Wishing Like A Mountain and Thinking Like The Sea

Posted: January 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

Mendacious D style odds and ends at the beginning of another year, at least as we arbitrarily mark it.

 

Interestingly, for the collidge-student-heavy neighborhood we live in, typical weekends get kind of noisy; heck, I remember MY first beer.  But last night was unexpectedly quiet, for the most part.  I guess all the students were back in their hometowns, behaving themselves, rather than in our neighborhood pretending to be adults.  We’ll take it; it’ll warm up all too soon.

Myself, I laid kind of low last night, watched the Walking Dead marathon all day, then movies all night.  Time went by regardless of whether I was paying attention, and the calendar still changed.  The planet continues turning whether I participate or not; while that is a thought that does not come easily to a blogger, it is oddly comforting.  Besides,  I had my share of beverages the night before; I trust you all will tell me who I insulted and now need to tender apologies toward.  In fact, I have a couple of ‘apologies’ pre-loaded in the hopper…

 

 

This particular incarnation of the Empire (it regenerates from time to time, like Doctor Who)  has only had its doors open a little over six months.   Opened to acrimony and displeasure from pretty much everybody, and has gone downhill from there.  So, Winning!

As is the way with Imaginary Digital Friends (and real ones, for that matter) when emotions are running high, there were arguments and misunderstandings and vituperation.  And sometimes people move on.  It’s unavoidable and bittersweet.  For my part, I regret the parts I have played in such things, and apologize for the way I said things;  words are a blunt instrument in my hands, and easy to raise bruises with.  I say the things I do with passion, but not enough forethought; and the ‘Publish” button is all to easy to push. [in fact, it should be made harder to find.  Perhaps have some word verf on it, saying things like “Are you sure you want to do this?”  “Have you checked for spelling errors?” and “I can’t let you do that, Dave”].

Personas on the Internozzles are funny, weird things, and it’s easy to forget there are people at teh end of them.  It all seems like a story.  And once you get to know these personas, sometimes  (usually involving alcohol), it is all too easy to punch through the persona and hit the person behind the facade.  It’s happened to me, and I know I’ve done it to others.  These acts we act are very often not much of a disguise at all.  It’s not a formal resolution, but I recognize that I need to consider such things a little bit more, as well as perhaps making some strides toward writing what I mean, not just what sounds good.

Look, I’m not going to sand off any rough edges; these days, rough edges are all I have left.  But wielding the blogpost with more skill is a worthwhile goal.

Thin Line Between Love and Hate, indeed , Chrissie.

 

 

I have friends and colleagues who are having just as much fun as I have been with this stupid profession. “Profession”.  I kind of get the impression that Republicans really hate architects, which is kind of weird; I would think pretentious twits who serve their every egregiously tasteless impulse would be more popular.  I guess banksters are more favored.  In any case, I know one who saw two years of 10% salary reductions, capped off with a layoff of half the office and a 50% salary reduction.  I guess that’s one way of making people move on voluntarily, rather than taking the hit on your unemployment payments.  And the bigger firms are scavenging smaller projects that would normally go to people like me.

In any case, I have had some success on a professional level this  past year; last year’s major project won the Mayor’s Design Award, and this year’s won a renovation award known as the Timmy.  They got built, on budget and on time (mostly) and are rented up to very positive reactions from locals and the tenants.  I have the next one in the pipeline, and as is the custom, will be forced to do most of my work before receiving payment for nearly any of it, because what am I gonna do? Since nobody is hiring, it keeps the wolves from the door.  But the next couple of months look to be kind of high stress.

I still enjoy what I do, when I get the chance to do it; I still get a special feeling (not THAT kind of feeling, you perverts) when seeing new buildings that sprung out of my mouldering, shambling imagination; I still believe that the work I’ve done contributes positively to the City and people’s lives.

Besides, I sold that stupid guitar all those years ago, and this is kind of all I know how to do.  Although if Blizzard is looking for a Gameplay Environment Designer, I am open.

 

 

The Road to the Stupor Bowl goes through Lambeau Field this year, which is never a comforting thought to the other NFC teams.  Sorry, Brando. Your high school shop-teacher quarterback acquitted himself pretty well, actually, and between KC and the Bears, other teams have a blueprint for beating the Packers.  Unfortunately, that blueprint involves running the ball a lot, and if a team does that, they still have to outscore Green Bay; which has only happened, umm, ONCE last year.

