Amplifier

Posted: June 12, 2012 in Music nobody listens to

In all the hubbub about the new Rush album,

it totally slipped through the cracks that there is a BRAND NEW db’s ALBUM!!

(there isn’t a new video for it yet, and who knows when somebody will get any of it up on the Tuber)

This hasn’t happened for 30 years!  Awesome.

Y’all ought to really just go out and buy the damn thing.  Zombie commands you!

EDIT:  OK, confession time.  I lied to you guys.  Last Friday, I did not have 47,000 songs in my library.  It was 46,900 and change. I rounded up.  But with these new additions (not to mention a couple of other reccos) it is now officially over 47,000!  YES I HAVE A PROBLEM.  But with new Rush music and db’s music, what, exactly, am I supposed to do?

EDIT 2:  I haven’t even started using it yet, and Goofle Music is pissing me off.  The upload is AWFUL.  Two days ane we are barely over 25% on 5000 tracks.  Granted, I haven’t left the computer on all night or anything, but this is PAINFUL.

My plan, if we can ever get past this hurdle, is to use GM for some of my Library, and iTunes Match for some (one of the big advantages of iTunes match is they don’t require uploading any tracks you have that are in their store.  based on my experience, that alone is worth the 25 bucks a year).  Between the two services, I should be (theoretically) able to keep 40,000 tracks of my library in the cloud.  We’ll see how THAT goes.

EDIT 3:  Ever feel like David Brooks needs to be nutpunched, quartered, brined, flayed, grilled and served to the hogs?  Driftglass does just that. Go read.

Comments
  1. fish says:

    SCO would like a word with you mikey.

  2. mikey says:

    I had the contract to duplicate the SCO Everest product, fish. As I recall, 55 3½” HD floppies, and here’s the thing. When you invest three hours into swapping floppies and get a read fail on disk number 42, you are one UNHappy customer. So the contract included lots of extra money for quality management and an INSANE amount of in-process testing. But even so, fails happen. Worst contract EVAH….

  3. mikey says:

    “I put Linux on one of my Macs. Never use it.”

    Of course not. If I had paid hundreds of dollars for a huge, bloated, insecure, inferior mound of proprietary operating software that nobody outside of Apple is allowed to inspect or understand, hell, I’d probably refuse to use anything else either. If I switched, after all, what would it say about my common sense or sense of value all these years?

    No. You stick to that Apple stuff. You can feel proud ’cause hey, at least it’s not Windows. Right? I mean, you’re still a wholly owned subsidiary of Apple Inc., but look how pretty!

  4. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    I don’t think he’s taking the bait, mikey.
    ~

  5. mikey says:

    He’s distracted by dinner and life. He’ll bite.

    You watch…

  6. Predictable, am I?

    what if I just put up a new post with a Mekons video? Or BOC?

    You jerks.

  7. mikey says:

    Or maybe liveblog a bad movie.

    We’d never see THAT coming…

  8. sometimes I hate you all.

  9. You watch…

    OK, assholes, Here we fucking go.

