Free All The Monsters

Posted: March 8, 2012 in Fridge Note

Entropy.  The universe falling apart.

Blogs going kattywampus.  Tardis ending up slightly sidewise in a time stream.

Wow, this has been a weird week in so many ways.  First off, from the traffic I’ve seen as well as disgruntled comments in other locales, it seems snark stalwart Sadly No went down like a seventies groupie.  Was it a DDOS attack? dead Hamsters?  Obama’s black helicopter squad?  Dunno.

But, here’s the thing, and building off my prior post.

Y’all may be aware that I had spent some amount of time being one asshole among assholes in the Sadlyverse.  In some ways, I tracked down the weird and twisted byways of what I think of as my bloggerhood starting there, like you can end up at Rivendell by starting at Hobbiton, depending on the roads you put your feet onto.  What I am saying is that the links are there, but not the destination.

mikey abandoned the Sadly berth long before I did; amongst the travails of Sandwichgate and the Liberal Male Purifications, he found other outlets.  Later days saw frequent troll infestations, and the Sadlynoids usually taunted and ripped them, in contravention of the best practices of troll ignoring (and I admit I engaged them occasionally, the stupid is hard to resist) so I know why he moved on.  I stuck around, in large part because the guy who evolved into the primary writer was a good acquaintance, both online and in a remarkable drunken meeting.

The kind of weird thing was that that drunken meeting came about because of another online linkage, peripherally related to SN.  Of course, I speak of the mental vortex and incomprehensible depository known as 3Bulls.

Which also went down like Callista Gingrich last week (both the bulls and, I presume, Callista, assuming that newtron was able to score little blue pills.

I was much much much more dismayed at the loss of the Bulls than I was at the loss of Sadly.  Like I said, I never really went to Sadly much anymore, my time was demanded in other , largely realspace, venues; and the habituees at SN were..different.  I really felt less than welcome anymore, and not just because everybody hates zombies. The pace was pretty hectic in the comments, and the demeanor had become kind of universally caustic.  But also, there are some people I find to be jerks who hang out there now. I do find it mordantly amusing that in the days of TinTin’s frequent (and incisive) Shorters, there were many commenters constantly complaining about the lack of longer, more substantive posts; and when the redoubtable Cerberus was tapped as contributor, an equal amount immediately started complaining about the length of the posts.

OK, as one of the OmbudsGlomBolyZomboly, I admit I am biased in favor of the Bulls, but it is a refreshingly accepting and lower traffic source of bizarre behavior and incomprehensibly convoluted arguments.  [as Kathleen once memorable said “I only understood like 30% of this post, but I loved it all.”] And the people that wind up there, are mostly the ones that the universal Mekon has decided NEED to be there.

Dan Dare is a weenie

In any case, The Red Trackie One is working overtime to keep the Internet supplied with Pitchfork Watch and Goobie content, and if we hadn’t saluted him in the MOPA in recent weeks, we would now; for my part, I thank him for his tireless efforts to repair the damage done by spambots and other less-than-human internet denizens.  You GO Pinko, and I owe you some deep-fried something-or-other when and if you ever make it Milwaukee.

As far as Sadly goes, sorry to see things go south, but hey, I lived through the demise of the Dysfunctional Family Circus, so life goes on… and on….and on…. fuck, it just doesn’t stop.

 

OTHER THINGS.

 

Well ,basically a half-assed bleggeration.  Look, I am not Jonah Goldberg.

In the days of April, 7th through 13th or so, there seems to be a Zombie Invasion scheduled for Toronto (It’s not this hot in To-RON-to!)

I don’t think there are any particular Imaginary Digital Frenz in Toronto (other than DKW, and since he doesn’t hang out here, fuck him, amirite?) but it is likely that some of you have some familiarity with the Canadian Burg, so any suggestions for good destinations, activities, or people to kill can be left in the comments.  Dirk, Lerxst, or Pratt, drop me a line!