 

 

I was just digitizing Learning To Crawl, and mis-typed the fourth song as “Watching The Clouds”.  Which is a better song title, Chrissie.  But we were all so much younger then, you know?  And yes, B^4, I have seen the Pretenders play.  Simple Minds opened up; Hynde was preggers with Jim Kerr’s child. That kid is now eligible to vote, drink,  and join the Army.  I continue to time-travel, at one second per second. Good times, good times….

2012.  Huh.  Who’d a thunk that zombies would make it this far… and we still don’t have our fucking flying cars.

 

Comments
  1. and this year’s won a renovation award known as the Timmy. Laughing my tired brown ass off!

    Thanks to Green Bay for benching Rogers. I will surely lose this week in the finals in my second championship fight to the death. Damn bastard pussy fucks…sitting players the final week of the season…such pussys! Vince would turn over in his grave I tell ya!

    Other than that..I got nuttin. 😉

  2. LOL, yeah, I see where McCarthy should have checked with you before preparing this week’s roster!

    FWIW, I thought they should play Rodgers for the first half. It’s dangerous to let teh Lions get too excited…. And while Matt Flynn isn’t doing too bad, the Lions are getting some luck going their way.

    But the Pack has nothing to play for, really, other than a Division sweep. I would even argue against the mythical “momentum” since they have a first round by anyway.

    Hey, wait. What am I supposed to do next weekend, without a Packer game to watch?

  3. Well Thunder m’dear…I do have one championship trophy in my fantasy football case this season as I had Brees in that other league.

    This final game today however, is a league with a bunch of lefties and I figured they would be easy pickings..boy was I wrong!

    If they have a first round bye then why sit Rodgers ass? Makes no sense to moi.

  4. It’s not a question of rest, but of protection, dusty. Rodgers is the center of this season’s run; there’s always the risk of injury, and Detroit would certainly be going at him. Avoid winding up like Chicago.

  5. I was laughing at the name of the award m’dear..not the honor itself..Congrats dear Zombilicious, as its a good thing you did and continue to do.

  6. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    As is the way with Imaginary Digital Friends (and real ones, for that matter) when emotions are running high, there were arguments and misunderstandings and vituperation. And sometimes people move on. It’s unavoidable and bittersweet.

    Love will tear us apart again.

  7. herr doktor bimler says:

    it is all too easy to punch through the persona and hit the person behind the facade.

    There is a person behind this facade? I would have looked after myself better if I had known that.

  8. live by the qb, die by the qb. 😉

    Also the key to the Packer’s post-season!

  9. ARE YOU GUYS WATCHING THIS FOOTBALL GAME!!!!!

    Flynn is going free agent next year. I suggest you pick him, Dusty. Six touchdowns. 480 yards.

  10. 15-1. Sweep of the Division. And they did it while making Aaron Rodgers sit the hell down.

    Remarkable.

  11. Yeah, I didn’t think the kid qb would do well, but he held his own quite well.

  12. OK, here’s a kweschin:

    HOW FUCKING BAD DOES THE ECONOMY HAVE TO GET BEFORE WE STOP SEEING CHRISTMAS ADS SUGGESTING GIVING CARS AS GIFTS?

    Who the fuck gives a CAR as a gift? Who can afford that? Besides the fucking 1%, that is. Who could get away with doing that? And How clueless would one’s spouse have to be for this to came as a FUCKING SURPRISE?

    And why does fucking Lexus continue to show these ads talking about the December sale…on January 1st?

    Either they are fucking idiots or they are just trying to rub it in at this point.

  13. People who can’t afford to give cars as gifts don’t count, zrm.

    You know that.
    ~

  14. People who can’t afford to give cars as gifts don’t count, zrm.

    That’s all going to change when the zompocalypse happens.

  15. Silent Mike says:

    “The Timmy’s” I instantly thought of a little crippled boy with a nice new architectural crutch this part of the season. . . .

  16. blue girl says:

    I say the things I do with passion

    ZRM, you’ve been writing up a storm this year and I, for one, have enjoyed every word.

    as perhaps making some strides toward writing what I mean, not just what sounds good.

    This is an interesting thought to me. I’ve wondered about it too. I have a friend in real life (Yes, it’s true! I know real people!) who took one of my old posts way too seriously. She had no idea I was exaggerating to make a point. And exaggerating to a point where I drove the point into the ground. Made me realize that maybe people actually believe everything they read. (Hee) And how much responsibility a writer has for that.

