Driven

Posted: July 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

Oh gosh.

Over on the BookFace, the Lovely El Snacktator dropped the musical challenge on me, and gave me the band Rush.  and cripes a jeezis, but that is hard, not like if I was given Foghat or Cheap Trick, yanno?

Cuz the first one is a song ya like, and the second is a song ya love.  And boy hoaw, I can’t make THOSE boil down, even after listening all day, ya der.

so anyhoo,, I got this:

1.  Song ya like.  And this one is Natural Science.  Because it strikes a balance between the super long indulgent prog shit and real songs.  It is complex enough to be interesting over a relatively brief nine minutes, but is still good and proggy; and the music is starting to abandon the folksy crap and be tough sounding, just because.  But also, it is also part of the era when Neil Peart starts to abandon the high school philosophical bent of his lyrics (hello, The treez?)  and the lyrics are about science and nature and cosmology, without being “spacy”

2. Song you love. OK, after listening to Rush all day, my initial lurch on this one is still true:  Spirit Of Radio.  Not just because of the propulsive riff, and the 4 minute limit on the song, but also this:

Begin the day with a friendly voice,
A companion unobtrusive
Plays that song that’s so elusive
And the magic music makes your morning mood.

Off on your way, hit the open road,
There is magic at your fingers
For the Spirit ever lingers,
Undemanding contact in your happy solitude.

Invisible airwaves crackle with life
Bright antenna bristle with the energy
Emotional feedback on timeless wavelength
Bearing a gift beyond price, almost free

All this machinery making modern music
Can still be open-hearted.
Not so coldly charted, it’s really just a question
Of your honesty, yeah, your honesty.

One likes to believe in the freedom of music,
But glittering prizes and endless compromises
Shatter the illusion of integrity.

Because, DAMN but that was what radio was like to a young zombie, looking for truth and life and reality that was not limited by a stupid bedroom and a stupid suburb.  And you know what?  When I got out of that stupid bedroom and that stupid suburb, THAT WAS EXACTLY WHAT I FOUND.  Music was freeing, and limited, and compromised, and still made you want to sing and fly and break things and make things and dammit that is still pretty much true and…..

Well anyway, after all that I am supposed to come up with a song by this band I hate, and I can’t.  This band helped me mature, helped me woo my love, helped me understand how to move beyond them into punk and new wave, and after all that welcomed me back and it is all pretty complex and weird and … OK, here’s the best I can do

3.  Song from a band you love that you hate. I am a HUGE hater of of drum solos so even considering the intense musicality and skill and overall entertainment of Neil Peart’s solos, I will still skip them to go get beer or go pee.  How’s that?  Or wait; how about this:  just about any of the cover songs on the album “Feedback” which I consider misguided at best.

But fuck it, I can’t say I hate any of those.  And I know there are readers out there who hate this band, and there is no way that I will convince you of anything different, or you of me; but I walk through the beautiful buildings, and I wish I had their dreams.

There is music that resonates on teh zombie end, and this is part of it.  I find it amusing that bands I think I like better, like Genesis or the mekons, are ones that I find it much easier to identify songs that I hate.

And in the end…. well.  In the end, someone else will be picking the soundtrack, so what does it matter what I think?  For now, this is something that trips the zombie trigger and keeps the barrel out of my mouth, so who am I to complain?

Comments
  1. Bains says:

    Permanent Waves indeed! Great pick, Z!

  2. El could help you come up with numerous Rush songs to hate!! And some Foghat!! El does kind of like Cheap Trick. HOWEVER, El can appreciate anyone who is allowing their dreams, whether El gets them or not.

    Also, you’ve got your own dreams. El has always found that someone else’s dreams don’t quite fit right, no matter how wonderful they seem. Maybe you should cozy up to your own. And don’t say they’re dead, or people won’t allow you. You’ve got to allow yourself.

    El is off of his soapbox. El likes the height his soapbox adds though. Maybe El will make some snazzy soapbox shoes.

  3. How about a little Inna Gadda Da Vida, scarecrow zombie?
    ~

  4. vacuumslayer says:

    My dad and I have been sitting here attending to the baby and shooting the shit, and have decided that social networking sites are inane. Hell, I’m a Twit and I can’t even come up with 240 characters of smartassery to justify having an account.

  5. vacuumslayer says:

    Now that I have denounced FB in an oh-so-superior way, CAN I PLAY?

  6. thanks for stopping, El. I know you’re a busy snack.

    I’ll let you hate teh Rush for both of us.

  7. you bet, vs! the rules are that when you ‘like’ the post, I give you a band! According to the dashboard, there should be a like button somewhere….

  8. Hell, I’m a Twit and I can’t even come up with 240 characters of smartassery

    ummm, isn’t it 140 characters?

  9. vacuumslayer says:

    I think that goes to show you what a bad Twit I am.

    Ok, I will Like you. Even if you are a stinky old zombie.

  10. I’ll consider facebook and twitter right after I get around to a cell phone.
    ~

  11. mikey says:

    I resisted for a long time, but I gotta say I LOVE my smartyphone. Combination communicator and tricorder, it’s like a swiss army knife of keep mikey busy and distracted. My RSS feeds, BigR Radio, Google Music, NPR, an Xfinity app that lets me change the channel on my teevee EVEN WHEN I’M NOT HOME, three calendars, two shopping lists and BASEBALL!

    This thing is SO cool it almost replaces sex…

  12. I have a bunch of Zombie games on mine. Also, Sim City.

    vs LIKED my post, so she gets a band. Her band is: R.E.M.!

