Too Much Time On My Hands

Posted: June 1, 2012 in Fridge Note

Brando, Friend of the Empire and Fellow Rush Nerd, directs me to Esquire magazine naming Milwaukee “Bar City Of The Year”.

 

I only have one thing to add:  Of the CENTURY.

 

PS.  Part of the writer’s experiences happened in places visible from my office windows.

 

In related items, after the LOUD show last Saturday, I stopped in a neighborhood bar near home, and when I told the bartender I was full up on beer, he made me his own specialty, a gin-based drink called a Chupacabra.  I’ll be honest; I had two.

 

 

Cheers, Brando.

Comments
  1. Brando says:

    I am of any establishment that sits on a street named after Casmir Pulaski.

    I remember driving up to Summerfest to see INXS in 1988. We got lost (dumb high school kids that we were). We tried to find a gas station to ask for directions but all we could find were bars. That was my first impression of Milwaukee.

    My second impression was going to visit friends who got into Marquette during their summer orientation program. There were some bars that would serve 18-year-olds near the campus, so we went to one and I got so drunk I passed out, laying my head on a table covered with spilled beer. I was woken up to march back to the dorm, and during the hike back, I held onto a street sign while I threw up. I looked up after I was done and saw a squad car about 50 feet from me, the cops just ignoring my underage spectacle. That’s what’s great about drinking in parts of town that have real crime — the cops have better things to do than bust dumb teenagers for being dumb teenagers.

  2. Brando says:

    I am a fan of, that is.

  3. Brando wins the comment thread first out of the gate.

    Brando, if you ever visit when I’m around, we’ll visit Wolski’s. Close it, even.

    Interesting story about Wolski’s. Since it is directly adjacent to a playground, it violates City Ordinance, it is existing non-conforming, so it is allowed to remain as is since it predates the ordinance. However, it is in a little building that’s not worth anything on its own, it is only valuable as a world-famous business. But since when a bar is sold, it must re-apply for liquor licenses and such, it can’t be renewed under new ownership. So it can only remain as a family owned business.

    For the first couple of years in Milwaukee, I could only find Wolski’s if I was already drunk. Sober, I had no idea.

    But I’m much better now.

  4. vacuumslayer says:

    Well, what’s in it? Besides monster testes, I’m assuming.

  5. Dunno. If you read my post about Not One Moment Of Silence, I had been drinking for like 7 hours at that point, and my ears were kind of ringing.

    I watched him make it, and retained exactly none of it. Other than that it was orangey-yellow and EXTREMELY EXTREMELY TASTY.

    Further research is warranted.

  6. I am a fan of, that is.

    Actually, I prefer your first sentence construction.

  7. fish says:

    A chupacabra drink must be tequila based. NO SUBSTITUTIONS!

  8. yeah, like anybody is going to listen to a fish with no blog….

  9. bimler is banned. Twice.

  10. mikey says:

    I’m just glad to see Major Kong still posting.

    That is a righteous dood. In every possible context.

    Going north from there, the Mango Lassi is yummy if you have them hold the salt, and if you can discretely pour in a good slug of righteous Gin, you’ll be more than happy with the outcome…

  11. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    A chupacabra drink must be tequila based…

    Shouldn’t it also have grapefruit juice as one of its ingredients?
    ~

  12. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    P.S. Google tells me this page has insecure content.
    ~

  13. firefox has a browser bar search widget, defaulted to Google. Out of curiosity, I set it to Bing. Much as I loathe Microsoft, It is amazing how much more useful the search results are when they’re not being perverted by Google’s monetization priority setup.

    And I am thinking that the Chupacabra does, indeed, use grapefruit juice. As I said, further research is warranted, and I am currently accepting applications for the research team.

  14. Jennifer says:

    And I am thinking that the Chupacabra does, indeed, use grapefruit juice.

    And goat zest…

  15. mikey says:

    One of my meds includes a prominent admonishment to avoid grapefruit. I assume that would include the juice. Perhaps I can stick to Sailor Jerry’s and be thought of as the ‘control group’…

  16. mikey says:

    Thunder’s note about Google flagging this page as containing ‘insecure content’ was in reference to a bar that pops up in the browser (chrome) when you access the page, not in the search engine. I get it all the time and just ignore it (actually, I click the “Load Anyway” button. Because too much secure content would just make me feel MORE inadequate…

  17. I recognize the difference, mikey, but I felt like hating on Google.

    I imagine it is anti-Wordpress sentiment on Google’s part. It would be clearer, however, if Chrome would just say FYWP.

  18. M. Bouffant says:

    Bent over
    Doubled up
    I did the vom
    In a blind guy’s cup

  19. Silent Mike says:

    If you were drinking 50 cent bottles of Red White and Blue you were probably at the Avalanche. Old Marquette bar that is no more. No real message here. Just sayin’

  20. The ‘Lanche? Never heard of it. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Kind of like you could stick to the floor at teh Avalanche.

    …ummm, so I’ve heard.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

