I am an Anarchist… I am a Antichrist…

Posted: July 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

I have been watching the news-homunculus all afternoon, and I have come to a very simple conclusion

ALL  THOSE PUNK BANDS WERE FUCKING RIGHT.

Anarchy is what we see.  The fucking bankers have not been able to control their Tea Party assholes, and it doesn’t  really matter; because America’s crazy-ass wing is going to take us all down, and nobody cares.

And at the end of the day, the only thing any of us has is our leverage within those eternal trans-national corporations, or our ability to make those fuckers stand up and treat us like people….

When America falls down and becomes a weird-ass mad Max-financial banking wasteland, it will crash the entire world economy, and Greece will breathe a HUGE sigh of relief.  And then the Republicans will be fucking happy in killing Obamas presidency, and the country will fall apart, and AAmerica will be partitioned like the USSR was.

I am happy to be in a segment that is likely to be acquired by Canada.

SO PULL THE FUCKING TRIGGER YOU SUICIDAL GOONS!

Plus, after the breakup of US, just fucking try and tag me for my credit card debt, assholes.

So, hey. Hi!

Plus, Eat the rich, cuz they are fat and laden with nutrition. Plus drugs.  YUMMMM.

Plus, I am watching Bill Maher on tv, and he needs to die  I will eat his brains, because he is an egregious squeezebag..

EDIT.  So hey, Republican Assholes have decide to screw FAA unions, by fucking them over for funding of FAA workers, playing the exact same games with the people who make sure you arrive on time and without accident.  Hey, whee; Go Galt!  because the free market will compensate your for your lost life!

 

 

As Those Darn Accordions said, THEM HIPPIES WAS RIGHT.

 

Also, those punks were fucking right.

 

And I was wrong.  I sold my guitar to stay in college, and while I have made my city moderately better through some of the thing I’ve done, I HAVE NEVER BEEN AS RIGHT AS THE PUNKS WERE.

Comments
  1. M. Bouffant says:

    Boy, I wish. We’re so apathetic & lazy (Me especially.) that it’s going to be more whimper than bang, ‘though. We’ll stew in our own juices until it’s too late to jump out of the pot.

  2. vacuumslayer says:

    What did bill say?

  3. Until I see the stock market drop 1,000 points in the opening minutes, not to mention 10 Year T-notes yields spiking (they’re at 2.98% right now, people…near the 6 month lows), I am considering all of mere kabuki.

    Why should the GOP give in when every day, they get more of their insane agenda handed to them by the Democrats who still allegedly control 2/3 of the government?
    ~

  4. mikey says:

    It won’t be any one political or economic event. It will be one thing, piled on another, increasing unemployment and desperation in a vast experimental society filled with primitive mythology, tribal hatred and advanced firearms. After the debt ceiling starts the budget debate. What if we still haven’t raised borrowing authority and then have a government shutdown while the Eurozone collapses and somebody does something stupid in the middle east and crude oil spikes to $200/bbl?

    But history does inform us that it WILL start with just one killing. Likely by a uniformed police officer. Probably in the south. And the violence will grow slowly, then suddenly spread like wildfire. And when it doesn’t stop and the National Guard starts shooting large numbers of Americans, most of whom will be not-white, THATS when you want to keep your arms and legs inside the car at all times, and the safety bar down an locked. Because once that roller coaster gets rolling, there just isn’t much in the way of a firebreak to get it stopped…

  5. vacuumslayer says:

    These comments are getting off to a really cheery start.

  6. whoah. Thundra is the voice of optimism in this thread.

    I can’t decide whether that’s good or bad.

  7. Whale Chowder says:

    I’m ready to let ’em burn it down. Fuck it, I suppose I’d get used to living in Chile.

  8. Kathleen says:

    if only I could figure out how to pull my $ out so we could head to NZ

  9. Jennifer says:

    A friend sent me something her niece wrote in regards to the current fiasco. Perhaps we should all write such a letter. Of course it won’t do any good, but it might be kind of satisfying.

    “DEAR CONGRESS, Last year I mismanaged my funds and this year my family and I cannot decide on a budget. Until we have come to a unified decision that fits all of our needs and interests we will have to shut down our checkbook and will no longer be able to pay our taxes. I’m sure you’ll understand. Thank you very much for setting an example we can follow.”

