Far Gone And Out

Posted: December 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

title lonk

Odds and Sods:

-Unbelievable rich-guy entitlement and douchery-borderline stalkerism.  Seriously, this guy thinks a woman touching her hair entitles him to a second date.  Wow.  I expect manboobz to pick it up.

-I added a lube-related Bad Ad at Mock Paper Scissors.  I fear being pigeonholed.

-It’s been that kind of week:

-Unlike Jennifer, I mostly don’t remember my dreams.  Mostly I just scream myself into consciousness, shaking and sweating.  But last night’s stuck with me.

Those plans I posted yesterday, I was planning to start working on elevations today. Although I find an intellectual satisfaction in developing efficient and workable floor plans and solving code issues, it is the third dimension where architecture becomes alive, and where most people think of architecture as Design.  Also, I have lonks of fun doing it, and get my fingers all stained with the Prismacolor, Flair, and Sharpie markers I use. Even though I do most of my work on computers (as do most), I do preliminary planning and elevations by hand as it is quicker and more impulsive.  More immediate.  More connected.  I was kind of looking forward to it, it’s the kind of thing I don’t get to do NEARLY often enough.

As a reminder, this is what my preliminary elevations look like:

Perhaps not as compelling as mikey’s hedgehog, but mine own.

So in my dream last night, I was going back to my old desk, my old light table,  in my old boss’ office, the sociopathic Nazi boss.  The desk was cluttered with trace and markers and colored pencils that he had been using for some design work (it wasn’t uncommon in that office to come in on Monday morning and find that he and/or his partner had commandeered your workspace over the weekend and made an unholy mess)  He looked at me withut surprise, asked if I had come in to get caught up, and told me to start working.

So not only did I have to spend all kinds of time cleaning up his mess so I could work, I then had to design his project and still never got around to working on the elevations I had intended to get done.

I woke up exhausted.  Well, at least I got those elevations started today.

-In a conversation today, bloggery archives came up, and I went spelunking through mine.  No, you can’t see, they are lost in my trail of abandoned historical blogs.  I WAS SO ANGRY THEN!  Besides, nobody needs to know how long I posted before anybody commented.  But it inspired me to write this:

America, you’re stupid.

Check out these polling numbers.

Is it really possible that over half of Americans don’t believe in a widely accepted scientific principle?

Do they also believe that the Earth is Flat and the sun and stars revolve around us? What about gravity?

As a former member of the Discovery INstitute puts it, ID is “..an elaborate, clever marketing program…” and that “It’s pseudo-science… it’s laughable.”

It’s no wonder that America can’t keep up with science advances by India, Korea, and China. If there’s something on TV, it must be true.

Formerly, I felt that teaching ID wouldn’t be that big a harm; after all, teachers could teach that there’s no scientific basis AT ALL for the idea, and thus teach what the real scientific method is all about.

But after reading these numbers, I have to conclude that the children of these people may be too stupid to be able to make the differentiation; merely presenting the issue is admitting defeat.

As Dr. Davidson says in the above article, this isn’t about science, this isn’t even about evolution or truth. This is about tearing down evolution for religious reasons; for creating (even more) suspicion and doubt about scientific concerns, about creating just another inroad, another breach of the public wall for fundamentalist religion.

And America, apparently you’re stupid enough to fall for it.

[Edit] It’s even worse than I thought. The New York Times has fallen for it.

Is there any hope for America? apparently the only expertise we will have left is military technology, and the ability to export it by selling, as well as using it; and the ability to completely compromise human analytical capability through lies and marketing.

FOOLED YA!  That was written 6 1/2 years ago. And it has only gotten worse.  If I could go back and tell myself that the Republican candidates for Pretzeldent in 2012 would all be forced to disavow evolution in order to placate their base, I would have been skeptical.  And then when I would have proven it to the 6-years-ago Me, that younger me would probably have killed himself.  leaving there to be no Me of Now, able to go back to tell Younger Me about the Crazed Republican Party and making the whole thing impossible, so there you go.  Time travel is impossible because the Republicans are too insane.

Hopefully, some of that made sense.  If not, Tell Me How I Fucked Up This Time in the comment box below!

NOT-DISTURBING-AT-ALL  EDIT:

Whitman’s Samplers has a new, hip writer!

ALSO EDIT:

Font with an attitude. “SMACK.  Like daffodils in motherfucking spring.”  seriously.  I have tried to stay away from that site, because I would like to retain SOME time-management skills, but I might as well give up and get sucked into the internet like that guy in Tron.

