Acting Very Strange

Posted: March 16, 2012 in Fridge Note, Music nobody listens to

I had hoped to get a Friday Random out here, and holy hell but there is content for Fuck You Friday, up here in wisconsin, but today went sideways, had to get printers working , an iMac with a personality disorder, and then the office rum was lonely.

So in lieu of actual CONTENT (and fuck, but weren’t the TLDR posts previous enough?) here is a video that I vibrated to last night from Crooks and Liars:

Loved that.  Like a cross between Mumford and Sons and the Chills.

Next week I have to pull my act together to author an Addendum, and then ROBOTS!  So, you know, you might have to entertain yourselves.

FWIW, I have more than my typical buck-two-eighty in the bank, and for the FIRST FUCKING TIME IN FOUR FUCKING YEARS some people are talking about actually building something, so… well, take that for what you will, it’s only anecdata, but it helped me take the rope down from the ceiling beam….

So go out, do good, shake a zombie’s hand, and maybe we will all be here in a week or so.

Also, continue to tell me good stuff in To-Ron-To…

 

MOAR:  the driver station I designed and built for the robot:

Comments
  1. mikey says:

    So you used the title “Acting Very Strange”. And I thought you were helping to create one of those meme things the kids are always leaving on my lawn.

    ‘Cause, see, there’s this TBogg post toastie: http://tbogg.firedoglake.com/2012/03/16/on-the-street-where-you-live/

    And, well, you’ll see that there’s this cop quoted in such a manner as to describe the actual behaviors that constitute “acting very strange”.

    And so then I thought, ZOMBIE, NO! Don’t do it. Even if you decide to go out without your pants, fer gawds sake DON’T TOUCH ANYTHING.

    Then I opened a new jugga sailor jerry’s and forgot the point…

  2. mikey says:

    Oh. I do have a bit of a conundrum. Or maybe it’s a dilemma. I can’t really tell from here.

    But I want to go up to a Saint Paddy’s Day party in SF tomorrow and, well, here’s the thing, bright colors, and by that I mostly mean anything that isn’t denim, leather, black or dark gray, well, they frighten me.

    So I don’t have anything green. But if I don’t wear something green, people are going to read all sorts of weird shit into that, like I’m making a statement or a point or taking a position or something when actually I’m just pretty fucked up. So I thought about it, and it occurred to me that I’m fulla shit, I DO have some green stuff.

    Lots of the range gear is good old OD, overdosed on olive drab. And OD is good – I don’t mind it at all. So I’ve got like three of these vests, OD in color, MOD 1 REL 0, with like thirty pockets and D Rings and velcro and just the kind of thing you’d want to have on the range.

    So the question is, would I be better served to go looking like a green beret gone to seed or without any green stuff at all?

    Or am I overthinking the whole goddam thing?

  3. Or am I overthinking the whole goddam thing?

    yeah, pretty much. Green t-shirts are for college students.

    If you need something, I advise green paint or green duct tape.

    I will be going to see a Chicago-based Irish punk band. I figure at that point, green clothing is not necessary.

    But then, zombie here, yanno? I am an outcast at best.

  4. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    No need to get hung up on the green thing… learn how to sing Fields of Athenry and they’ll love you forever. Roddy McCorley is an even better one- it’s about a rebel boy who is hanged by a bridge.

  5. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    I’ll be playing golf in the high desert.

    Supposed to be raining with 24 mph winds.
    ~

  6. herr doktor bimler says:

    a green beret gone to seed

    How does one tell?

  7. mikey says:

    Apparently, one of the key clues is your occasional drunken, murderous rampage…

  8. mikey, the title was taken from a Mike Rutherford song….even I don’t act as strange as that Russell guy.

    Spent all morning teaching children how to fight and break bones.


    I’ll be playing golf in the high desert.

    I think that sentence is more attractive if one of the words is relocated somewhat….

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