    1. Never paid hundreds of dollars for OS X. You have me confused with a Windows user.
    2. I have told you, several times, that I have tried Linux. I can not find serviceable software in that environment that does what I need on a daily basis. Until you point me to Vectorworks or Sketchup equivalents that are usable and free, it is a non starter. Let alone crazy shit like Revit. And both of those companies are completely open to other platforms, if there is the demand. Fuck, all else being equal, I have no problem paying for them as commercial software on a Linux platform. But they don’t offer Linux alternatives. And regardless of your proselytizing, there simply is NOT an open source alternative for these complex pieces of software. In this case, there simply is no way for me to deliver my work within a Linux environment.
    3. Security. OS X is based on a Linux variant. simply put, it as as secure as any other Linux variant. The few exploits that have cropped up are usually of the sort that requires physical access to the computer in the first place, being willing to click on a questionable link or website, or in the case of the last one, taking advantage of a vulnerability in Flash. All of which, it may be pointed out, may be used to compromise a Linux computer. Which makes sense, actually, since at a base level, OS X is also unix. Stability? My computers measure uptime in months, if not years. Usually the only time they are interrupted is for a firmware upgrade.
    3.A. Of course, Windows is a complete crapshoot, and I have no fucking idea what those folks have to do. best of luck to all of them. I recommend pouring wine into the box.
    4. . If I switched, after all, what would it say about my common sense or sense of value all these years? This, mikey, is astonishingly condescending and assumes that I have not considered any of these issue, as well as that I have an insultingly large amount of self-identification with my computing platform. Of course, i recognize you meant this in a joshing sort of way, and now you owe me a drink or two. Jerk.
    5. Inferior? By whose standards? As I always say when we argue these things, I run a batch of computers on OS X to create my Instruments of Service, that are what I use to make money. Any time I look at it, using Windows will not help me make money; and when I’ve investigated it, Linux is actually inferior. Yes, I use commercial software in my work. But you know, it is WILDLY superior to any opensource alternative I’ve ever seen. If you know of something comparable, please give me a link.

    at least it’s not Windows. Right? I mean, you’re still a wholly owned subsidiary of Apple Inc., but look how pretty!

    This is amazingly not right. Although as a designer, I am appreciative of design (and dammit, yes, I believe that the design of all that we live in and around is a worthwhile aspect of human existence. (dammit, my house is a patchwork of Dali or Escher prints, and my own drawerings. Not to mention that the remuddlings I have doneare based on my own twisted aesthetic) the aesthetics of the tools I use is not the only parameter I evaluate. Fuck, if I didn’t care about functionality, I might be able to find a CAD program that worked on Linux.

    I would use any software that is powerful, easy to use, supported, and able to interface with other consultants. Autocad is crap compared to what I use, and yes I DO have access to current versions.

    In fact, in the Nazi Architect office I first worked in, I headed up the team to evaluate CAD software for the firm’s first forays into computer work. We looked at several systems, and contrary to your assumptions, I was completely unimpressed with the Mac-based alternative we could find. At the same time,AutoCad was rudimentary at best, and we ended up doing a high end system running on UNIX SparcStation pizza boxes, which was way high end at the time. In fact, the firm eventually moved away from it because the PC performance eventually caught up (and they bought the lines about ‘everybody else uses it”), and they couldn’t find anybody who knew Unix. But man, those Sun Sparcs were HOT.

    I use OS X because it is remarkably stable, and remarkably secure, and the commercial-level software I need to do my work is available to run on it. At the end of the day, I do not have to spend ton of time supporting it, and as a subsistence-level architect, I have no funds to waste on external IT. If I gave much of a shit, I can also run Windows and Linux on the same computer, either through BootCamp to run it natively or Parallels to run it simultaneously.

    But I will tell you that with the exception of highly specialized software like Inventor or Revit, which are Windows only and as such Linux would be useless anyway, I have not found a better, more usable, more hassle-free environment for what I need to do than OS X. It may not meet your purity standards, but what I wonder is, why do you care?

    Yeah, yeah, you pulled my trigger. Just you come within shovel range, you libertarian.

  10. He’ll bite.

    I am, after all, a zombie.

  11. Now wait; let me tell you why I voted for Ralph Nader….

  12. mikey says:

    Wow. I’m just…

    Wow.

    No. You GO girl.

    Honestly, I can’t begin to unpack all that. You’re right about everything, and you’re still wrong.

    First, let’s clear up a bit of Boehner-level wrongness. OS/X is built on the Mach Kernel, not Linux. The Mach kernel is most certainly NOT open source, and suffers from much of the problems that proprietary UNIX always suffered from. Why is OS/X based on Mach UNIX, you might ask? Oh, well, that would be because Steve Jobs built NeXT OS on Mach, Apple bought NeXT for no technical reason other than they wanted Steve to COME HOME PLEASE and his price was half a billion dollars for his OS. Hokay, whatevs. But here’s the question. Point me to a link where I can download the OS/X Operating System and look at how it works. The fact that you can NOT do this is why you are WRONG that it is any kind of Linux dirivative whatsoever. When companies won’t let you look at their code, you should be VERY suspicious that they are hiding something.

