Pretty Hate Machine

Posted: July 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

After thunderpants evilly tried to trick Dusty into trying 3Bulls Raydio, I thought I would give it a try after a fair amount of time where I broke into hives just HEARING the words “3Bulls Raydio”.  What the hell, as I said at slayer’s place, I am doing this stupid duct detail and feeling irritable anyway, so what’s to lose?  Besides what remains of my mind, I mean?

Look, I was very damaged after the last couple of tries.  Pinko is an evil, evil man who should not be allowed contact with normal humans  and delights in tormenting zombies; hence his insistence on feeding me Chocolate Skittles in TUSTOSAN.

I am going to give myself one mulligan for each ten songs I listen to, just to recognize that sometimes the horror is unsupportable.  3Bulls Raydio is like the Human Centipede of Pandora Stations.  It can be okay in 1/3 of the cases, but the other 2/3 of the time you are eating someone else’s shit; and if the first person and the last person die….

  1. Lal Meri, Bad Things.  I kind of liked, it, even if it was kind of boopy, and the rhythm was overprocessed.  They used some bad language which is fucking OK with me.  Please stop booping now.
  2. Andy Caldwell, What Do You Feel.  More techno than my normal fare, but tonight, it sounds alright.  I forget who to blame for this though.  Probably Mandos.
  3. Kaskade & Adam K.  Raining (dance.love edit).  More techno, with rain.  The vocalist is too little-girly for me.
  4. Copyright, I pray.  At least this has real drums.  I start to suspect that Pinko has been tweaking the playlist when no one is paying attention.  Also, he has disabled thumbing; was that part of the original setup?  I seem to have blocked it from my mind.
  5. The Animals, House Of The Rising Sun.  Really?  following up that quad of techno dance?  That is the horror of 3Bulls raydio; anarchy informed by a dozen very twisted bloggers who really don’t like each other very much.  Knowing what channel I was listening to, when the guitar arpeggio started, for a moment I feared it was the Andy Griffith version.  I think we can blame this on Jennifer or BG.
  6. The Youngbloods, Get Together.  I KNOW this one is Jennifer’s fault.  I don’t have a heck of a lot of tolerance for old hippy trippy Top 40 radio songs.  But oh well, it doesn’t make me retch, so on this station, I count it as a win.  Actually, because I hear this kind of thing so rarely, I am kind of digging it (maybe that’s the cheap rum drink talking). Of course, 3BR is just setting me up the ear-bomb.
  7. Five Man Electrical Band, Signs.  Oh maaaaaaaaaan.  I am gonna drop out, tune in, and turn on.  If the Grateful Dead don’t show up next, I am taking a hostage.
  8. Supertramp, Just Another Nervous Wreck.  Boy, ain’t that the truth?  But I begin to wonder what kind of hell is coming down the Pandora, because I really quite like this one.  It’s a long story and no need to go into it here, but it involves a girl….  I will, however, bet that Brando and I are responsible for this one.
  9. Fucking Visa Ad.  I have gotten so used to not hearing ads when I listen to music that it makes me VERY VERY VERY mad.
  10. Tommy James and the Shondells, Crimson and Clover.  OK, good song.  Would have preferred the Joan Jett version though.  Incidentally, The Runaways movie was really pretty fun, though not without its flaws.
  11. Logan Kendall, California.  Hey, a song I’ve never hears before!  Cool, that’s what I kind of hope for.  Too bad it sounds like a weak Soul Asylum song.
  12. Sonny & The Sunsets, Don’t Act Dumb.  Proto-punk garage rock.  Needless to say, I like it.  What the hell is wrong with 3BR?
  13. Mudville, Nothing Gets You Going.  OK, I am appreciating hearing some things I have never heard before.  Maybe it’s the cheap rum drink talking, but I may have to re-think my Fear of Pinko’s Hate Pain Radio.
  14. Eleni Mandell, Just A Dream.  Kind of like P J Harvey.  Not too bad, actually.
  15. Suzanne Vega, Songs In Red And Grey.  I am mostly agnostic on Suzanne Vega, but I really liked her more alternative album, 99.9 F.  I lost it when the CD case went skittering off the back of my motorcycle, and never replaced it; I may have to rectify that when my next eMusic allowance comes through.
  16. Katy Perry, Ur So Gay.  I think this is the first time I have listened to a Katy Perry song all the way through.  The music is alright, but fuck, the lyrics.  Trite, the gay reference is hateful, and the pop culture references are contrived.  Hardly tolerable.  Oh, and then she ends the song by saying “PENIS”.  Points for the Sadly No reference, but I STRONGLY doubt that she meant that.  Next time I see one of her stupid pimple nostrum commercials, I will have to be restrained from throwing things at the TV.
  17. Led Zeppelin, Immigrant Song.  Kicking the shit out of Katy Perry, and rightly so.  VIKING KITTIES!
  18. Metallica, Enter Sandman.  IT IS TIME TO BEAVIS DANCE!  At times like these, I have to twist the ear buds deeper into my ears to get the proper bass response.  Although I will readily admit that the Mighty Mighty Bosstones version is superior.
  19. AC/DC, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, live.  Post-Bon Scott live recording, but still good.  What the hell has happened to 3B radio?  What the hell has happened to me?  Plus, for mikey, Dirty Deeds Done With Sheep.
  20. Twisted Sister, We’re Not Gonna Take It.  Hah.  Cheesy, but OK.  definitely Brando’s fault.
  21. Depeche ComMode, Policy of Truth.  Never my thing, But I will go with it.

