We’re Desperate

Posted: September 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

welp,

I have to say sorry for the lack of postingage, and I don’t even have Bastard’s excuse of hideous nature events.

Here.  Look at these cats:

We have, however, been trying to get the environs into appreciable shape to allow friends and family to drink heavily in relative safety during our upcoming PARTY; thus the desperate work on the deck and repairing the dog-destroyed kitchen ceiling.  Tonight, I cleaned up all the resultant dust, blood and entrails from all the horrible weird places it landed during the ceiling work while I watched the Packers fourth string players embarrass Kansas City’s first stringers.

On the plus side, the half-deck is nominally habitable and the ceiling has been patched to an acceptable level, and new lights installed. Further adjustment of the lights is needed, but they work and don’t burn the fucking place down, so we count it as a fucking win, dammit.

More plus: One of our new favorite local musicians is joining us on Saturday to play some songs.  You guys who can’t come to our party should think about buying some of his music.

On the minus side, the stereo amp died at some point in the last couple of weeks, and the budget does not allow for replacement by Saturday.  Also, one or two of the basement steps decided to have a nervous breakdown tonight, so I had to rig up a serviceable repair AFTER drinking three or four Kooba Zombres (I still have all my fin-GAHS!).  At least I got do do a little demolition of hundred year old crappy construction.

Also, all the sanding of the ceiling has apparently resulted in permanent discoloration of my arms and face.

Further minus: my clients have apparently decided it is acceptable to stretch my invoices out into the 120 day range, so I am as broke as I have ever been.

Since I will likely be working most of tomorrow on trying to beat nickels out of deadbeat clients, then working with Wife Sublime to clean up this big old crappy wreck of a house, don’t expect any significant posts.  Unless, of course, I drink enough Sprecher beer and Hornitos to drunk-post on Saturday, in which case I might as well apologize now.

And finally, advance Caturday with the less flighty of our two new felines:

Grey kitteh is much more shy; I am in favor of naming her “Schrodinger” since she seems to be more a potential cat, and when you look in the closet or under the bed, the waveform collapses into a cat or not a cat.

[EDIT] I am gonna bid you all goodnight with some Ridgway:

 

And because it’s timely and awesome, heres a little Tony Memmel:

Comments
  1. Jennifer says:

    thundra! You show up as the new page on my computer. Of course, on my phone, it would probably be fish…

  2. mine has Jennifer as this new page.

  3. What new blog??? I did not get the memo!

    I kind of chuckle, since Dusty is kind of the New Blogger amongst this group, she misses all the inside jokes….

    Story time: Last time Blogger bloggered itself, I said Fuck You Blogger (you’ll remember it Dusty, it’s when you moved to WP too) except I moved to Apple’s iWeb, and hosted it on Mobileme, and secured an actual domain name. IWeb is also what I use for the Summerfestblog.

    iWeb allows for more generic website setups, so I was doing pages for music and videos and photos, in addition to the blog. It was really kewl, cuz it allowed me to insert songs from my music library, without fucking around with YouTuber or any other workarounds.

    But the Usual Suspects hated the commenting; and frankly there wasn’t as much allowance for customizing the commenting. So I moved the whole thing to WordPress. But it took some time for the DNS to be updated to the new host, so the referrals were kattywampus, and this aggravated some people also. The first couple of posts on this blog were brimming with anger and accusations around these issues.

    Eventually, things calmed down, but thudner amusingly has maintained sidebar links to my blogtrail.

    Also, I think I am running out of blog platforms to try.

  4. I have seen dogs continue after the partner has over on”

    Nice one fish. Started drinking early?

  5. Kathleen says:

    NO one is taking 500 way from me. even though there’s new post and a new day and everything.

  6. Kathleen says:

    “I don’t know if I can control myself around her, so you have to promise you’ll stop me from getting sucked into Hurricane Mira again.”
    “Just call me the Suck Stopper……..Scratch that, don’t… don’t ever call me that.”

  7. Kathleen says:

    I am glad the party was awesome. I too have put next year on the calendar even though there isn’t an actual date.

  8. Kathleen says:

    “I like my wine, like I like my men: white and hairy.”
    “That doesn’t make any sense. None whatsoever. “

  9. Kathleen says:

    There is no record of Jann Angland, buyer of fine wines and food, on the internet anywhere. I did find a Jeff Angland. He’s an albino with a website dedicated to “Short Circuit”.
    You put us on the e-mail list?
    That’s a given.

  10. Kathleen says:

    I had a great weekend. saw The Guard. It was so awesome.
    drank a lot.
    also, “this is my friend Ovaltine Jenkins”

  11. Kathleen says:

    this guy is a genius. Why is he not a star.
    ?

  12. Kathleen says:

    lst night I drank tequila, gin, bourbon and rum.

  13. Kathleen says:

    but The Guard is still an awesome movie and that is not all the booze talking. But given the apparent party shenanigans I guess I am not telling anyone anything they dont’ know.

  14. Kathleen says:

    dont’ le fish but I am watching people debone and scale fish on tv.

  15. Kathleen says:

    ZAARDOZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

  16. Kathleen says:

    my work here is done

  17. Von says:

    I go out of town, another Zardoz happens.
    I am harumphing all over the fucking place.

  18. Everybody was waiting for you all weekend, Von….

  19. Mandos says:

    *BOOP*

    (Hee hee, I *BOOP*ed ZRM’s blog.)

    Also, fish as ronpaulitarian. Discuss.

    [Gack, stupid DISGUST or whatever is running the comments section puts email and nym backwards! Why does it do that?]

  20. Mandos says:

    Gack plz delete the one with my email address thx.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