    Now. Beyond that, when we ask about which OS is inferior, in fairness we need some kind of criterion. Because, well, let’s see: Most used OS by raw numbers of CPUs: Linux. Most important OS on the web: Linux. Most secure OS measured by either infections and intrusions by CPU or by dollars lost or by productivity lost or by any other measure: Linux. And why IS that, you might ask. And the answer, AGAIN, is simple. The source code can be examined, modified, repaired, and improved in real time by anybody in the whole world. The Cathedral and the Bazaar, my undead friend. Open beats proprietary. It’s cheaper, it’s more stable, it’s smaller and more efficient, and it’s more secure. And that’s just not in any way open for debate.

    Do I mock you for using a proprietary, closed source OS that you try to defend without even knowing what’s in it or what it does? Oh HELL yeah. But c’mon – on what level can you say I’m wrong? Either your goal is for Apple shareholders to succeed beyond their wildest dreams, or you need to start thinking about walking away from this exploitative model.

    Which brings us back to your claim that you never paid for an OS. You think the price wasn’t built into every Apple Computer you ever bought? If you truly believe this, you don’t understand how product pricing strategy actually works…

    But put down the shovel. I’m used to living amongst the unenlightened. Ain’t no thang…

  13. OK.

    OS X is, as far as I knew, bulit on the BSD kernel, which is a unix variant. If I am wrong on that, I confess to wrongness. I KNOW it is not open source at i’s basic level, but it it is still Unix. HI LINUS.

    I blame fish.

  14. mikey says:

    Mac vs. PC.

    Vs. Open Source.

    CaChing!

  15. Point me to a link where I can download the OS/X Operating System and look at how it works. The fact that you can NOT do this is why you are WRONG that it is any kind of Linux dirivative whatsoever. When companies won’t let you look at their code, you should be VERY suspicious that they are hiding something

    well, no. That’s not right.

    Use of the Open Source is restricted, but it doesn’t not prevent people from using it to create proprietary elements based on it.

    I recognize that this offends you at a trousers-level, but legally it is an actual thing.

    Looking at how it works is a chimera. Do you insist on knowing how your toilet works? D o you, in fact KNOW how your toilet works? I do. and at the same time, there are manufacturers who produce toilets that are much better at disposing of your poopies than others; and the exact engineering that they use to achieve that is still proprietary. and YET YOU STILL POOP IN THAT TOILET.

  16. Open source vs. actually being able to do the work I do.

    Of course, the ka-ching is really weak these days, so well played you fucking bastard.

  17. when we ask about which OS is inferior, in fairness we need some kind of criterion.

    yes. Like , does it help us actually do our work.

  18. But c’mon – on what level can you say I’m wrong?

    I don’t say you are wrong.

    I say you are obnoxious for telling ME I am wrong. Gimme a shovel.

  19. mikey says:

    A historic parable:

    Back in the day, there was a program released called Kazaa. Kazaa was WAY too good to be true. It gave you access to virtually every song in the world, all for free. The downside was that it infected your computer with more and more malware as time went by, to the point where your computer was utterly destroyed. It was a pigs feast, and the reason it worked so well became obvious very soon after this.

    At that point, a program called LimeWire appeared, followed by a more popular clone called FrostWire. They used the same networks as Kazaa, but they claimed they had no embedded malware. Well, waitaminute. Kazaa denied, right up to the end, that they had allowed these hundreds of programs to pay them for inclusion in the installer. But they were lying. But why should anyone believe the purveyors of FrostWire when they said the same thing?

    Simple. The FrostWire code, written in Java, was made available. You could read it, parse it, pseudocompile it yourself. Kazaa never made their code available. So anytime you decide to think about backdoors, privacy violations, trackers, intrusive or malicious code, you need to ask yourself “how can I KNOW what’s running on my computer”.