    And once you get to know these personas, sometimes (usually involving alcohol), it is all too easy to punch through the persona and hit the person behind the facade. It’s happened to me, and I know I’ve done it to others. These acts we act are very often not much of a disguise at all.

    This is also very interesting to me! If we lived closer I’d take you out for an absinthe so we could discuss it in depth.

    Happy New Years, ZRM!

  17. Whale Chowder says:

    …it is all too easy to punch through the persona and hit the person

    I am interested in your ideas and wish to subscribe to your newsletter, where perhaps I could learn this punching-through-the-internet technique. There are many potential recipients who could use it.

  18. Jennifer says:

    I have a friend in real life (Yes, it’s true! I know real people!) who took one of my old posts way too seriously. She had no idea I was exaggerating to make a point. And exaggerating to a point where I drove the point into the ground. Made me realize that maybe people actually believe everything they read. (Hee) And how much responsibility a writer has for that.

    And this is why I used way too many smileys… just so people will realize I’m kidding, because so much of what I say is tongue in cheek.!

    I’ve also played Gracie Allen too well, and now all I get is offers for help… 🙂

    And how much responsibility a writer has for that.

    BG- I think you have a responsibility to be true to what your intent is for the moment… after that, you’ve got to let it go. There’s no way on earth you’re going to be able to adjust your writing for the blinders/filters/moods, etc that people will be processing it through on any given day.

  19. blue girl says:

    LOL @ I am interested in your ideas and wish to subscribe to your newsletter,

    And this is why I used way too many smileys… just so people will realize I’m kidding, because so much of what I say is tongue in cheek.!

    I noticed we were all smiley faces after our smart ass remarks on that old “pop” post you told thunder about. We were like: Take that! 🙂

  20. >
    |_/
    _|
    ……
    ………
    ………………………………………
    ……….
    ………. >(‘> >(‘>
    ………. >()))*>
    ……….

    ~

  21. fish says:

    I look forward to the Pats 96-93 win over Green Bay in the Super Bowl.

  22. fish says:

    Emuticons rock!

  23. Zombiticons.

    I think thndr is trying for a squirrelticon up there. I am going to see if there is a disemvoweller plugin for WordPress.

  24. Yes, BG, we used to have TRADITIONS. What happened? I blame the Bake-Off, and the no-holds-barred behavior of CERTAIN PARTICIPANTS, using fair means and foul to win at any cost. It created an atmosphere of suspicion and acrimony, blogs were abandoned and Res was ‘disappeared’; horse’s heads were left in beds, and eventually some blogs were closed down FOR GOOD.

    In fact, I think I may have to start a different blog, just thinking about it.

    😄

  25. I look forward to the Pats 96-93 win over Green Bay in the Super Bowl.

    In Super Bowl XXXI?

    Oh wait….

    😀

  26. blue girl says:

    Res was ‘disappeared’

    That is FaceHell’s fault. I’m not sure I could bribe him enough to pull him away from FaceHell’s grip.

  27. Jennifer says:

    Perhaps we should start a Fuck-Off to take the place of the Bake-Off. 🙂

    ZRM- I can’t help but think of you and your Fridays when I hear this song.

  28. That extraneous comma was making my eye twitch, Jennifer.

  29. Jennifer says:

    I live for extraneous commas.

  30. Jennifer says:

    I lost appropriate comma usage during my first pregnancy… I now just sprinkle them liberally throughout the sentence and hope they fall in the appropriate place, or if an extraneous one gets out, that one of these will save me from myself…

    SMILEY!!!

  31. That is FaceHell’s fault.

    Sure. we BELIEVE you, Beege.

    Perhaps we should start a Fuck-Off to take the place of the Bake-Off.

    I would have to recuse myself. We are, after all, Professionals here at the Empire.

  32. Ouch, that was hurtful, Jennifer.

  33. Jennifer says:

    Oh come on!! It was funny!! Besides, I had my EL here telling me that I did not have two subject predicate sets… I KNOW, but I’m used to putting a damn comma before but!

    Nobody… Nobody… Nobody…

    🙂

  34. I lost appropriate comma usage during my first pregnancy

    That epesiotomy kind of got out of hand, huh?

  35. Jennifer says:

    I said pregnancy, not birth… besides, the first was a cesarean.

  36. I interpreted ‘pregnancy’ liberally. Being a liberal, you know.

  37. besides, the first was a cesarean.

    Talk about an epesiotomy getting out of hand!

  38. Jennifer says:

    … but the comma-usage loss came long before the birth… like maybe around the second trimester. It never came back.