  10. Jennifer says:

    I am also slightly disturbed by the fact that thundra is being all Mr. Optimistic… things are fucked up, but then I knew that when I took back my painting class job. I’ll be able to balance him optimism in no time.

  11. B^4 says:

    I sold my guitar to stay in college

    My mom sold her accordion to buy medicine for one of us, back in the day. If it all goes to shit, I’ll be the guy wandering the earth, subsisting on purslane, and an occasional complacent goose.

  12. herr doktor bimler says:

    Helping ZRM.

    My mom sold her accordion to buy medicine for one of us
    Win / win situation.

  13. Win / win situation.

    we will NOT tolerate this kind of blatant, uneducated, and upside-downological anti-accordion sentiment at teh Empire, and Rico Bell will be around to play “Whirlaway Bar” into your windows until you relent.

  14. Snag says:

    So mama doesn’t have a squeeze box? I can’t even trust Pete Townshend?

  15. you can’t even trust Dave Pirner….

  16. however, you CAN trust Pete Donnelly, who played bass both for the Figgs AND Soul Asylum.

  17. mikey says:

    “Without a Trace” off of Gravedancer’s Union is in my top ten songs of all time.

    In fact, it’s in my top five. Originally noticed it for the first line, as the woman that went on to be my wife was workin’ when I met her, but Dave Pirner’s brilliant lyrics just keep coming at you.

    “Standing in the sun with a popsicle
    Everything is possible”

    There are just NOT a lot of people who can write songs like that.

    And “String of Pearls”.
    “And he sweeps everything under the rug
    And goes to his kids, and gives them a hug”

    Oh. And one of my darkest favorites – “Eyes of a Child”
    “She was just six when she turned her first trick
    Now she’s thirteen and it don’t make her sick
    She does lots of crystal and she owns her own pistol
    She’s got a goldfish named Silver and a Pimp who’s named Rick”

    That is such awesome goddam songwriting it makes me feel stupid.

    I met Dave in LA back in the nineties. He was with Winona Ryder. It was pretty cool – we had a beer and shot the shit. He’ll always be one of my favorites.

    And then there’s “Black Gold”. Something changed for me when I first heard it. I still don’t know, or at least can’t describe what it was, but I felt like I understood some shit I’d never been able to make any sense out of.
    “Two boys on a playground
    Try to push each other down
    See the crowd gather round
    Nothing attracts a crowd, like a crowd”

  18. mikey, early this year I scraped together enough gas money to visit Snag up in MN for a weekend, and saw The Figgs open for Soul Asylum at First Avenue.

    I won’t say it changed my life, because these are two of my favorite live bands and one of my favorite imaginary digital friends, in a legendary venue… and holy hell did Snag and Co get me drunk.

    But It was awesome, and the bass player for the Figgs filled in on bass for Soul Asylum also, and both of these bands had already changed my life.

    I first checked SA when Hang Time was released, and saw them in a 300 person club here in Milwaukee, from 7 or 8 feet from teh stage, when we were all young and angry and full of spit, beer, and semen. I saw them in a 20,000 seat amphitheater on the “Grave Dancer’s union” tour; A couple of years ago, when they first Released “Silver Lining” I saw them in a small theater in town, and again we were standing up there about 20 feet from the stage.
    “Cartoon” is one of my all-time favorite songs.


    Maybe I’m chasing shadows on your wall,
    they loom so large,
    but make me feel so small, somehow,
    when you’re chasing your own tail spinning your own wheels.
    And a time to leave,
    and a time to stay,
    I miss the things I took away.
    Did it almost make you feel that somethings gotta happen soon.
    You’re in the movies now and I’m in your cartoon.
    There’s a ringing in my ears that’s heaven sent.
    There’s a beast out on the ruins,
    some broken down lover’s lament.
    It goes on and on but it won’t go away.

    Yea, we agree that that’s a legendary songwriter.

    And Pirner and Murphy, play guitar like they are twins; my favorite description of their singing is “like two fallen angels just getting over a week-long bender.”