OK, one more.  I think thudner linked to this elsewhere, but i saw it first at Sadlyville, as I recall.  Louis v. Rick.

Enough of this bullshit. I’m gonna go get hammered with Papyrus.

Comments
  1. I dreamed something something something oh yeah I forgot it again.
    ~

  2. You’ve got that frog picture, so life’s looking sideways.

  3. somedays I dream of a frog coming to fly me away in a Rainbow Brite airplane.

  4. Kathleen says:

    Time travel is impossible because the Republicans are too insane.

    I LOLed.

  5. Kathleen says:

    also I was going to post in mock outrage about how *I* had linked to those specific McSweeney’s column AGES ago, but on further reflection I think Pinko and I just emailed them to each other.

  6. Kathleen says:

    Also, your blog is snowing.

    shan’t be back.

  7. also I was going to post in mock outrage about how *I* had linked to those specific McSweeney’s column AGES ago, but on further reflection I think Pinko and I just emailed them to each other.

    Yeah, you never post ANYTHING anymore. And Pinko just lonks for ways to keep me from commenting at 3Bulls.

  8. All Kathleen ever does is read like twelve books an hour.

  9. Kathleen says:

    the book I am reading now is SO GOOD

  10. herr doktor bimler says:

    Only one?

  11. herr doktor bimler says:

    I’m gonna go get hammered with Papyrus.
    LA LA LA CAN’T HEAR YOU

  12. blue girl says:

    Time travel is impossible because the Republicans are too insane.

    I 2nd the LOL’ing at that.

    Also, love your rough marker drawing!

  13. blue girl says:

    Wow, after reading that investment banker’s letter, all I can say is Thank God I don’t have to date anymore. Cuz like the dude wrote, “People (like The Skimmer) don’t grow on trees.”

  14. I’m awake again.

    I had some weird dream but now I forgot it. Again.

    The fog and the sun are out though, and they look pretty.

    Time for a walk with the camera (even though it is 23 degrees out).
    ~

  15. Kathleen, you may have linked to that Comic Sans article before, but I thought perhaps hdb had not seen it, and couldn’t pass up the opportunity because he LOVES COMIC SANS. With a fierce love, like he loves New Zild bands.

  16. Jennifer says:

    Not to get all amphibian/reptiley correct on you, but that looks like a toad… as in one waiting to be kissed.

    I also love the drawing. MOAR!!

    And more posts like these… very real, very stream of consciousness-y, very fun.

    I awoke to snow this morning and thought I had fallen asleep in your blog… but then I realized I merely fell asleep in December.

  17. Pedantic Jennifer is pedantic. I am just surprised hdb wasn’t the first one to ‘jump’ on that.

  18. but that looks like a toad

    Well, yeah. I said I DREAM of a frog…. you can see by the illo that dream HAS BEEN SHATTERED. Like all the others.

  19. “People (like The Skimmer) don’t grow on trees.”

    People grow on trees in Ohio? Wait, you have a son, right, so you’ve procreated? I know Ohio is pretty right wing and fundamentalist, but I still would kind of think that people not growing on trees would not come as a surprise.

    Perhaps you should spend more time at Riddled. That might clear some things up. I doubt it, but anything is possible during Zappadan.

  20. blue girl says:

    Are you making fun of me or THE INVESTMENT BANKER WHO WROTE THAT “PEOPLE DON’T GROW ON TREES”?

    Also, I know the diff between a frog and a toad and I was going to say THAT IS A TOAD.

    I know that because I wrote a post on it and such as back in the summer.

  21. Jennifer says:

    Now I’m getting my reptile/amphibians mixed up… you kiss a frog… but that is definitely a toad… never mind. 🙂 I need more sleep, but won’t be getting that, so maybe more coffee… and a monkey-hot shower.

    As for people growing on trees… maybe Ohio is full of pod people!

  22. blue girl says:

    I know Ohio is pretty right wing and fundamentalist

    I have really had some experiences with this lately. I wish I could write about them! Alas, I cannot.

    (Jennifer knows of the prayer circle and the talk of the rapture at a business “meeting.” That’s all I’ll say!!!!)

  23. Also, I know the diff between a frog and a toad and I was going to say THAT IS A TOAD.

    A TOAD IN A TOY AIRPLANE. Kewt!

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

