Turn To You

Posted: August 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

Hey, how about some music-related upbeat news for a change?  Not a Friday Random, I am re-imaging my iPod and iTunes thinks it is “busy”.

But The Go-Gos got a star on Hollywood Boulevard, which is just plain awesome.

I have always had a fondness for this song, a near-perfect slab of powerpop from a later album:

They broke all kinds of boundaries back in those days, playing their own instruments and writing their own songs and just generally behaving like a rock band, which was not proper for women in th erock world.  I recall reading that they started an all-woman group because none of the local groups would let them join; just ‘girls’ you know.

heh.

Jan Wiedlin is originally from Oconomowoc, and I saw them play a great show at Summerfest a few years back.  Of course. (ouch!  BBBB, why did you cut my finger?  Give me a bandaid, it’s bleeding too loud).

Also, I have a friend from college who looked amazingly like Belinda Carlisle.

 

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    I always thought they were fun… and they had fun… I saw their party/roadie video back in the late 80’s. Yikes.

  2. Jennifer says:

    OT- Is there still a Waltham Piano Co in Milwaukee, ZRM?? I can’t find anything online other than places selling old Waltham pianos.

  3. vacuumslayer says:

    Aaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!! “Head Over Heels” is my favorite Go-Go’s song! Awesome bass!!!

    And people have told me I look like Belinda.

  4. I always liked the Go-Gos too.

    zrm is smart.
    ~

  5. blue girl says:

    I always played with the boys in the 80s.

    Wait. That didn’t sound right.

    I always sang in rock bands with the boys in the 80s. Proper ain’t what we were going for.

    Like Jennifer said, the Go-Gos were fun.

    Did you like Missing Persons, Zerm? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R_UpLtGEWoY

    Also, Zerm! I think I might have an emergency! My computer speaker on the right side keeps cutting out! Oh no!

  6. Ok, phew. I think it was just that top Go-Gos video. Didn’t cut out during Missing Persons. THANK GOD.

  7. OT- Is there still a Waltham Piano Co in Milwaukee, ZRM?? I can’t find anything online other than places selling old Waltham pianos.

    I doubt it.

    Heh. A Chicago person looking for a Milwaukee piano? Coincidentally enough, our piano was made in Chicago…

  8. Jennifer says:

    I’m not looking for a Milwaukee piano, but am trying to get rid of an antique player… I have one place I’m in touch with, but wondered if the maker was still around.

    Chicago was a big piano manufacturing town… not sure if it still is.

  9. Jennifer says:

    Hey, I thought Glue Birl and Zerm were supposed to go on the road at some point! What happened to those plans?

  10. What happened to those plans?

    I think we were drunk.

    Glue Birl and The Zerms.

  11. Zerm and Bug says:

    We are going on the road to fight crime!

  12. Zerm and Bug says:

    “Glue Birl and The Zerms” reminds me of a lyrics from a song on David Bowie’s Heroes album. What is it? What is it?! It’s going to drive me crazy!!

    Or is it “Bennie and the Jets” — no. No, not that. It’s from Heroes… think, think, think… WAIT!

    something and the brain, something and the brain. Zerm, do you know what I’m talking about?

  13. Here’s the company that made our piano:

    http://www.antiquepianoshop.com/online-museum/camp-company/

    Although the summary doesn’t mention Chicago, the plate inside our piano clearly says “Camp & Company, Chicago.”

  14. Bug, every time you change your name, I have to moderate your first comment.

    I will start changing all your names to Cookie Queen CHEATER.

  15. Zerm, do you know what I’m talking about?

    Does anybody EVER know what you are talking about?

  16. blue girl says:

    Oh shut up.

    And I’ll stop changing my name! That way I can stop swearing at you under my breath because my comments are being moderated!

    Now I’m listening to the whole Heroes album to try to find that lyric. It’s something like, Casie and the brain, Casie and the brain…

  17. Jennifer says:

    Did you find this link:

    Yeah, I did, and I just submitted a slew of photos to them… hoping they’ll want to buy it. It’s in pretty good shape, but no one has room for it.

  18. Jennifer says:

    Here’s the company that made our piano:

    Was that the piano you wrote the post about, oh so long ago??? The post where your car crapped out and it was Christmas Eve and you sold your brain to get her a piano, or some sort of Gift of the Magi type of deal? That was a nice post.

    Also, let me add… I never cheated when I was competing in the cookie contest, but… I did accept BG bribes… I still have the pony. 🙂 I call her Blue Pony… not Glue Pony.

  19. Jennifer says:

    Casie and the brain, Casie and the brain…

    mmmm… brainz…

  20. And I’ll stop changing my name! That way I can stop swearing at you under my breath because my comments are being moderated!

    Maybe I will put you on moderation just for chuckles.

    The temptation to misuse the WordPress functions is excessive.

  21. fish says:

    BG, you are thinking of this.

  22. reminds me of a lyrics from a song on David Bowie’s Heroes album. What is it? What is it?! It’s going to drive me crazy!!

    The mind is the first thing to go, BG.

  23. Jennifer says:

    The mind is the first thing to go

    What’s a mind??

  24. blue girl says:

    fish, I thought maybe that was it! And my mind was playing tricks on me.

    HOWEVER. I JUST FOUND IT, PEOPLE.

    The lyric was a *tad* different than what I remembered it as. It is:

    Kiss you in the rain.