    At First Avenue, I apologized to Snag and Co when the Figgs hit the stage, and ran down to the floor to see both bands from 20 feet from stage or so, leaving them up on the balcony. Yeah, I was that annoying old fart down in the pit with the kids, but fuck them because I first saw Soul Asylum when those kids were shitting their own pants, and I have earned the fucking right.

    I am jealous that you got to meet Pirner.

  19. vacuumslayer says:

    So, anyway, dog rape…

  20. Also, when my ‘partners’ we e kicking me out of the first firm I started, “Let Your Dim Light Shine” was released, and “I Did My Best” became very close to me….

    And I did the best that I could do
    With all the mess that I’ve been through
    What did you expect me to do
    I did my best for you

    I was waiting for a chain reaction with the missing link
    Waiting for that trickle-down forever circling the sink
    I was tired of being tired
    I could not get no rest
    So I kept sleep-walking and talking in my sleep
    Yes I did my best

    And I did the best that I could do
    With all the mess that I’ve been through
    What did you expect me to do
    I did my best for you

    Yeah, Pirner has a gift.

  21. I am pretty sure Dave Pirner never raped a dog.

  22. vacuumslayer says:

    Dog rape prevention is misandry! OK, I’m tipsy.

  23. mikey says:

    It also had perhaps the most classic Pirner lyric of all, on “Just like anyone”.

    Forget for a moment what the narrative is about, which, for those of you who don’t know, is taking a shit. But Dave has a mastery of words, which includes tense and person, and leads to things like:

    “She starts wondering what they mean, do they just mean to be mean
    And thinking about the scene, do they just want to be seen
    And trying not to seem so just like anyone”

  24. I also love the fact that all at teh same time, Soul Asylum, Husker Du, and The Replacements were all wandering the same punk clubs in Minneapolis. Also at the same time, Prince, but as I understand it, wasn’t quite the same circles….

  25. And all of them struggled with the same kind of interpersonal crap, and drug/ alcohol issues, and the glimmerings of national prominence….

    Somehow, Soul Asylum is the only one who came through mostly intact.

  26. Forget for a moment what the narrative is about, which, for those of you who don’t know, is taking a shit.

    I would argue that while the SCENE is a shit in an outhouse, the actual narrative is about wondering about conformity, and fitting in, and why other people are so mean….

    And wanting to be ‘normal’ just like anyone….

  27. mikey says:

    Well, either way, the point kind of stands.

    How many bands would set that kind of introspective narrative in an outhouse?

    I mean, I think it’s a common human experience that we do some righteous thinking while squeezing out a crap, but lots of bands would (and do) dance around that kind of reality when offering those kinds of thoughts. That, I submit, is purity…

  28. I am now on my Figgs/ Soul Asylum playlist. 300 songs by both bands, and they work together better than they have any right to. The best of pop/punk/rock all rolled up and working in counterpoint. aahhhhhhh……

    The last album, mikey, Silver Lining, is a good, solid mature work. Unexpected, for me.

  29. Also, on that prior comment about my erstwhile partners:

    “Misery” made me want to scream at them, scream at the world, stand along in that lonely doorway, howling at the world:

    They say misery loves company
    We could start a company
    And make misery, Frustrated Incorporated
    I know just what you need
    I might just have the thing
    I know what you’d pay to see

    Put me out of my misery
    I’d do it for you, Would you do it for me?
    We will always be busy, making misery

    We could build a factory, and make misery
    We’ll create the cure, we made the disease
    Frustrated Incorporated, Frustrated Incorporated

    I know just what you need
    I might just have the thing
    I know what you’d pay to feel

    Put me out of my misery
    Suicide kings and drama queens
    Forever after happily making misery

    Did you satisfy your greed, get what you need
    Was it only envy, so empty

    Frustrated incorporated…

    I know the song is about a relationship, but hell, isn’t a business partnership a relationship? And besides, it made sense to me, and I howled……

  30. you know, interesting enough (but likely only to me) I used to have a playlist of MN punky bands, Soul Asylum Husker Du, Replacements and the Gear Daddies, I think. It never really worked, although you would think it should have.

    Figgs/ Soul Asylum works so much better, take my word for it. And if you don’t have any Figgs, well GET THEE HENCE!

  31. I will bring the Zed on my own fucking blog, I am not proud.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

