The Great Decline

Posted: September 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

Don’t call it a depression, it’s so much more.

They’re putting up a superstore
Where the local merchant tried
Another corporate nightmare
Where another dream has died

CHORUS:
And as the choices disappear
I wanna change my mind
I wanna go back to the days
Before the great decline

The job you had your eye on
Has just sailed across the sea
So much for your resume
So much for your degree

CHORUS:
And as the choices disappear
Don’t you wanna change your mind?
Don’t you wanna go back to the days
Before the great decline

The signs up ahead read indecision
Cloudy vision for a head on collision
God bless you, and God bless me
But God help the children of this century

CHORUS:
Our leaders are all drunk on greed
Do you wanna taste that wine?
Or do you wanna go back to the days
Before the great decline

 

One for mikey, Johnny Hickman and mikey’s bud Roger:

Comments
  1. Well, its a good song for shitty times dear Zombilicious. Even our poor hood is seeing rental homes in foreclosure now..homes that are always rented out…not good…not good at all. This second round of the modern great depression will be worse than the last, according to some econ guys. 😥

    Oh and where is that Raider-lovin’ Kathleen? Me being a Charger fan…her and I will have to start a footballer war of words this season. 😉

  2. Me being a Charger fan

    You have my sympathies. XD

  3. Redskins fan here! At least we had our good decades…
    ~

  4. yeah, speaking of the Great Decline, the Packers are not playing like they did last week. Fucking CAROLINA is walking all over them.

  5. vacuumslayer says:

    All the morning shows were filled with fuckfaces saying we need to tax businesses less and cut entitlements and institute flatter taxes (which is regressive, right)? It’s hard not to get to depressed. I’m afraid this country is going to go third world.

    • You really should protect your equilibrium, vs, and not watch those stupid things. They have ALWAYS been reactionary sinkholes.

      tax businesses less? How much less than ZERO should they be taxed?

      I like what the Professional Left says about this. When someone is telling you that businesses need to pay less in taxes, take a dollar out of your pocket and say that this dollar is less than GE, and Exxon paid in taxes last year COMBINED. Then ask them if they think that’s fair.

  6. vacuumslayer says:

    Also, I’d like to punch Lindsay Graham in the mouth.

  7. vacuumslayer says:

    I’ve never pretended otherwise.

  8. vacuumslayer says:

    Also too: wingnuts are bullies. The only way to deal with bullies is to bully back, twice as hard. It sucks. It’s harsh. But it’s true.

  9. Sigh. I wasted a Holy Grail quote?

  10. I lived in northern VA and loved da Skins for a few years..true story:

    In the old dayz, as Thundra knows, the Skins were sold out every game and season tix were handed down in wills and shit, yes they were a powerhouse team back then. My girlfriends dad was in the hospital. She called me and told me bout her dad, I said I was sorry to hear that, she said, but we need to go visit him now. I said why? Is he dying?

    She said no, but my brother wants his Skin’s tix for the game this weekend and my mom told me to get my ass down there if I wanted them as dad said to give them to the kids, whichever one wanted them and mom was pissed at her brother and didn’t want him to get the tix.

    We got em! Her Dad lived thank gawd, so the season tix didn’t get handed down that year. 😉

    • Good family story, Dusty.

      The Packers are like that, except the ticket demand doesn’t go down much in years when they suck. They haven’t done that too much in recent memory, but ewww… the Lynn Dickey and Majkowski years were a trial.

      Currently, there is a waiting list of something like 80,000 people for tickets. They could field a second team and there would be leftovers.

      They are planning on adding some nose-bleed seats, about 6000, which will be instantly sold out.

      Also, never be moved to another city. ever. It’s why the NFL changed their rules so nobody else can ever set up a team that way.

    • Another story, Dusty. One of my friends moved to San Diego, and while he found a Packer bar (one in every city) he and his dad, after going to a Chargers game (walked up and bought tickets day of game. What a weird idea) his dad went ahead and bought season tickets. It was just that simple. One marvels.