    As in:

    I’ve nothing to lose, nothing to gain
    I’ll kiss you in the rain
    Kiss you in the rain
    Kiss you in the rain
    In the rain

    One can totally see how “Casey and the brain” is really “Kiss you in the rain”

    Wonder why my mind tripped back 20+ years to that one specific lyrics when I read ZRM’s comment. One will never know. One just knows that one’s mind *may* be going but is not *totally* gone yet.

    And if there are any Bowie fans here, that link above for “Blackout” is definitely worth a listen if for nothing else than to hear him sing the the stanza above. Awesome.

  25. BG is cracking me up here.

  26. “Glue Birl and The Zerms” is totally equal to “kiss me in the rain”.

    Did you start drinking early today, Bug?

  27. Jennifer says:

    BG’s Freudian slip is showing.

  28. fish says:

    Heroes is such an excellent album in general. I was guessing you were thinking of something from Joe the Lion, but I couldn’t figure out what it was.

  29. Dusty says:

    I did love that badass band o’ females back in the day. Quite proud of them and how they stormed the Rock Bastille and took control of it. 😉

  30. Dusty says:

    Hero’s is one of my all-time fav albums. Does that date moi? Do I care? 😆

  31. blue girl says:

    Get me to the doctah!

  32. blue girl says:

    Here’s what my mind did. I read “and the Zerms” in the same melodic tone as “in the rain.” I know that’s weird, but I do hear melody when I read. Why my mind went back THAT far to that one lyric is very strange. But, very cool! Cuz I haven’t listened to Heroes in forever. (An album that holds special meaning to me for various reasons that we won’t go into here!)

    I’m not sure I ever gave the other side of that album as much love as the first side. Cuz it was actually an *album* that I listened to. And God forbid if I had to actually flip it over!

  33. Bug, my room mate and I had the same problem with the first Violent Femmes album. We’d put it on, and after the first side would be so wound up that we’d have to go out to the bars.

  34. I still feel bad about them crying after they heard their album for the first time. Record company bastards…

  35. Meaning the Go-Gos, but Belinda being Republican can cry all she likes I guess.

  36. Dusty says:

    but Belinda being Republican can cry all she likes I guess. Seriously? She’s a Rethug? Wow-friggin-wee..I did not know that. That cunt can piss up a rope then. The things I learn from hanging out in Zombieland.

  37. Whale Chowder says:

    So Blue Girl, I used to date a girl back in the ’80s that sang Walking in LA and similar synth-pop tunes in a bar band. You weren’t living on the SF peninsula back then…were you?

    Yeah, I didn’t think so. How many bar bands covered Missing Persons in the ’80s?

  38. Dusty says:

    Now see, there is a difference between the all out haters and R’s that ascribe to a different financial philosophy. When they are supportive of equality and civil issues, it makes talking to them a whole lot easier…but still a pain in the ass.

  39. mikey says:

    Who cares what her politics are?

    Jeez. That’s as dumb as looking for “Liberal messages” in movies.

    If you like the music, listen to the music.

    You’re not marrying and moving in with the freakin band, fer crissakes.

    I don’t like Ted Nugent’s politics, but I wouldn’t miss his teevee show. Why? Because I ENJOY his teevee show.

    Honestly, I thought “we” were supposed to be the smart ones…

  40. calm down, mikey. Make yourself a drink. I posted the videos; obv I like the music, and spent all morning listening to the Go-gos.

    That Canuckinoid rabble-rouser is trying to stir things up….

    I don’t think much of Nugent musically, either, however. Overrated as a guitarist, and moronic as a lyricist.

    The ‘smart ones’ thing though; I picked this stupid fucking career, so my smarts are in serious question.

  41. Dusty says:

    I was wondering when Mikey would show up to slap us all on the wrists.

  42. Frankly, Dusty, I expected him to show up with a story about how he met one of the Go-Gos in a biker bar, they killed the fat barkeep, and went on a crime spree across the southwest….

  43. Dusty says:

    With guns a blazing..and no safety locks right?

  44. either that, or the video Jennifer referenced up above? I half-expected mikey to say that he was in it….

  45. M. Bouffant says:

    Belinda was always a social climbing creep. Jane, the “smart” Go-Go, was always my favorite.

    “Almost” dragged my ass out to see them get their star. Looks mighty crowded in the video Lisa posted, ‘though.

    Pointless “I have had my fun” six degrees of separation anecdote: My best friend at the time’s girlfriend’s brother (who founded the Museum of Neon Art) was going out w/ Jane, & friend & I got comped to see them & FEAR at The Troub one night in 1980. The smallest of the dressing rooms wasn’t in use (or locked) so we promptly set up in there & started drinking & doping between sets.

  46. I thought Jane was lesbian. Just bi?

  47. umm…. no idea why I said ‘just’ bi….

  48. so basically, M, that was YOU in that video?

  49. Brando says:

    “Head Over Heels” is definitely their best song. I agree with the undead one, it’s a perfect pop song.

    They played Ravinia with the B52s and I kind of regret not going. Bet that was a fun show.

  50. umm…. no idea why I said ‘just’ bi….

    Love me, love me, love me, I’m a Liberal…

  51. M. Bouffant says:

    so basically, M, that was YOU in that video?

    Uh, which one?

    Here’s another local story. Note the third picture, w/ The Joneses, one of whom (not even sure if he’s in the picture) did time for bank robbery (heroin).

  52. M. Bouffant says:

    Hadn’t heard that about Jane, not that I keep up any more. It was 30 some yrs. ago, she may have found herself in the mean time.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

