in a Misread Stait

  15. Brando says:

    ELO of a different variety:

  16. Brando says:

    DOH, embedding is apparently beyond my technical abilities

  17. fish says:

    I refuse to comment on this.

  18. Jennifer says:

    ELO and Led Zeppelin…. :)