    The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind – it’s open source or you’ll NEVER know…

  20. Yanno, speaking as an professional who operates in the realm of intellectual property and copyright, I don’t have an overwhelming objection to paying for people who create well-designed OSes or applications that are useful to me. I don’t see where the problem is.

  21. And in your parable, mikey, the biggest problem of all is that the artists responsible for the music being stolen were never paid.

    Perhaps the best solution would have been to go see the bands in a live venue, shake their hands, and give them ten bucks for their efforts rather than stealing it?

    The code is not the issue.

    PS. LimeWire was the biggest source of Fuckware that infected the computers in my office. Until, of course, I was forced to lay everybody off.

    The answer, my friend, is blowing in the wind – it’s open source or you’ll NEVER know…

    OK, I see what youre saying. On The other claw, I am pretty sure that when I buy a song or two off iTunes or eMusic, that not only is it a relatively safe download, but that there is some portion of that going to the musician. Granted, my preferred solution is to buy the music from the dudes directly at a show, but that is not always possible.

    Perhaps you picked the wrong example.

  22. come on, dude, am I realistically supposed to not only be able to review the code for my OS, but all my apps too? I mean, I would not be specifically opposed to it, but where do I actually make money doing it?

  23. I remember Kazaa. If I remember correctly, it was Windows, right? So where does the all-powerful Open source come in again? Oh yeah, when all the viruses and copyright lawyers descended.

  24. mikey, I have told you again and again, I do not disagree with any of your code geekery; heck I have spent brief times toiling the fields of BASIC, FORTRAN and even machine language. And really, I don’t want to go back there.

    But as I have also said again and again, what I need is the Instruments of Service I am able to produce using these computer-things. It’s how I actually make money, sometimes. Yes, that takes commercial software. Yes it takes me being able to take advantage of commercial OSes, and their various support incarnations.

    For what I do and my situation, OS X is the most effective.

    What do you want me to do? Go back to stone knives and bearskins in favor of a more intellectually pure computer OS?

  25. it’s open source or you’ll NEVER know…

    the craziest thing is that the most prevalent OS X exploit to date is through Flash.

    So even if OS X was completely open, it still would have been vulnerable.

  26. mikey says:

    Ok. I have to be more clear. Very, VERY clear. There are two possibilities. One possibility is the OS and applications you install on YOUR computer, on YOUR network, are provided to you as binary installers. Nobody, let’s make that real clear, NOBODY knows what the company that SOLD (yes, you PAID for this privilege) you this software put in there. You either trust them (let me just mention a name here – Jamie Dimon) or you decide it might be in your best interest to verify. That leads us to the other possibility – open source. Now, of COURSE you and I don’t have the skills and capacity to parse and examine these megabytes of code. But that doesn’t matter – there are people and organizations, THOUSANDS of them, all over the world, that will do it for us! For FREE! Yep – if an open source program had a bad feature or an ugly defect, hundreds of people will actively LOOK for it, FIND it and FIX it, or at least NOTIFY us of it. If Apple wants to embed some code that sends your address book to cupertino for analysis, you will NEVER KNOW IT.

    It’s your choice, dood. You can use anything you want. You can install anything you want. What you simply cannot do is pretend you have any fucking idea whatsoever what you’re installing on your home network. I do. And while you PAY a bunch of fat investors for your OS and applications, I don’t. Mine are better, faster, smaller, MUCH more transparent and free. Again, you make your own choices. But if you think you can somehow WIN this argument you’re acting more as a lobbyist than a technologist.

    Oh, and stand by. Let’s see who comes out the winner long term…

  27. mikey says:

    “the craziest thing is that the most prevalent OS X exploit to date is through Flash.”

    That we KNOW of…

  28. mikey says:

    Hey, if y’gotta use it, y’gotta use it.