Regards other things, my local framing shop finished my Christmas Smudgies, and I find it amusing to see meatspace kitty investigate herself:

But the framers are awesome.  Look at their fucking work LOOK AT IT:

Fuck y'all, I do good work; both the spawning AND the drawing.

I am available and affordable.

Comments
  1. Also, mikey, do you have any more X in your wall below the med cab?

  2. fish says:

    I’m a gonna pass on the zombie spawning. But, um, thanks?

  3. Isn’t Toronto basically northeast Detroit?
    ~

  4. fish says:

    so any suggestions for good destinations, activities, or people to kill can be left in the comments

    I think you should consider medical tourism.

  5. Pinko Punko says:

    ZRM. You put words on may feelings. Thank you. I did not want us to go down that way. If we go it will because the limit of no ass is reached, not because it is taken away from us. I could not handle that. Things have to end, but I’m not ready for it, and I don’t want it like that.

    Perhaps the Uncanny One might help with the Toronto invasioning?

  6. mikey says:

    There are untold riches of loot and swag, not to mention contraband and Orange Primacord in the wall below the medicine cabinet.

    Unfortunately, however, I can’t find a fucking screwdriver…

  7. if only you had a shovel, mikey….

  8. mikey says:

    My neighbors suck, Z. If any of them had a shovel worth doodley-squat I’da stole that bad mofo by now. But they’re all these little pansy Peninsula suburban fragile applique cloisonne pastel – having shovels maybe you could use with your potted heirloom tomatoes but I ain’t gonna bother with ’em fer sure.

    I’m in hell. A very pleasant hell, populated by some very attractive denizens of the darkness, but hell nonetheless…

  9. William W. says:

    Sadly, No! strikes me as an extended exercise in kicking them while they’re already down because they tripped over Jonah Goldberg’s bloated body. Still adore them, but it’s almost unsportsmanlike.

    3Bulls just takes the pain away…

  10. They had you pegged as a shovel-thief from the start, mikey. It’s not something that can be hidden.

  11. Jennifer says:

    I’m in hell. A very pleasant hell, populated by some very attractive denizens of the darkness, but hell nonetheless…

    I’m in a familiar hell… it looks pretty, but there’s no imagination.

  12. Kathleen says:

    WORD. I agree so so hard. I am putting together a care package for PP as we speak. WITH MY MIND

  13. Kathleen says:

    Also – framed drawings are awesome. CHALK IS AWESOME. smudge away my firend.

  14. Kathleen says:

    or charcoal or whatever. I’M NOT AN ARTIST

  15. Kathleen says:

    I just know what I like

  16. So is the sad legacy of sadlyville going to be random idiots, trolls, and actor? Hmm, that feels redundant for some reason…

    That is sadly sad. And the times I’ve stopped by I feel (rightly or not) like I’m too much of an asshole and/or too new and/or just too outsidery to fit in at 3bulls.

    Anyway, communities change, whether in RL or the intarverse. Ebbs-n-flows n all that. Such is life. Or death, for zombie communities.

  17. I’m too much of an asshole and/or too new and/or just too outsidery to fit in at 3bulls.

    Oh, OBS, I am just the kind of asshole that WOULDN”T GO AWAY.

    Also, either everybody is an outsider there, or nobody is. I haven’t figured out which yet.

  18. “firend”? Sounds like you should cut back on the spicy foods.

  19. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    I don’t think there are any particular Imaginary Digital Frenz in Toronto (other than DKW, and since he doesn’t hang out here, fuck him, amirite?) but it is likely that some of you have some familiarity with the Canadian Burg, so any suggestions for good destinations, activities, or people to kill can be left in the comments.

    If I’m not mistaken, Laura lives not far from Toronto, she’d be a good person to consult.

    I haven’t been there in over a decade, but I had a great time. It’s really a wonderful city.

