Direct Action

Posted: July 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

Hey.  Lightning bugs.

Last fall, we had major structural work done on our house.  Well, a basement wall torn out and replaced.  Nothing fell down.  But to do it, I had to tear out the deck that I had built about 20 years ago, a Big-ass silver Maple, and a fair chunk of lawn.

here’s what it looked like after deconstruction of deck had begun:

After foundation work had been done:

 

here we had the new posts under way:

notice the distint lack of maple tree.

A lumber delivery destroyed our driveway gate:

framed up:

Framing, with Cat.  It is, after all, Caturday.

After a few days of effort, we have a fair bit of decking installed:

This is a new drink rail installed on the existing fence, because let’s face it, if I am going to work this hard, I am going to have a fucking place to put my fucking drink.

Some are of the opinion that I may never get this project any further than this:

Comments
  1. M. Bouffant says:

    You killed that tree!!

  2. That tree killed my basement wall!!!

  3. B^4 says:

    That cat looks big, although, as Chuck Jones brilliantly put it, all cats “sit fat”.

  4. Another Kiwi says:

    Better lines of enfilading too.

  5. The cat is nearly a dead ringer for a Kliban cat, especially from the back.

    Yeah, he’s not huge, but definitely has a dot of ‘middle age spread’. Kind of surprising for a cat that spends so much time outside, but I guess mousie heads are kinda fattening.

  6. vacuumslayer says:

    Yer telling me. The doc tells me I better cut down.

  7. vacuumslayer says:

    Also–you’re hired!

  8. Well, now THERE’S something I could stand to hear a bit more often.

    More accurately, ” here’s a retainer”.

  9. vacuumslayer says:

    You want people to tell you they have to cut down on mouse heads? Thats weird.

  10. mikey says:

    So I’m looking at the construction pictures and I can’t see where you wired up the self destruct mechanism. I’m sure you wouldn’t want this deck falling into the wrong hands.

    Perhaps you just masked it for the photos? Yeah, that’s probably it. You wouldn’t want them to be able to figure out how to defeat it.

    Good work. Carry on…

  11. MikeAz says:

    Hmmmmm . . .you’re rebuilding the deck and I’m out of town again? Coincidence?

  12. Looks like a lot of effort since I last visited.

    Definitely not a 3Bulls! project…
    ~

  13. Zombie rotten mcdonald says:

    Is vs looking to be banned?

  14. MikeAz says:

    >>Some are of the opinion that I may never get this project any further than this

    Nonsense! You finished the downstairs bathroom in only 10 years. Hang in there! You’ll get it!

  15. I believe MIkeAz is misremembering. Because, you know, he wasn’t there to help me with THAT one either.

    Anyway, DOWN comes the banhammer! Both MikeAz AND vs!!!! Muah-hah-hah-hah!!!!!

  16. Also, if Mike Az keeps it up, when Mike Az visits he will not be served refreshing beverages, and will not be able to sit on the deck, but have to sit in the yard. With the dog. And the dog poop.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

