This Is My House, This Is My Home

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Fridge Note

Title Lonk

Aggravated as I am by the criminal Turdwaffle governor of Wisconsin who may yet survive his well-deserved recall-reaming, I live in an ancient rattletrap of a house that NEVER stops needing attention, so I spent most of a Sunday not watching basebeall (pfft.  Brewers?) and trying to take the half-deck further along its progression toward full-deckdom.

So I got most of a trellis up:

 

Lucy didn’t help.  still some painting to do, of course.  If you have sharp eyes, you might see a Soleri bronze wind chime up above; I will be moving that down now that there is a good attachment point.  Love that hippie workmanship.

I also built a demo box for the robotics team, to demonstrate the quality of the LED bulbs we are selling to finance building robots and making high school kids smarter:

fuck, my feet and back hurt, and I need to be revising these stupid drawings, but am getting no place.  Maybe better off going to bed, but who does what is sensible anymore?

Comments
  1. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    Lucy didn’t help.

    Oh come on, I’m sure she supplied moral support.
    ~

  2. nah. She even tried to knock over my beer once or twice. Not much of a job-site dog.

  3. fish says:

    a Soleri bronze wind chime

    WANT

  4. Jennifer says:

    My dogs did not help with gardening yesterday. One chose to destroy sticks… the other dug holes… just not in the right spots. Oh well.

  5. mikey says:

    **Sigh**

    I used to be productive and motivated and energetic and occasionally creative. Sometimes I even felt joy and even a twinge of hope. The box is nice work. Once I built a SCSI patch panel with 20 Centronix connectors in order to connect towers of various types of tape drives to various CPUs. Finished it in a nice blue color with black stenciled labels.

    Today I would think “man, I ought to figure out a better way” while crawling around connecting drives manually and trying to make the LUNs come out in the right order…

  6. speaking as a Loon, I concede that it is difficult to keep us organized.

  7. Brando says:

    The only thing I know how to make is a sandwich, so I will give you a hearty round of applause for your productivity.

  8. herr doktor bimler says:

    Threaded sockets? What is wrong with bayonet sockets LIKE GOD INTENDED??

    I thought of ZRM upon reading this comment.

  9. threaded, IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROPHECY.

    As you are well aware.

  10. herr doktor bimler [kill]​[hide comment]says:

    Speaking of keeping loons organized….

  11. blue girl says:

    “…but who does what is sensible anymore?”

    Yeah, cuz what fun would that be?

  12. Jennifer says:

    I thought of ZRM upon reading this comment.

    I’d like to unread that comment…

  13. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    nah. She even tried to knock over my beer once or twice. Not much of a job-site dog.

    She can’t even fix her own leak!

  14. vacuumslayer says:

    Wow…it’s really pretty.

    BTW, I did some research on your drink. It seems to vary pretty wildly from site to site. Here’s one recipe:

    icon 2 shots tequila
    icon 2 shots grenadine
    icon 12 oz Mountain Dew

    Instructions

    icon Mix together 2 shots of tequila, 2 shots of grenadine, and 12 ounces (1 can) of Mountain Dew

    enjoy

    Sound familiar?

  15. he quite clearly told me it was his own mix, and it was gin based. Beyond that, I’m just trying to find an excuse to go back there….

    but maybe I also ought to get some grenadine….seems a little heavy on the Dew though.

  16. mikey says:

    The Dew?

    Dood, it’s WAY heavy on the icon…

  17. vacuumslayer says:

    Ok,then this drink must be entirely mixologist-dependent. Kinda adds to the mysteriousness, I think!

  18. you might see a Soleri bronze wind chime up above

    Monster.

  19. yeah, mikey, I hate icon in my drinks.

  20. Jennifer says:

    Wishing your crazy state the best today!

  21. why? is something happening today?

  22. Jennifer says:

    why? is something happening today?

    No… Wisconsin just came up in my random “Wish a State Good Luck” generator.

  23. Scott Walker; teh George W Bush of the Midwest.

  24. I believe the phrase is “On Wisconsin”, Glue Birl.

  25. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    Did somebody say Wisconsin?

    Teacher for Walker (on FAUX, of course).
    ~

  26. “This may be the year when we finally come face to face with ourselves;
    finally just lay back and say it — that we are really just a nation of
    220 million used car salesmen with all the money we need to buy guns,
    and no qualms at all about killing anybody else in the world who tries
    to make us uncomfortable. The tragedy of all this is that George
    McGovern, for all his mistakes… understands what a fantastic monument
    to all the best instincts of the human race this country might have
    been, if we could have kept it out of the hands of greedy little
    hustlers like Richard Nixon**.”

    – Hunter S. Thompson

    ** And Scott Walker
    ~

  27. I think Hunter had a misunderstanding of the history of this country. Founded by rich white men for the benefit of landowners, who didn’t want to pay taxes, and owned other people that made them even richer. How is anything different? “best instincts of the human race” ? Where did he see those?

    Oh, I guess women can vote now. So that’s something. And I’ve got the Constitution on my phone.

    I will agree that HST’s phrase about Nixon can be applied to Turdwaffle: so crooked he has to screw his pants on every morning; and since Gonzo and Tricky Dick are both pushing up daisies, I will freely appropriate from here on out. Since it seems we are likely to have Turdwaffle to kick around for some time yet.

  28. Jennifer says:

    Anything going on up there??

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

