I’m Going Slightly Mad

Posted: June 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

Working late, trying to get a package out to the State for tomorrow; while pushing this stupid stone up this same fucking hill, I have been watching Weeds, courtesy Netflix, and it’s fuckin hilarious; but also with great soundtrack (coordinated by Joey Santiago of the Pixies).  Of most interest is the theme song, “Little Boxes” which over the course of the series has been done by Randy Newman, Elvis (not the fat dead one) Shins, Englebert Humperdinck, Goat, and Rise Against, among lotsa others.

Hey, tomorrow I have to drive these fucking drawings out to Waukesha, and then make a shitload of phone calls, and then I may have some free time.  I wonder if there is something to do?

Gosh, I’m tired.

Comments
  1. Dusty says:

    I haven’t missed a season yet of Weeds. I lived in anticipation of who would sing Little Boxes every week the first two seasons..some were quite good, don’t cha think?

    The new season started Monday..do you want me to tell you what happens? 😉

  2. I never even knew of the existence of this show, what with all you kids walking on my lawn and stuff.
    ~

  3. vacuumslayer says:

    Only slightly? Are you putting your back into it?

  4. vacuumslayer says:

    I never even knew of the existence of this show, what with all you kids walking on my lawn and stuff.

    Yeah, my parents watch this show. Apparently now parents can tread on their kids’ lawns. I’m not sure what to think about that. Parents today…with their saggy pants and shows about POT. I tell ya…

  5. There’s also quite a bit of sex.

    And gratuitous Kevin Nealon.

  6. mikey says:

    NO!

    I’m finding there are very clear limits to the bandwidth I have available for episodic teevee. Though since I got this DVR thingie in January it has expanded somewhat, you still have to, you know, WATCH the shit which, even with the skip-da-commercials hacks takes up time I could be putting to good use staring pensively out the window and designing improvised perimeter defense and area denial munitions in my head. So, you know, I gotta choose carefully.

    I love Justified and Burn Notice. I did The Event, and Chicago Code (I was fascinated by the all-grown-up flashdance chick). I record PTI every day and almost always find a chance to watch it, but it’s only like twenty minutes, so that’s ok. Sons of Guns is the only reality show I’ve ever been willing to watch, and I’ve grown quite fond of that little family – mostly because they don’t fight and bicker all the time, but rather clearly love each other deeply. It’s a pleasure to watch them. I’m on board with “Falling Skies” at this point, waiting to see if the interesting reveals and well-done firearms sequences offset the hackneyed characters and some simply impossible to believe dialog and behaviors. I like Jamie Oliver and Roger Mooking, so I have send the DVR thingie on patrol to round up what it can find. Along with the Giants and MLB-TV that’s about all I can handle at this point…

  7. I’m afraid the last Falling Skies episode lost me, mikey. The characters and dialog are just too awful.

    I don’t actually watch much TV. Maddow and Olbermann and ed, daily show and Colbert if I am around and they aren’t repeats; otherwise it’s Dirty Jobs and Mythbusters and Man vs Food.

    New seasons of Rescue Me and Sons of Anarchy are in the offing though….

  8. Snag says:

    If Mikey spends his free time thinking about front yard fields of fire, I would very much enjoy hanging out with him.

  9. mikey says:

    Oh dear. No.

    It only STARTS with fields of fire. You select the various firing portals and fighting positions available. Then you subtly use the landscaping – moving plant stakes and garden gnomes, rocks and decoratives to use as firing stakes. You hit ’em with a small splash of reflective paint (do a test to make sure it’s reflective in IR too, that’ll make ’em stand out in your NV gear too). Remember to analyze the lines of approach, keeping in mind the critical difference between cover and concealment. Fires can be mapped into points of maximum concealment (poor decision making is the primary generator of casualties), but don’t bother targeting real cover – plan your fires against lines of movement OUT of defilade.

    But that’s all done day one. After that it gets more interesting, as you think about how to harden the perimeter and use everyday products (oven cleaner, chlorine bleach, naptha, nail polish remover) to channel movement and act as force multipliers…

  10. mikey says:

    I should add that the availability of satellite imagery of one’s abode is in so many ways a boon to mankind…

  11. vacuumslayer says:

    There’s also quite a bit of sex.

    UH-OH. Do they need supervision while watching? Ewwwww. I just grossed myself out.

  12. Dusty says:

    My DVR is so damn full I am starting to delete shit I haven’t watched but thought I really really wanted to.

    Its all those friggin movies. Damn Ball n’ Chain demands I dvr movies for him then the fuckwit doesn’t watch them..until I delete them..THEN he screams like a banshee that he really really wanted to see ‘that movie’.

    Screw him..the bill is in MY name. heh. 😉

  13. Another Kiwi says:

    My an Teevee usta be close, real close. Then it started hanging out with some big time dipshits and having wall to wall dumbarses on and it was just no good. It’s dead to me now and we say hello in the street if we see each other and “how’s your mum” and such. But I just don’t care enough anymore.

  14. I have to agree with A.K., except we’ve dropped even the pretense of civility.
    ~

  15. Brando says:

    Hey, I can actually get into this blog! Must be because I wore a suit and dress pants.

    I have been completely reeled into Veronica Mars, a mere seven years after it debuted. Worth spinning up from Netflix. I also caught some episodes of Weeds at a friend’s house and want to go back and watch it.

  16. fish says:

    Nurse Jackie is equal in quality to Weeds ZRM. As is Shameless, which may even be better. I’m with Mikey on Justified, and Fringe and Supernatural handle my X-Files/Angel joneses.

  17. herr doktor bimler says:

    plan your fires against lines of movement OUT of defilade.

    Defilade is something you make when life gives you something.

  18. mikey says:

    I think what Herr Doktor’s looking for here is this:

    When life gives you broken terrain, make enfilade…

  19. Another Kiwi says:

    When life gives you a Lee-Enfield

  20. Snag says:

    Mikey, I need an address. I’m stopping at the ammo booth and swearing off swearing off liquor.

  21. when life defiles you, make defilade? Is that the take away here?

  22. Swearing off swearing off liquor..just in time for the batshit crazy 4th! Since my county of Redneckistan allows the purchase of fireworks, I will get hammered and then watch all the idiots try and modify their lousy fireworks with the hope that some of them will blow off an arm or two.

    Nothing worse than a poverty stricken redneck who is drunk and trying to modify a stupid cheapass firework-type thingy.

  23. mikey says:

    I want you all to take careful notice of what Snag said.

    “Ammo Booth”.

    Poseurs talk about guns.

    Shooters talk about bullets.

    If the address you seek is an email, you can find it on my blogger profile page…

  24. I thought he was joking about the “Ammo Booth”. You saying he wasn’t Mikey?

  25. I’m stopping at the ammo booth and swearing off swearing off liquor.

    Those are awesome last words.

  26. Kathleen says:

    I watch completely different teevee. Game of Thrones, Psych, Eureka, Leverage, Mad Men, Masterpiece and soccer.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