  20. Toronto’s a great place. Lots and lots of good food, some good museums, some architectural craziness…you’ll have a good time. This place was in a nifty little hippie/kook market area. I dunno if it’s summery enough for it but City Hall had an open-air market going on for a while. There’s an island

    There are real neighbourhoods, lots of immigrant communities (and therefore more good food), streetcars (they have right of way so don’t pass them or you may kill some rider) and the AGO or the TIFF Lightbox will probably have something worth seeing. There’s an island to trudge around on when the weather’s nice.

  21. I’ve got a comment in your spam trap; too many links.

  22. I’ve got a comment in your spam trap; too many links.

    Don’t talk dirty.

  23. The well-upholstered hells are the worst, mikey and Jennifer….

  24. Jennifer says:

    And the times I’ve stopped by I feel (rightly or not) like I’m too much of an asshole and/or too new and/or just too outsidery to fit in at 3bulls.

    You’ll fit right in.

  25. mikey says:

    I always loved 3Bulls. The sense of a bunch of good friends sitting around chatting and laughing and having fun with each other was strong, and made it feel like a good friend’s living room. The thing that people struggle with, I think, is the volume and velocity of the inside jokes. If you happened to be there for their genesis then as they evolved and grew you could follow, but if you didn’t know how it started you didn’t have a chance. I was fortunate to be around for the origins of spider money and sink lettuce, and I became conversant in the pork snorkel, and of course the Pandora radio exercise was hilarious. But if you didn’t check in often, you’d be utterly baffled, as if trying to read a website in Icelandic….

  26. gosh, I had forgotten about the Pork Snorkel. Brando is right, we need a handbook for all the inside jokes. if only there was someone in the crowd who might be an editor or writer or some such….

    Or perhaps a Wiki! Crowd-sourcing might be the way to go on this….

    The BullsWiki. ChunderWiki. Pork Central. Pinko’s House of Fashion.

    In any case “utterly baffling, like a website in Icelandic” needs to be on the Words of Wisdom.

    Now, having done my part on the conceptual end of things, I am off to wash my hands….

  27. also, mikey, it is typically pretty tough to write a coherent sentence with “3 Bulls” and “sense” as the operative parts, unless one immediately appends “-less” on the one word there; but you seem to have done it.

  28. It really seems to be an epidemic….

    We must discover Blog Zero. My bloggerhood is dying!

    I am not even gonna blame fish for this one.

    Perhaps I will blame Ron Paul Book. (there’s another one, mikey!)

  29. good friends sitting around chatting and laughing and having fun with each other

    You obviously missed the fish-plover Avatar Wars.

  30. Look, all the typical blogs are dead, so Zardozing my own blog is OK.

    I DO NOT HAVE A PROBLEM. I CAN STOP ANYTIME I WANT. THESE SHAKES ARE DUE TO CHILLS, IS ALL.

    GET THE BUGS OFF ME! THEY ARE CRAWLING ALL OVER ME!!!!

  31. herr doktor bimler says:

    Look, all the typical blogs are dead, so Zardozing my own blog is OK.

    They’re just posting videos.

  32. or charcoal or whatever. I’M NOT AN ARTIST

    This cracks me up every time I read it.

  33. spider money and sink lettuce, and I became conversant in the pork snorkel, and of course the Pandora radio exercise was hilarious. But if you didn’t check in often, you’d be utterly baffled, as if trying to read a website in Icelandic….

    Yes, baffled. Good way to put it. Intriguing…

  34. FYWP I swear I closed that tag.

  35. fish says:

    You obviously missed the fish-plover Avatar Wars.

    That was entertaining, in a vivisecting a frog kind of way.

  36. fish says:

    The thing that people struggle with, I think, is the volume and velocity of the inside jokes.

    The only key to understanding is that there are no metaphors on 3B. Sink lettuce is sink lettuce. Ghost melon is a ghost in the melon. Grapefruit chupacabra really exist. Cap Trollypants means everything he says. It’s not hard once you realize that Pitchfork Cobaggary Watch will always end at #20. It’s just like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, except no Charlie. Or chocolate. Or, um, a factory. Okay it is just not like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

