Four and ninety studded horsemen closed the knot of honor As only drunken soldiers can

Posted: April 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

Last night, we went to see what was, apparently, a live-action production of Sons Of Anarchy:

They flew the colors, they began to fight
They flailed at each other like bugs at a light
Bodies and bikes beyond repair
Smell of oil and gas in the air

I did not recognize the writer, Bill-somebody, as being associated with the series, however.

It was easily the loudest set we’ve every seen at the Powerhouse Theater, and it drove some of the frailer theater goers away at intermission.

I even think I heard some Dethklok in the musical segments. Cookie monster vocals of something, anyways.

Comments
  1. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    I think most all Shakespeare could benefit through the addition of Dethklok.
    ~

  2. I think that is pretty hard to argue with, thunder.

    Although the Metallica and AC/DC also spiced it up quite nicely.

  3. mikey says:

    Occasionally when I find myself sitting in the dark, desultorily poking at the buttons on the remote at four aye emm, I’ll come across that ridiculous old DiCaprio version of Romeo and Juliet where it’s modern times but they use the original dialog.

    It’s a little like a two-headed dog. At first it’s fascinating in a “holy crap” kind of way, then you realize it’s just sad, then suddenly it’s annoying in the extreme and you have to go back to poking the buttons.

    Yeah. It’s like that…

  4. they kept the original dialog here too, but I thought it worked. It may have been teh heavy metal, it might have been the live venue, but for myself, I am willing to ascribe the failure in that instance to Leo.

  5. mikey says:

    I dunno. There are many “Classic” stories that can be told and re-told in many different settings, but it is the story itself that is classic, not the line-by-line telling of it. Kurosawa was brilliant, but when John Sturges went to tell the story again, he would not have been well served by the original script, even if translated. Heart of Darkness was a great exploration of the human condition, but “Apocalypse Now” would have been a stupid mess without a new treatment. I can’t see how there would be an advantage to change the setting of a story and make a choice to use the dialog and narrative from a completely different time and place. In doing so, you give up the opportunity to discover new ways to look at the original themes…

  6. All I’m sayin is I thought it worked, mikey. Not that it was a definitive version.

    I am a sucker for biker movies and heavy metal, though, so I will admit the likelihood I am out of my fucking mind on this, yet again.

    Some will say that Shakespeare’s writing is worthy in it’s own right, however. Not zombies, of course; we are misguided horrific shambling repellent brainless monsters, after all.

  7. another kiwi says:

    We recently attended “Henry V” put on by Propellor Theatre persons. They used the original dialogue and put it into a modern British Army setting. It was great. But I also luvs luvs luvs the Branagh film. So it is the language what makes it good but whatever works, really.

  8. mikey says:

    i get it. Plus, I’m the last person that should ever offer an opinion on either specific movies or films in general. It’s not a medium I ever developed any kind of profound appreciation for. They all seem kind of…I dunno, perfunctory to me, because they have to leave out so much to tell a story in a couple hours without any real narration or inner monologue. Hell, I like “Smokey and the Bandit”.

  9. I know what you mean, mikey, I have appalling taste in movies.

    I have the ‘normal guy’ appreciation for movies that blow up real good, and a repulsive affection for cheesy and/or disgusting horror movies, as well as just about any science fiction claptrap. And I appear to be the only person in the whole world that enjoys ZARDOZ non-ironically.

    We did agree about that DiCaprio turdbomb, though; Claire Danes was wasted . They should have added motorcycles and heavy metal.

  10. mikey says:

    I’ve been paying more attention to movies lately because a couple weeks ago I bought one of those Western Digital media hubs. The thing is an awesome little tiny piece of hardware, although the user interface is pathetic. You can put in RSS feeds, but you’d have to enter by picking out characters on an on-screen keyboard with the arrows on a remote control. Fuck a bunch of that.

    But since I can download movies using bittorrent and watch them on the big teevee instead of on a computer, it’s reinvigorated my interest in movies – at least as long as they’re entirely free. Which, of course, they are.

    Last night I watched “The Way Back”, a film about a group of people who escaped from a Russian Gulag in Siberia in 1941 and walked to freedom – in freakin’ INDIA. The cinimatography was spectacular, and the acting seemed to me to be pretty great, but again, I want to read the book because I don’t really feel like I a saw the story – more a series of set-pieces and vignettes that took place WITHIN the story.

    I also downloaded “Winter’s Bone”, which I might watch tonight since all the baseball games I cared about got rained out today. I’ve heard it’s pretty intense, so I might chicken out too…

  11. But I also luvs luvs luvs the Branagh film.

    Except for all the Branagh.

  12. At LGM I threatened to watch Atlas Shrugged and live-blog it, but I don’t know if I have adequate rum supply.

  13. mikey says:

    Dood, even for a Zombie, life is WAY too fuckin short to voluntarily do something stupid like that…

  14. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    They might ban you, zrm.
    ~

  15. Pshaw, used to that, thunder.

  16. Holy crap, was that a turdburger.

  17. fish says:

    Winter’s Bone does a decent job of staying true to the book.

  18. mikey says:

    I did chicken out.

    I made a Veal Saltimbocca sammich I learned about from the divine Nadia G. for dinner and played music, very loud instead. An evening well spent…

  19. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    Here ya go.
    ~

  20. I’m kind of looking forward to Coriolanus.

  21. Seriously, I streamed Atlas Turdburger while I was doing some work last night, and it wasn’t even worth live-blogging. It’s like every scene was edited down to a setup sentence and the one Rand wanted to spout – “What is with all this altruism?” when pondering why a company might want to pay their employees decently. And then they have some ominous/dramatic music in the background and WHAM move on to another cut scene. It’s like a Bergman film recut by an ADD MTV editor. Lots of movement, but no action. Joe Bob Brigs would say all plot, no story. Even the fakey train scenes are boring.

    Although the opening setup was hilarious, as they tried to stipulate a series of improbable occurrences that resulted in rail being the most important form of travel again.

    I prefaced it by watching The Fountainhead, and at least Patricia Neal was watchable, and then a building blew up. The ending was stupid, though; it was surprising that Rand didn’t realize her point would be more convincing had Roarke been a martyr. I guess she just couldn’t find it in herself to punish a rapist for anything.

    Oh, and there’s another quibble; hilariously, the older movie maintained the force fantasy aspects, while the newer one just made it a semi-random coupling, even if one of the two was married. Why, it’s like Rand’s kinks were something the filmakers were uncomfortable with!

    Both final scenes were unintentionally hilarious, though. In FH, Roarke stands astride his magnum opus, hands on hips staring out over the world – his world! , while his new wife rides the construction elevator up towards him, gazing adoringly. Neither of them wearing safety gear, of course, because Galtian Superman DON’T FALL.

    And in AS, let’s just say that Dagny Taggart pulls a Darth Vader-esque “NOOOOOOOOOOO!” out of her wooden repertoire. And then the interminable credits roll.

    Yeah, mikey was right.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

