I Think I’m Going Bald

Posted: January 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

I need a fucking haircut.

Also need to get my passport.

NOT RELATED.

Further updates as events warrant.  But do not count on it.

I looked in the mirror today
My eyes just didn’t seem so bright
I’ve lost a few more hairs
I think I’m going bald

I think I’m going bald

Seems like only yesterday
We would sit and talk of dreams all night
Dreams of youth
And simple truths
Now we’re so involved
So involved with life

Walk down vanity fair
Memory lane everywhere
Wall Street shuffles there
Dressed in flowing hair

Once we loved the flowers
Now we ask the price of the land
Once we would take water
But now it must be wine
Now we’ve been
And now we’ve seen
What price peace of mind

Take a piece of my mind

My life is slipping away
I’m aging every day
But even when I’m grey
I’ll still be grey my way

Oh, yeah;  robots:

Robots + Zombies = Zombie Roombocalypse!

Comments
  1. Jennifer was more appreciative of the PG album than I was.

    Beege, that is a big part of it. The letdown was just so severe. I tried to give the album a chance, benefit of the doubt. But after a few listens, I just got out of hand. How could Gabriel blow this so badly?

  2. I did like PG’s Book of Love.

    …only because you didn’t even realize it was a cover. Having that Magnetic Fields album, I knew from the word go how much he had missed the mark set by Stephen Merritt on the orig.

    Also, until the song started, I was hoping it was this Book of Love:

  3. I had a friend in college who looked quite a bit like the woman in the first picture.

  4. LOL, one of the comments to that youtuber:

    “Finally, NOT PETER GABRIEL’S!!”

  5. Roaming BG says:

    I’ve never heard the song The Book of Love by Magnetic Fields. So, I just went to YouTube and listened to PG’s version. Oh my God, it made me cry. I’m such a mush.

    Ok, now I’m gonna go listen to the Magnetic Fields version and imagine everyone’s opinions above and why they are what they are. And also form my own!

  6. BG doesn’t know any music made after 1978.

  7. And also form my own!

    I guess wrong opinions are still opinions.

  8. Roaming BG says:

    Ok, just listened to the original as I read a few of the comments. Is this song *mocking* the sentimental message?

    Cuz if so, it’s *too hipster I’m so cool I have to mock everything* for me.

    It would way cooler to be honest.

    The song reminds me of the show Bored to Death. And one reason I loved that show is because the guys were so honest about things hipsters like to make fun of.

  9. I just listened to the Magnetic Field’s version. IT. IS. AWESOME.

    Merritt knows just how to use his voice to make the song soar and weep. And the background vocals are subtle and important.

  10. Roaming BG says:

    BG doesn’t know any music made after 1978.

    I have been telling you that for years! Not quite since 1978, but close.

  11. Roaming BG says:

    Yes, he DOES make the song soar and weep. PG’s version was flat.

    A voice that makes a song soar and weep.

    Such great imagery there!!

  12. no, Beege, I don’t think he’s mocking the sentimental message.

    The song is off a triple disc called “69 Love Songs”. Merritt does, yes, sixty-nine love songs of a dizzying array of styles and types. But Book of Love has always seemed straight up love song to me, but avoiding the cliched lyrical content. No ‘moon, June, spoon’ for Merritt!

  13. Roaming BG says:

    no, Beege, I don’t think he’s mocking the sentimental message.

    Phew. That would be terrible if true because the song is so sweet, and feels real.

    And now I’m gonna have to listen again. Your comment above about the back up singers being “subtle and important” is intriguing. Must listen for myself.

  14. A couple of the songs off that release clock in at less than one minute. Sometimes, that’s all it takes.

    Also, one of the songs is titled “How Fucking Romantic”.

    More magnetic fields:

    Now Imma listen to the whole album. Thanks for giving me the inspiration.

  15. Roaming BG says:

    Nice.

    My computer speakers aren’t good enough, of course, to hear “subtle.” They were so subtle as to be nonexistent! My good speakers are still boxed up. I would need to get them to be able to really hear the subtly.

  16. I love his voice. It’s so unusual in a pop format. But he wisely has quite a few other people sing, over the course of 69 songs it might get a little tiresome.

  17. I think you would really like this whole triple disc, Beege, even if it doesn’t have weight and heft….the diversity, the scope, the whole over-the-top vibe, and the somewhat off-kilter lyrical content is reminiscent of a Todd Rundgren album, if a bit more low-fi.

  18. Also, I am having a little dustup with a choad nymmed “Reagan’s Disciple” here.

    Although the comment moderation slows things down somewhat, RD is amusingly blockheaded, and the Regulars (particularly fish or thunder) should feel free to swing by and join the pummeling.

    Get this: he tries to mock me for my BAD LANGUAGE. LOL, as the kids say.

