The Spiders are eating all their cereal today….

Posted: May 23, 2012 in Music nobody listens to

Tonight I was digitizing some old stacks of wax, platters that Mattered…. umm, yeah.  But anyway, pleasantly surprised by a couple of Couch Flambeau LPs.  yeah, we used to go see Couch Flambeau at the Gordon Park Pub, sit at teh bar like ten feet from Jay Tiller’s very noisy amps, and my girlfriend would go to sleep.  They were amused.

Years later, we bought a house a block from a corner store that owned by the parents of Couch Flambeau’s bass player.  They looked exactly alike.  Circles within circles.

Back in collidge, I had a class on model building, and one of our assignments was to build a model of a mobile home.  So I built a little model, but put it on base, and I did indeed build a ‘broken Big Wheel’ and put it in front of my mobile home.  I included the lyrics and a band shout out.  Got an A.

This weekend, Turner Hall is hosting a big old reunion of Milwaukee bands from teh 90s.  I know a bunch of ’em, and got Wife Sublime to re-arrange our musical theater conflict so I can go hang out with noisy ne’er-do-well friends, whose careers have amusingly become more viable than mine.

Sigh.  Anyway, Jay Tiller is filling in on guitar for Die Kreuzen, who somehow I had never managed to see in town.  Although it is also amusing that Erik, the drummer, spent time during his band days as a painter, and painted a house I designed for some friends.  He is now running a restaurant in Amsterdam with his wife; another friend of mine, Scary Joe, is coming back from PA to hang out with all the bands, and, ummm… do PA.  Joe is one of the best mixers I have ever heard.  The Melvins once courted him (this will probably mean something to Substance).  At one point, Thurston Moore says “Man, there was a point there where Die Kreuzen was the best band in America.” and when I saw SY open for Neil Young, Thurston name checked DK before they played a note.

It’s a very circular kind of community.  I saw most of those bands in clubs, and one of my roommates was in St. Bernard, who had a regional hit with “My Baby Went To The Bahamas”.  A friend of mine was roommates with the drummer for Couch Flambeau.  Scary Joe did sound for EVERYBODY.  Circles.

There have been times when I have felt music renew my meager soul; when the noise and spit makes me stand back up and decide to keep beating on that fucking wall.  Listening to these local bands, bands who were inspiration to Nirvana, Soundgarden, Steve Albini, others… bands who launched themselves into the void, knowing that being from Milwaukee there was nothing but a hard landing… it may be premature, it may not work out that way, but it feels like by Saturday, the local noise is going to be filling a gap, refueling the tank.  One can hope, right?

It may interest exactly nobody to know that Couch Flambeau songs really sound best from vinyl, snaps, pops and skips and warts.  The  Zoo Is Cool.

Comments
  1. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    Will Killdozer be there?
    ~

  2. would you come up for the show if they were?

    …regrettably, Killdozer was/is a Madison band, so no.

  3. Kathleen says:

    awesome!! tank refueling for the win!

    Chris just checked out a Mekons cd from the library

  4. Kathleen says:

    I think it’s “Fear and Whiskey”

  5. “Fear and Whiskey”

    The CD? or my life?

    …it’s a good one, with a bit of weirdness. I hope it is the remaster, the original release was mastered from second generation wax, and was a little…. analog. It’s not as immediate as later work, but it’s considered epochal. It is, admittedly, perhaps an acquired taste….

  6. herr doktor bimler says:

    …it’s a good one, with a bit of weirdness. I hope it is the remaster, the original release was mastered from second generation wax, and was a little…. analog. It’s not as immediate as later work, but it’s considered epochal. It is, admittedly, perhaps an acquired taste….

    The CD, or your life?

  7. Kathleen says:

    last night was sober DII
    tonight will be drunken DIII

  8. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    Back in collidge, I had a class on model building, and one of our assignments was to build a model of a mobile home.

    I would have slapped a snail shell on a plank covered with astroturf.

  9. hmmm. I think maybe Wife Sublime got drunk at the Brewer game this afternoon.

  10. mikey says:

    “hmmm. I think maybe Wife Sublime got drunk at the Brewer game this afternoon.”

    I can understand that. It was a very painful game to watch. The Giants kicked it around, Zito regressed to the (Zito) median, giving up six in the first. The Giants had an unusual offensive day, scoring five and had a couple chances to tie it – although that may be asking too much.

    The game started at ten this morning here, and I considered getting drunk my own self…

  11. if she followed her usual M.O., she never made it into the stadium, staying at the tailgate….

  12. mikey says:

    THAT might have been the best plan of all…

  13. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    I think my next trip will be back to W.V., and probably for several weeks.
    ~

  14. Kathleen says:

    holy cow that house is insane

  15. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    I found a solution to the furry-tailed rat problem, zrm.
    ~

  16. mikey says:

    watching the debate?

    I can’t stomach it, but I figure it probably matters more to undead Milwaukee architects…

  17. Naw, mikey, I couldn’t stomach it either. That smarmy cross eyed motherfucker. we went to see a Sondheim musical instead, which neither of us cared all too much for….and tomorrow is the Big Punk Rock Show.

    Won’t make a diff anyway. This election is about turnout, and if Citizens United is going to allow Kochsuckers to buy elections, this one is pretty much over anyway… Not that we won’t keep fighting, and if we flip just one of the other four seats, Turdwaffle won’t have a compliant majority in the Lege…

  18. HEY. HEY. WAKE UP. CAN YOU HEAR ME? WAKE UP.

  19. Kathleen says:

    that’s why I’m a barbarian. no understanding of your complex medieval technologies like a “crossbow”.

  20. Substance, there’s a ringing in my ears that’s heaven sent, as Dave Pirner sang….

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