      • I have been to that Packers bar dude! A great friend of mine is from WI and I used to go to that bar w/him and his girlfriend!

        I used to go to a Bills bar in San Diego, its in Mission Beach I believe…the Bills bar.

        I forget where the Packers bar is..its been awhile as my friend now lives in his Moho and they travel the country from season to season…what a life eh?

  11. Oh and dude…the Chargers rarely sell out a game any longer…much to the chagrin of my yuppie sista who still lives there.

    So buying tix off the streets is the best way to get good seats if you really want to see the damn Chargers coached by that asshat Norvie Turner. 😉

    The Only game they sell out is the big Oakland matchup….speaking of which..where is Kathleen? I got a story about that yearly grudge match…wherein a guy got his ear bit off in a bar I used to work at in SD.

  12. Kathleen is probably eating artisanal cheese and drinking snooty wine while reading seven books.

  13. They gave Obama a share of stock when they visited the White House. They need to ask that fucker to give it back.

    I got Aaron in a league.. hope I got enough pts outta him for a win. Ain’t looking too good in any of my four fantasy leagues damn it.

  14. Redskins are 2-0, somehow.

    The thing is, I just can’t see career backup Rex Grossman ever doing anything more than *possibly* taking the team to a wildcard appearance.
    ~

    • Could be worse. Could be Jay Cutler at quarterback. (yes, that is Brando bait. Know who the Packers are playing next week?)

      Packers are a bit lucky to be 2-0. But coming back against a super-hot offense that had them down 13-0 in the second quarter shows a team that is confident enough to be patient.

  15. mikey says:

    Two words: Alex. Smith.

    No, no. Don’t weep for me. I got to party like a rockstar in the eighties. The Joe Montana Niners were one helluva fun ride. Too bad there wasn’t much of an internet in those days…

  16. Whale Chowder says:

    Yup, we lived in the Bay Area during the Montana / Rice years. Kinda spoiled us as Seahawk fans, y’know?

  17. Jennifer says:

    Go Bears. 🙂

    • Jennifer, they’re 1-1. I mean, it’s not like they’re the Vikings or anything.

      …but what the hell is up with Detroit?

      • Recovering Republican says:

        The Lions are good, that’s what’s up. Scary defensive line and Matthew Stafford is giving Rodgers a run for best QB in the division. He’s not there yet, probably never will be, but that’s only because Rodgers set the bar ridiculously high. I’d take Matthew Stafford over 85% of the starting QBs in the NFL right now.

        Pack is still the better team, but the difference is quite small. If they played in the NFC West, the Lions would waltz their way to a division title. As is, they have a pretty good shot at making the playoffs as a wild card.

  18. Jennifer says:

    You’re asking the wrong person. 🙂

  19. What the hell is up with Detroit?

    “Put Your Hands Up 4 Detroit”, Fedde le Grand said.
    ~

  20. mikey says:

    I think I mentioned it, but Ted Nugent’s TeeVee show is pretty good.

    Maybe that’s all it took?

  21. fish says:

    and I fucking despise Norv the fuckwad Turner, and of course they gave him a big ole contract extension.

    That just makes me sad and I am not even a SD fan.

  22. fish says:

    Johnny Hickman seems to have captured the spirit of the late Warren Zevon. I would recommend he not hang onto it too long, it can cause serious damage.

  23. Snag says:

    I knew someone would take a Vikings shot in here somewhere. Thanks, guys.

  24. The schaden freudes itself, or so someone once said.
    ~

  25. Brando says:

    My dear Zombie, shall we make a one-post blog bet on the outcome of this weekend’s Bears/Cheeseheads game? Winner gets to post whatever he wants at the other’s blog on Monday? I’m also open to counter bets.

  26. mikey says:

    Well, yeah. How deluded would you have to be to bet anything on the utterly random football stylings of Jay Cutler?

    Even his mom is betting on Aaron Rodgers team…

  27. Laura says:

    Being a Canadian, I’m going to say that this is a great beer drinking song.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I love meeting new people. Yes, even Zombie’s! 🙂
    Take care,
    ((Hugs))
    Laura

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

