Are You Experienced?

Posted: November 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

As I have been mentioning obsessively all over thar intarwebbicles, I am getting all greasy with my old vinyl, ripping ancient music into digital formats, and this isn’t the stuff I cannot live without but lame stuff and forgotten stuff..

But due to the limitations of ripping the big black CDs, I am listening to the albums as I convert, and I realize that it has been fuck-shit long time since I’ve really listened to ALBUMS, rather than playlists or genres or random.  It’s something I have missed, while I recognize that the changing tech is making it a thing of the past, like 45s gave way to LPs, and rocks gave way to guns.

I am enjoying the opportunity to reacquaint myself with older music and longer formats, though, but it makes me consider the experience.

OK I am lousy at this stuff, as I am not really a philosophical zombie, but more working from the nerve endings.  Plover is perhaps better equipped to make this all intelligent and learned and shit.  I just kind of say what I feel, and click the publish button.

What we experience, as more-or-less sentient creatures, impacts what we do and how we do it, right?  When the car was introduced, the experience of traveling farther and faster than ever before changed the way we thought about communities, not to mention made it reasonable for one country to amass the land that ended up being America.

These experiential changes happen often, it seems to me.  Radio.  TV.  Movies.  Telephones.  Cell phones.  Computers.  world Wars.  Natural disasters. Police Actions.  Ecological catastrophes.  More wars.

I feel like I am somewhat fortunate to work in a field where the massive advances and changes happen in techniques and production, not so much in design.  Although the tools and materials and technology we use are always changing and expanding, we still need to design buildings for basic human occupancy.  At least until the Singularity.

And, of course, recognizing the fact that apparently we are never going to try to build anything in this country ever again.

At least until things wind down, I can listen to this music.

Comments
  1. fish says:

    I can’t remember I liked an album I bought from front to back.

    London Calling

  2. O crap, now I have to AHEM fish?

  3. fish says:

    Or I guess alternatively: what zombie said.

  4. fish says:

    Also too, Wish You Were Here.

  5. fish says:

    I haven’t spiced in years.

    Her eyes have even returned to white.

  6. fish says:

    Note my correction came in at the same time as zombie’s.

  7. Brando says:

    I can’t remember I liked an album I bought from front to back.

    What about “London Calling”?

  8. Also, too; fish and Dusty, note that it is 4:20. You stoners.

  9. Jennifer says:

    I’m thinking of many albums I preferred back to front.

    We don’t serve neutrinos in here…

  10. blue girl says:

    London Calling now only reminds me of Friends. And Joey walking into the map.

    I can’t remember I liked an album I bought from front to back.

    Trick of the Tail! Duh!

  11. blue girl says:

    Madman Across the Water.

    The Wall.

    My God, people, there are a million!

  12. herr doktor bimler says:

    Always seems to me like I am having an argument with some of the voices in my head….
    Next you will tell me that all those other colour-vision researchers are only pigments of my imagination.

  13. hdb, can we talk to Smut Clyde? Is Smut Clyde there?

  14. Officially Zardoz, even if mostly zombie talking to hisself.

  15. Jennifer says:

    Dear. Lord.

    I just realized I made the spice/splice typo. I need a beverage.

  16. blue girl says:

    I’m so glad that ABC evening news is reporting that it is Thanksgiving and that people are traveling around the country because of it. Because how would I have ever known?

  17. That’s mom-level sarcasm, Beege.

  18. Also, what you get for watching TV news.

    Bunch of lonks, all of ’em.

  19. Jennifer says:

    And… They’ve reported that most people will be eating turkey tomorrow. I had no idea!

  20. Have they mentioned any drinking?

  21. blue girl says:

    No, I don’t think they mentioned drinking. BUT, there was a “reporter” standing out by the side of a road pointing to the cars driving by that indicated people were indeed traveling.

  22. blue girl says:

    I don’t mind the 6:30 evening news so much. It’s a calm version of news compared to the intertubes. However, I can’t stand all the drug commercials. I imagine that I have all kinds of diseases in those 30 minutes. Or that I’m going to have a stroke or heart attack at any moment. OR! At least I should have Bayer on hand if one should strike.

  23. I remember turning Robotron over. Now that was a moment, and I think I had to get forty million points to do it.

  24. Silent Mike says:

    Did someone mention that perfect headphone song “Little Neutrino”?

  25. Kathleen says:

    HI GUYS WAT’S GOING ON?

  26. nuffin much K. Nobody is even starting a fight, for which I am thankful. Thudner is AWOL and using a Mac, apparently. Jennifer is getting the lonks.

  27. I am back on my desktop, which I brought out east in my trunk with my golf clubs.

    WHO wants to fight?
    ~

  28. the question, as ever, Nonny-thundra, is who DOESN’T want to fight?

  29. There’s no cookie contest here.

  30. Brando says:

    I want another mollusk fight, but one that lasts longer than 15 seconds and resembles a MLB players standing around and pointing instead of beating each other with bats.

  31. Brando says:

    I am also commenting while listening to a playlist of my favorite tracks from 2011. I AM PART OF THE PROBLEM!

  32. Whale Chowder says:

    ZRM, your desire to rip the music of your youth is just another indication of your la-la unserious dreaminess compared to the harsh realities of the world around you. Rather than waste your time on frivolous entertainment, you should invest in heavy weaponry and survival equipment to get ready for the inevitable coming class war, which is coming, inevitably.

    On another note, I had my Zen (’cause I’m cheap) on shuffle yesterday while I spent all day raking my bourgeois yard, cleaning my bourgeios roof and putting up my bourgeois christmas lights and damn if there was a dog in all the hours of music I listened to. I just have such good taste, it’s almost embarassing.

  33. ZRM, your desire to rip the music of your youth is just another indication of your la-la unserious dreaminess compared to the harsh realities of the world around you. Rather than waste your time on frivolous entertainment, you should invest in heavy weaponry and survival equipment to get ready for the inevitable coming class war, which is coming, inevitably.

    You presume I can’t do both.

    Seriously, y’all need to step back a bit, because it seems that my customary October nadir is merely delayed until December this year.

  34. Whale Chowder says:

    Seriously, y’all need to step back a bit, because it seems that my customary October nadir is merely delayed until December this year.

    Is it wrong of me to interpret that as “everybody poke at the Zombie!”

  35. How would that be different from regular?

  36. Jennifer says:

    Bend over and exhale, ZRM.

    Also… do not forget… only use lonks in months that have an “r”. Phew. We’re safe.

  37. Von says:

    Who’s fighting? I’m in. I’m so in.
    You know me….

  38. I’m sure it’s triple-dog-dare-worthy bad form, but I’m going to cross-blog ahem you. I posted that video (and another similar one) on my blog on Nov. 8th. Neener.

    But on topic, one of the things I have not been able to get out of the habit of is buying and listening to albums, even in the digital age. It’s a very rare thing where I’ll only buy a single track. My subscription to eMusic has helped that, since the full digital album is usually a really good deal there.

  39. O yeah OBS, I usually buy the whole album too, and I agree eMusic is a treat.

    I just don’t LISTEN to whole albums as much, and I think I want to get back to that….

  40. And if we want to get all neener up in this blawg, I think I posted that video back ON ONE OF MY PRIOR BLOGS.

    Super-neener.

  41. I just don’t LISTEN to whole albums as much, and I think I want to get back to that….

    I’ve just never been able to get away from “this song comes next” that sticks in my head with albums. I get all twitchy if I randomize it or even accidentally sort the album wrong. It’s a curse.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