  19. Roaming BG says:

    I think you would really like this whole triple disc, Beege, even if it doesn’t have weight and heft….the diversity, the scope, the whole over-the-top vibe, and the somewhat off-kilter lyrical content is reminiscent of a Todd Rundgren album, if a bit more low-fi.

    You are just cracking me up.

  20. Yeah, you’re right. It’s ridiculous to think you might like music made after 1978.

  21. Roaming BG says:

    I thought you were making fun of me and my Todd Rundgren love. You KNOW he’s my soulmate right?

    OT, talked to my BFF earlier. She LOVES that song you linked to in my comments the other day by Mumford and Sons. (Was that their name?) AND, because I am still stuck in 1978, she’s going to somehow send me her whole iPod library and MAKE me listen to the songs. 🙂

  22. You KNOW he’s my soulmate right?

    Does Tahd know?

    And how does Skimmer feel about this?

    But no, I was using it as a reference point. I probably have more Rundgren music than you do. I bet I’ve seen him more times.

  23. fish says:

    Sad I missed that dustup. Anyone with a nym like Reagan Disciple loses any credibility by default.

  24. Roaming BG says:

    Todd the Bod knows cuz, uh, he’s my soulmate and he feels what I feel. lol

    The Skimmer is OVER my Todd love. It’s been this *thing* between us our whole marriage. I can’t understand why The Skimmer wouldn’t at least appreciate Todd, cuz I think he’s an artist and The Skimmer is an artist, so you’d think on that level at least The Skimmer would appreciate him. So, really, I think he’s being obstinate in his Todd loathing.

    BREAKING: I love Todd’s “Nearly Human.” Released 1989!!!!!!!!!!

  25. Roaming BG says:

    I probably have more Rundgren music than you do. I bet I’ve seen him more times.

    Probably.

  26. It’s still going on, fish. The host moderates comments, so turnaround is a little bit longer. But RD seems to be kind of a regular .

  27. OK, there’s no way in hell I’m going to be able to read all of these, but I do have a question… is it a really bad thing to have a beer or two in between classes?? I have a 2 hour break…

  28. I love Magnetic Fields! I’ve always thought Lurch was the lead singer.

  29. BG- Todd is God. Nuff said.

    I love me some Todd songs more than others, but he still has a very safe place in my heart.

    Again, who hasn’t ZRM seen?? I think that list would be easier to wrangle.

  30. BUT I LOVE RUSH. GEDDY SINGS BEAUTIFULLY. AND THE GUITAR STYLINGS OF ALEX LIFESON ARE LOVELY. DIRK, LERXST, AND PRATT FOREVER!

    LOL!!!

    Oh… you’ll get yours, ZRM. 🙂

    I know where the soft, zombeh underbelly is. Heh!

  31. Roaming BG says:

    Again, who hasn’t ZRM seen?? I think that list would be easier to wrangle.

    Haha

    I have a tshirt idea!

  32. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    Knowing their libertarian streak, I think the original title was “I Think I’m Going Galt”. Too bad none of the fans got the reference.

  33. Von says:

    Yeah, so um….
    WHY DOES NO ONE EVER TELL ME THERE’S A ZARDOZ GOING ON. WTF
    I AM NOT FEELING A PART OF THE COMMUNITY HERE
    I may just go hide in a corner & post pics of my boobs & call it a day

  34. Ummm, Von…. I left a comment at your blog. Like 3 this afternoon. I think I am blameless….this time.

    Besides, your Fellow Chicagoan did not e mail you?

  35. One of these times, I would like to actually do something wrong before everybody rips me a new asshole for doing something wrong.

    SMILEY, DAMMIT.

    🙂

    😀

  36. I got into several dustups of me own today, zrm.

    SOMEONE IS ALWAYS WRONG ON THE INTERNET!
    ~

  37. Feel free to hang out here at Club Shunned, thunder.

  38. I did get the opportunity to post the Twirl a Squirl video again, though. WINNING.

  39. I may just go hide in a corner & post pics of my boobs & call it a day

    Add drinking beer to that plan, and then you’re getting somewhere!

  40. I’ve almost finished a post about how much Obama pissed me off last night, but I think I’m going to bed.

    (Plus, it might not be anything anyone needs or wants to read anyways…kind of beating a dead horse at this point. The guy is worthless.)
    ~

  41. Jennifer says:

    Hell, I didn’t know about the stone head sighting until 4, and then had to head back out at 6. Why didn’t Von tell me??? Too busy posting boob pix I guess.
    SMILEY!!!

  42. Well, Jennifer, I must have told you before four, because I left my office for robot duty at 4.

    I left a comment at Von’s around noon.

  43. Roaming BG says:

    I didn’t think of it as a Zardoz as much as ZRM schooling me in music after 1978!

  44. Roaming BG says:

    I’ve almost finished a post about how much Obama pissed me off last night

    I didn’t like that speech either, thunder. Just saw a CBS poll. We are in the minority big time!