  39. That’s much harder to make a joke with, Jennifer. [/whine]

  40. Did somebody say it’s time for a round of Bloody Caesars?
    ~

  41. Nick says:

    Commas are easy. It’s the blasted semi-colons that are hard. Hyphens– hyphens rock. You can stick a hyphen just about anywhere; and some people do.

    The Final Cut is a fantastic album. It may be, as you say ZRM, basically a Roger Waters’ solo album, but it is so much better than his other solo albums because it is backed by Pink Floyd. Gilmour, Wright and Mason may not have been real happy with Roger at the time, but the music is still so rich, so… Floyd, that it is the perfect complement to the raw emotions of Waters’ lyrics.

    It is my favorite Floyd album, though it is best served with a dosage of melancholy and/or angst with liberal dollops frustration and anger at the establishment.

    On that note– Happy New Year!

  42. Jennifer says:

    I like to overuse and abuse the ellipsis…

    It is my favorite Floyd album, though it is best served with a dosage of melancholy and/or angst with liberal dollops frustration and anger at the establishment.

    Nick needs to clarify his use of the word liberal in this sentence… 🙂

  43. You all are punctuation scofflaws.

  44. best served with a dosage of melancholy and/or angst with liberal dollops frustration and anger at the establishment.

    Regardless, it is NOT the official album of the Empire.

  45. blue girl says:

    It’s the blasted semi-colons that are hard.

    Don’t worry about semi-colons, Nicks. You know what Mr. Vonnegut had to say about those dastardly things.

  46. blue girl says:

    lol @ “Nicks”

    What is wrong with me?!

    ;

  47. blue girl says:

    What does 😄 mean?

  48. blue girl says:

    Sure. we BELIEVE you, Beege.

    No smiley?

    I’m offended.

  49. What does 😄 mean?

    Xtra Depressing.

    Or else it’s laughing hard, with eyes closed.

    I’m offended.

    That is meaningless unless you follow up with “shan’t be back”.

  50. herr doktor bimler says:

    That is meaningless unless you follow up with “shan’t be back”.

    It is spelled “sha’n’t“, you apostrophe misuser.

  51. Ignore him, Beege. Bimler Usage is only appropriate while upside down, after a sharp blow to the melon, or while drinking Christmas Ale and absinthe sidecars. Although admittedly, “…a nuisance to write and looked odd” seems to be apt when we are talking about Riddled.

    Jennifer, of course, can do whatever she wants-maybe she will recover comma usage (and we all know that apostrophes are just commas that have gotten high) when she gets pregnant again!

    It is spelled “sha’n’t“, you apostrophe misuser.

    Please, refer to me as a Post-modern savage.

  52. Jennifer says:

    maybe she will recover comma usage (and we all know that apostrophes are just commas that have gotten high) when she gets pregnant again!

    HAHHAHAHAHAHAAAAHAA!!!

    However, your reasoning reminds me of Cousin Eddie:

    She falls down a well, her eyes go cross. She gets kicked by a mule. They go back. I don’t know.

  53. You ignore the fact, madam, that President Santorum will establish the Republic of Gilead by 2014. Welcome to Duggarhood!

  54. …and then by 2112 the planets of the Gilead Solar Federation will beplaced under the control of other agents.

  55. I still enjoy what I do, when I get the chance to do it; I still get a special feeling (not THAT kind of feeling, you perverts)

    NOT erections?

  56. Laura says:

    Congratulations on your awards! That’s awesome. 🙂

    ((Hugs))
    Laura

  57. Laura says:

    Psst… I wasn’t mad atcha! 😛
    You’re cute. 😉

  58. hey…did I use this as a post title before?

  59. Whale Chowder says:

    hey…did I use this as a post title before?

    Who pays attention to post titles? 😛

  60. Laura says:

    I’ve used the same title for posts before. Anyone who doesn’t like it can suck it. 🙂
    But that’s just me-not caring.
    😀

  61. I wish I could remember post titles.

    If only there were some sort of software to assist with doing so…
    ~

  62. Von says:

    I love this blog, and the Zombie behind it.
    A great post.
    Happy New Year Z.
    I like this post title enough that if you did use it twice, that’s cool.

  63. Brando says:

    NOT erections?

    Yeah, what other special feelings are there for guys?

  64. fish says:

    but the comma-usage loss came long before the birth… like maybe around the second trimester.

    This was decided definitively in Pilcrow v. Wade.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