  13. aw hell, mikey, when I started my own practice I resisted cell phones, reasoning that in the City I was never that far from my home or office, and that how urgently does one need to talk to an architect anyway? That pager should be enough.

    But then I got one. and after going through several (including a red flip-phone that matched my car) I was one of the initial adopters of the 1st Gen iPhone.

    Like you say, it changes a lot of the things you do. navigating through an unfamiliar city is suddenly a snap.

    And you better believe developers are working on the sexy apps.

  14. B^4 says:

    My favorite Rush song ( a guilty pleasure) is Red Barchetta– I think the lyrics are pretty inane, but the intro still raises goosebumps.

  15. B^4 says:

    I just realized, my song pick is most appropriate, given your post title.

  16. we don’t allow guilt here, fella.

    You like a song; at the Empire, that’s nothing to feel guilty about.

  17. vacuumslayer says:

    I would like to test this theory.

  18. Brando says:

    Nice pick on “Natural Science.”

    The other day I explained to TLB the story behind “Hemispheres.” She laughed because she thought I was kidding, realized I wasn’t, and then laughed harder. Marriage isn’t easy sometimes.

    I am actually listening to Rush right now and while I do love, I have a few songs that qualify for hate status (not including the first album, which I don’t think really counts).

    Chronological order

    –“I Think I’m Going Bald.” Worst song off their worst album. Just atrocious.
    –“Madrigal” As bad as the title suggests.
    –“Cygnus X-1” Here I likely deviate from the norm for Rush fans, but the little bass riff they sometimes play in concert is the only part of this proggy mess I can stand.
    –“Tai Shan” Hands down worst song by 80s Rush. Geddy Lee even criticized themselves for recording it.
    –“Roll the Bones” I know the rap is a joke, but it still sucks.
    –“Nobody’s Hero” A noble attempt to write about an AIDS victim, but the lyrics are so grade school essay
    –“Dog Years” Peart’s worst lyrics ever in my opinion.

  19. El Snacktator will approve of your Rush hate, Brando.

  20. I was going to pick “I Think I’m Going Bald” too, but considering my age and follicle status, didn’t want to make some kind of jinx. Wouldn’t surprise me at all if the universe, upon hearing me hate on that song, decide it would be funny to make it come true. Hah! Hah!

  21. Brando says:

    I also am willing to cut them a little slack early on. By the time they wrote “Tai Shan,” they should have known better.

    I would never have been able to answer the like/love question.

  22. vacuumslayer says:

    Testing the “no guilty pleasure” theory.

    Yeah, cheesy-ass song I mainly love because it was a soap couple’s theme song. But–you’re right–I shouldn’t feel guilty. 😀

    Right about now I expect to be banned from this and all blogs.

  23. vacuumslayer says:

    Wow. Watching that reminds me why I’m so bummed about soaps dying. When they were good, they were very, very good. (Or at least fun and entertaining and romantical.) *sigh*

  24. mikey says:

    Ok, she’s gorgeous. I had to turn the sound down but I kept watching her. He’s one of those teevee suburban faux bad boys, what they think a bad boy ought to look like. The whiskers are ok, but let’s be honest, in a real bad boy it’s just a lack of personal hygiene standards. And any haircut that costs a hundred bucks to try and look like you need a haircut is going to be a failed attempt. Whiff! Because you can easily see what it really looks like to need a haircut. I had my last haircut in 2005 – and believe me, it’s not difficult to tell.

    But the thing that cracks me up the most is the leather wristband. You would only wear one if you wanted people to think you were badass (or to hide the scar from hand reattachment surgery, but that’s a whole nuther story). So it becomes this circular stoopidity – no real bad boy would wear a stoopid leather wristband because, well, see he’s a REAL bad boy so he doesn’t NEED to sell it, and therefore, by Quincy’s Corollary, anybody who IS wearing one is a poseur and should be taunted immediately, and struck with a fireplace poker…

  25. vacuumslayer says:

    mikey, it’s soap. I’m not sure soap writers/stylists know how to make a non-cheesy “bad boy.” Nevertheless…whew, were they hot.

  26. herr doktor bimler says:

    keeps the barrel out of my mouth

    Stick to the kegs, young man. Know your limits.

  27. M. Bouffant says:

    I doubt I’ve ever consciously heard more than two or three bars of a Rush tune, & have no desire to expand my awareness.

  28. “Young Man”? what the hell.

  29. mikey says:

    Where can I sign up for the “young man” appellation?

    I mean, come on. There ARE people who are older than me, some who don’t drool or yell at clouds.

    Ok, not a LOT of them, but some. Yeah, not presidents, or even presidents for life, or CEOs, or aging superstar ballplayers, but some MoH winners, ex presidents and OG rocknrollers.

    At least those. Maybe some more.

    Ahhh, fuck it. I wasn’t even a “young man” when I was a young man….

    But sometimes…

  30. I doubt I’ve ever consciously heard more than two or three bars of a Rush tune, & have no desire to expand my awareness. Ditto for moi. Now, a good blues tune..I can listen to it ovah and ovah and ovah…

  31. mikey says:

    Doesn’t this all lead to the question “then how do you know if you like it or not”?

    I mean I’m all for listening to music you love, but if you’ve never heard Rush you really haven’t explored even the safe, well lighted neighborhood around Safeway…

  32. vacuumslayer says:

    zrm, I haven’t forgotten about REM. I’m gonna wrack my brain tonight.

  33. mikey says:

    File this under “helping vacuumslayer”.

    “What’s the frequency Kenneth”
    “Ebow the Letter”
    “Daysleeper”

    I dunno what you’re gonna come up with to hate, but those I really love…

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