    91% approved
    9% disapproved

  45. herr doktor bimler says:

    but I do have a question… is it a really bad thing to have a beer or two in between classes?

    You have my e-mail for important questions like that, Jennifer.

  46. The one promise he made that I think he will keep?

    “Reform”, i.e. cut, Social Security.

    The rest was lies and Republican framing.
    ~

  47. Roaming BG says:

    I was only half listening cuz it sounded like a bunch of BS to me. This huge laundry list of stuff that’ll never happen.

    What I wanted to hear were the three principles driving Obama’s desire to remain president. What he wants this country to stand for, what our key priorities are, and a path on how to get there—what has to be done in order to make that happen.

    I’m such a dreamer!!!! So naive!!!!

  48. Well, Jennifer, I must have told you before four, because I left my office for robot duty at 4.

    Yeah, but I didn’t check my email until around 4.

    You have my e-mail for important questions like that, Jennifer.

    And I’m sure I would have gotten the answer I wanted, as opposed to the answer I knew was right.
    Also, so I don’t sound like a total crazed person… I had a 2 hour break in between classes. It’s not like I would have been pounding a beer in 4 minutes, during a passing period. AND!!! The second class is after 5!

    This huge laundry list of stuff that’ll never happen

    Exactly. I thought the same thing.

  49. Here’s 3 principles:

    1) Stop blowing up foreigners for corporate profits, you vicious, corrupt, lying fuck!

    2) Instead of lying about equal justice for all, rather than one set of rules for plutocrats and another for the rest of us, DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT, you vicious, corrupt, lying fuck!

    3) The Bush-Cheney assaults on the Constitution and civil rights were something to be repudiated and punished, not goals to be exceeded, you vicious, corrupt, lying fuck!
    ~

  50. fish says:

    Thunder’s thunder! You tell ’em T!

  51. I think you mean refudiated, thunder.

    Yeah, but I didn’t check my email until around 4.

    Well, I spend my days acting as sin-eater for clients, so I guess I don’t see why I can’t do it on the internozzles also. Alright, my fault.

    This huge laundry list of stuff that’ll never happen

    Mars, Bitches!

    It’s not like I would have been pounding a beer in 4 minutes,

    Well, just the first one. And I always kind of figured you had a flask for the Painting Bat Class.

    I am so looking forward to Brando seeing your new nym, Jennifer.

  52. Roaming BG says:

    lol @ that Mar’s Bitches! link. LOLOL

  53. Roaming BG says:

    thunder, when you spell it out like that you see why he can’t do it. He’s just a… cog? in the Matrix too. Owned.

    Get a little tiny bit done to keep the liberal masses appeased somewhat so he can do the bidding of whoever/whomever owns him. The insane crazy right-wing clowns just make it easier for him to do his owner’s bidding.

  54. you guys keeping talking and venting.

    I just wanted to say that I had my hair cut so short that I don’t even need to comb it.

  55. The insane crazy right-wing clowns just make it easier for him to do his owner’s bidding.

    It does seem to work out quite well for the greedy and wealthy amoral Kochsuckers either way, doesn’t it? Elizabeth Warren said something along those lines on the Daily Show the other night….

    Zombie says cheerfully. Rays of Motherfucking Sunshine, Bitches!

  56. Jennifer says:

    The thunder is booming extra loud today!

    Get a little tiny bit done to keep the liberal masses appeased somewhat so he can do the bidding of whoever/whomever owns him. The insane crazy right-wing clowns just make it easier for him to do his owner’s bidding.

    That’s just depressing.

  57. nice comment on that political post, fish. Funny responses too.

    I cursed back at him, because I am a Bad Person.

  58. Roaming BG says:

    I left a comment too Zombie! Just hasn’t been approved yet.

  59. Oh, good! I can’t imagine Reagan’s Doormat reacting by claiming victimhood, not at all.

  60. Also EVERYONE CHECK YR EMAIL!

  61. Don’t steal my pity party, bitches.
    I WILL cut you. Just ask MenD.
    Dearest Zrm – You haz my work email address. For future Zardozing, please EMAIL ME SO I KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON.
    Some days, I’m too busy to jump on the blogz.
    Shocking, I know.

  62. MANDOS!!!
    Why you don’t come around any moar?
    Come over to vonfornow – iz funny.
    Sometimes.

  63. NO
    I am a bad person.
    All others shall be judged by me before they can call themselves a bad person!!
    Hey, it’s A LOT nicer over here lately!! Just like the old days. No side bar b.s.
    LET”S KEEP IT THAT WAY

  64. WE NEED AN AHEM POST FROM YOU, YOUNG LADY!

  65. Kathleen says:

    man I missed a lot watching Community marathon

  66. Could have been worse, Kathleen. Could have been The New Girl.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

