The Weight Is A Gift

Posted: November 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

Ouch.

Oddly, I have been down to Chicago several times in the past few weeks, for various reasons.  After spending part of a day there, I lose all patience with Wisconsin drivers for a couple of weeks.  Sheesh.

It is good, then, I guess, that I spent so much money making ZomCruiser road worthy, mostly, again.  But the most important part, the iPod link to the stereo, is fully operational and I do not have to worry about THAT.

As I mentioned recently, i have a decent project to work on, for a while; the regret of course, is that most of my fees will not be forthcoming until early next year, but what can you do these days?  Go all mush-brained and hole up in a bunker?  Tempting, I know.  But as I said, and took the beatings for saying so, I am keeping up some kind of muddled optimistic outlook, even if it is mud-covered and bedraggled.  Besides, part of the project includes the renovation of this:

kind of an ungainly charm

Not an earth-shattering project, by itself, perhaps; but it anchors a corner of an intersection that used to be a hopping business district as well as center of the African-American community, and is seeing some signs of life after much neglect.  Also, yes, it is directly adjacent to another project of mine, visible to the right.  And renovating a little trooper like that is a total party.

But I’m not here to talk about that.  I’m here to talk about the draft.  Wait, I’ll come in again.  Let me refresh my drink.

I was talking about why my back and arms are sore and floppy today.  It all has to do with my trip south of Chicago on Saturday.  i hit the road at 5 AM, so I could spend 8 or 9 hours  with this man as he demonstrated and taught us all the various ways the joints in a human body are not intended to bend.

OK, he looks a bit like a gnome, but you certainly don’t want to underestimate his ability to make you sorry you have arms, wrists, elbows, and fingers.  And at 74, he was the jumpiest grandpa  gnome I have ever seen.

It was a certification class in Joint Lock Manipulation and Throws, and BBBB knows what I’m talking about here. And I apologize to Ms. G for aggravating her wonky shoulder, but in my defense, she also stressed my aged knees. By the end, my arms and elbows and wrists were rubbery and near-useless, and my back was growling for relief.

And we spent the entire day practicing these vicious, dangerous techniques with a dozen black belts and a handful of Masters, and gobbled Advil by the handfuls afterward, and we had a wonderful time.

Ouch.

Comments
  1. So did I hear you say Wisconsin drivers are worse than Illinois drivers?

    (I didn’t notice on my sample, given its brevity.)
    ~

  2. just s – s – s – l – o – w – e – r.

  3. Ah hah! That’s why I don’t notice. EVERYBODY is slower.

    If someone is passing me, they’re going way over the limit.

    I don’t like driving much, so I try to get it over with quickly!
    ~

  4. whoah….the Packers are whomping the bejabbers out of the Vikings. Looks like they finally figured out how to make the pieces of their defense fit together.

  5. I just turned on the teebee to confirm that there is no football on it.

    I can’t believe how many commercials it took to get to Office or some spinoff…a few second of that, and off to commercials again.

    I don’t know how you people do it…
    ~

  6. Do what? I am watching Buffy on Netflix, and debating whether I should have a drink before bed.

  7. I see Mayor Bloomberg and the rest of our fascists in charge (f.i.c.) have decided they can sweep O.W.S. under the rug. (Press freedom? What press freedom?)

    I hope other people are getting as angry, too.
    ~

  8. Jennifer says:

    So did I hear you say Wisconsin drivers are worse than Illinois drivers?

    Don’t ask Grizzled about the elusive driver known as the “Wiscoosier”.

  9. Laura says:

    Sounds like somebody needs a massage!!
    Hope you feel better soon….. 🙂

    ((Hugs))
    Laura

  10. Don’t ask Grizzled about the elusive driver known as the “Wiscoosier”.

    Seriously. It’s like there’s Xanax in the beer.
    But that driver isn’t so elusive, are they? I mean, they are usually RIGHT IN YOUR WAY.

  11. M. Bouffant says:

    Are we going to be seeing a Zombie character in Mixed (Up) Martial Arts soon?

  12. Whale Chowder says:

    As a former TKD black belt (10 years and 10 lbs. ago) I can attest to both how much fun that is and how hard it is on the aging body. My next step will be Tai Chi. Screw that jumpkick stuff.

    Also, I hope that building you’re re-working looked better without the plywood sheets covering the windows. As it is, it kind of looks like two completely different building designs piled one on top of the other. Actually, looking at the picture again, I see three distinct designs. WTF?

    Anyhoo, glad you’ve found work. Looking forward to seeing the finished result.

  13. Buildings always look like hell when I start working on them. And yes, they are two separate buildings, built at different times; the ground floor is connected, but the second floor is at two different levels. The basement is a horror.

    The architectural character is completely typical for small scale commercial buildings of that vintage. There is less concern with adhering to a particular style with any purity, but rather the designer kind of reaches into their bag of tricks to use whatever works. And the secondary street is often less ornamented than the primary street.

    So yes, an aesthetic jumble, but an aesthetic jumble with a certain ungainly charm. And yes, it will look much better when it’s got new windows and storefront and restored masonry (hopefully we can remove the paint).

  14. They are very small buildings, also, and without including them in a larger scattered sites style project, renovating them doesn’t make economic sense.

  15. Kathleen says:

    good bones that place

  16. Von says:

    1. That building is beautiful! I can’t wait to see what you do with it!
    2. Um, ahem, you were here and didn’t call!??!? I have this fridge full of New Glarus, and a bottle of 16 year single malt just sitting there…..

  17. Brando says:

    Does this mean you can demolish buildings with a roundhouse kick to the cornerstones?

  18. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    I’m digging the building, really digging the building.

    OK, he looks a bit like a gnome, but you certainly don’t want to underestimate his ability to make you sorry you have arms, wrists, elbows, and fingers.

    Yeah, I know the type. The key to a lot of these techniques is using your core muscles against the weaker muscles of your opponent’s limb- arch the back, pop the elbow.

  19. mikey says:

    Yikes. I’ve never understood you hand-to-hand types. This is scary shit, and there’s always some big ugly motherfucker who can soak up pain and beat you to death with a picnic bench. All the barehanded I’ve ever done, from bars to jails to wars, has been a close run thing. I’m not strong, and although I’m bigger than most, I’m a grossly uncoordinated sumbitch, and if you give me a righteous opening I might just take aim at your eye socket and pretty much just whiff. The best advice I ever got from my otherwise quite pointless daddy was “Pick up something heavy and hit the biggest one as hard as you can in the head”. This tends to buy you three steps to the door. And frankly, if I’m not looking over my front sight, that’s all I ever hope to have…

  20. Does this mean you can demolish buildings with a roundhouse kick to the cornerstones?

    With great power comes great responsibility, Brando. i only use those kinds of things on contractors, and the occasional recalcitrant engineer.

  21. Yeah, I know the type.

    My instructor mentioned tonight that often when this guy does these certification seminars, he….breaks people. Why she wouldn’t mention that BEFORE I went, I can’t figure out… but no broken wrists or dislocated joints this time.

    Just very stressed wrists and elbows. and fingers. and knees. and back.

    Look, dude was half again as old as I am, and half my size. How can he throw me around like that?.

  22. 2. Um, ahem, you were here and didn’t call!??!? I have this fridge full of New Glarus, and a bottle of 16 year single malt just sitting there…..

    Sorry Von, but…

    1. Left here at 5 AM, worked out all day until 5:30, and was beat in most senses of the word.
    2. Saturday night.
    3. Ouch. did I mention ouch?
    4. You haven’t drunk all that New Glarus beer yet?
    5. I wish I’d known about the single malt.
    6. I waved. Does that count at all?

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