And with that, I am gonna wrap up tonight’s 3Bulls Hate Pain OK Now I Like It Now Stop radio.  It’s different somehow; wouldn’t it be funny if I tried to listen to it all day?  If you hear about some heinous crime spree in Milwaukee, that would probably be the day I tried it.

Off topic, but I am doing some details for an historic building, and I have copies of the original construction documents to work from.  You know what I miss?  Really skilled hand drafting.  CAD is maybe more reliable and powerful, but these drawings are fucking beautiful, in their way.  Looks to me like the originals were pencil on vellum.

Comments
  1. And after I pushed “Publish”, 3B radio pulled up Relax, by Frankie Goes To Hollywood, which I fucking LOVE.

  2. After thunderpants evilly tried to trick Dusty into trying 3Bulls Raydio…

    I was trying to help.
    ~

  3. Jennifer says:

    I had totally purged 3Bulls Radio from my psyche… thanks…

  4. Jennifer says:

    I had totally purged 3Bulls Radio from my psyche… thanks…

  5. Jennifer says:

    Oh, how your comment box mocks me…

  6. I had totally purged 3Bulls Radio from my psyche…

    I know, right? But look at the playlist there. It’s….not bad. I wonder if anybody besides Pinko still listens to it though.

    Oh, how your comment box mocks me…

    Well, at least it’s not Bloggered…

  7. 7:48 AM? I could have sworn I posted that late last night.

    That’s why I speeled “Halp!” wrong.
    ~

  8. thundra, since you posted that link, we have not heard from Dusty. Coincidence?

  9. mikey says:

    I enjoyed participating in the creation of 3BR, but I found the result…unpleasant. I tend to enjoy really jarring song transitions on shuffle, but that is considering that all the songs are songs I like. The bizarre changes in mood and genre are less pleasant when the songs are often gawdawful.

    As a historical note, I bought the domain prettyhatemachine.com in 1994 or 95. It was the URL for my personal website for four or five years. I used to regularly get pretty hostile emails from NIN/TR fans who were disappointed that there was NOTHING on the site about NIN. I didn’t even LIKE Nine Inch Nails – never been a fan of anything ‘industrial’ except maybe bulldozers – it got to be very funny.

    The site design was a filthy alley. One of our graphics grrrrrlllls made me a font that looked like spray paint, so the UI was graffiti on dingy grey bricks. There were overflowing trash cans I used to change the stuff that was overflowing every now and then, but I don’t think anybody ever noticed. I REALLY wanted animated rats running around, but in those days there weren’t many options for those kind of features in browsers, and since I didn’t know Substance at the time I could never put together an animated .gif that looked right.

    Fun times. Back when I could get people to pay me to do stuff for them. Yay…

  10. I tend to enjoy really jarring song transitions on shuffle, but that is considering that all the songs are songs I like.

    yeah, that’s it exactly.

    Having said that, I did not hate last night’s experiment. It’s why I suspect PP has been tweaking the formula. For instance, there was no Rush. Shenanigans at the Bullsies! Same as it ever was.

  11. Best description of 3B radio:

    I explained that it was the 3B’s Pandora station. She asked why would I subject myself to that?? I told her that life is filled with existential angst and this just confirms that we all must suffer… also, it feels really good when a song you like actually comes up. I’m waiting.

    by Jennifer.

    I would add, the horrible stuff feels so good when it stops.

  12. vacuumslayer says:

    zrm likes the rough stuff!

  13. Pinko Punko says:

    3B radio was created from the darkest and lightest portions of your souls. It is your fault. And Mandos’

  14. Did I just hear a 0.5-ass denial of responsibility?
    ~

  15. it doesn’t get rougher than 3B radio, vs.

  16. from the 3B radio comment thread, and I quote:

    “OW OW OW OW OW OW OW!”

  17. B^4 says:

    3B radio was created from the darkest and lightest portions of your souls. It is your fault. And Mandos’

    I blame fish.

  18. right, we’ll be charging him too.

  19. it should be noted that that was Mr. Pinko Punko’s FIRST COMMENT at the new Empire.

  20. Mandos says:

    I also seeded it with Faith Hill’s “This Kiss”. I like to think that that brings out the true chunder in that muffin.

  21. Mandos says:

    Tried 3BR again. Got a sequence of Jennifer-esque songs. Not *bad*, but not what I was in the mood for.

  22. Brando says:

    That is actually high quality by 3BR standards. It’s always a good day when you don’t get Dream Theater.

  23. Kathleen says:

    3Bulls Hate Pain OK Now I Like It Now Stop radio.

    so true. so true.

    I still listen at work. when my day has been going a certain way. Then it’s a “3Bulls Radio Day”

  24. well, that will keep people from lingering in your office, Kathleen.

  25. Kathleen says:

    or on the phone.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