    But if that was actually the case, I don’t think we’d find ourselves at the starting point of: “I put Linux on one of my Macs. Never use it.”

    See, if you decided you NEEDED to use a proprietary OS to run your business, then you’d of course pragmatically do that. But you’d happily and eagerly switch off when you were writing your bologna in JAB (Just Another Browser).

    I have a dual boot machine around here somewhere. When I NEED Windows I HAVE Windows, but I don’t want to stay there any longer than necessary.

    But one more time. You use what you WANT to use. I just don’t want you to pretend it’s a rational choice…

  29. Mine are better, faster, smaller, MUCH more transparent and free

    And they don’t do what I need them to do.

    Again, my most crucial apps are Vectorworks and Sketchup. Sir, you point me to alternatives that are even CLOSE and we can start talking… let alone some of the crazier crap like Revit, which is Windows only….

    If Apple wants to embed some code that sends your address book to cupertino for analysis, you will NEVER KNOW IT.

    Says the guy who is yelling at me about how great it is to use Google as a storage solution.

    And of course, all that paranoia you spewed is completely applicable to anything you wrote on the Intertubes, you know?

  30. I just don’t want you to pretend it’s a rational choice…

    Oh now just calm down. I have explained to you, over and over again, that I just can NOT do the work I do with Linux based apps. How is that NOT rational? What am I supposed to do, not do any work? …OK, these days that is an ALARMINGLY close alternative, but still.

  31. if you decided you NEEDED to use a proprietary OS to run your business, then you’d of course pragmatically do that. But you’d happily and eagerly switch off when you were writing your bologna in JAB (Just Another Browser).

    Not if switching was more painful than opening another window (or in OS X, a new Space).

    Like I said, I messed around in Ubuntu and it is all the things you said it is. Nimble, stable, (although I don’t find it less unobtrusive than OS X,, I figure that is more because I am used to OS X). Also, OS X is stable to the extent that I don’t see a difference. Almost the only reason I restart is because I loaded some new software.

    But what I DIDN’T find is a compelling superiority to my base OS. So yeah, you say that I should happily switch when the opportunity presents itself, but in practice, there’s no reason.

    So, tell me again what is your experience with OS X?

  32. wait wait wait…. is this an internet fight? I have been warned of these somewhere recently, I forget where….

  33. mikey says:

    “So, tell me again what is your experience with OS X?”

    Wait, what?

    I’ll try to use little words. It’s a propiretary operating system. They charge you to use it and refuse to let it be analyzed by software experts. They have an agenda that is NOT aligned with my own interests.

    Google offers me storage and browser based applications. I don’t have to install anything on my home computer or network. There’s no code running on any of my compute platforms. To think Google cares about my fiction and poems and notes I write myself would definitely be paranoid. To wonder what my Operating System vendor might be doing considering they won’t tell me or let me look, even at the most intimate level of my systems, well, hey, whatever makes you happy…

  34. but mikey, you were just warning me about how Apple is inserting malicious code into my computer to observe all my documents, but you have no problem uploading all your documents to Google?

    There’s no code running on any of my compute platforms

    And you know that how, exactly?

    But somehow Google’s interests are aligned with yours?

    I’ll try to use little words, myself. Local storage is always more secure than distributed storage.

    To think Apple cares about my Mekons obsession or my repetitive mentions of shovels is kind of paranoid. Fuck, people who actually comment on my blogs don’t give much of a shit about my Mekons obsession.

    Google’s browser based apps are crap for me. I’ve tried em.

    what I was saying is that have you tried using OS X? I mean, I imagine you have to be Windows-opeerative at most places you worked, but if you walked into a cubicle with a zombie blasting Planet P-Levittown and a couple of monitors with architectural models (not to mention a George Romero movie playing in the background) on a variety of Macs, do you know what to do? WHAT DO YOU DO?

    Oh, wait, I am being silly… A Mac cubicle rarely needs a visit from an IT guy….

    On the Goofle topic, i set off the office computer to upload some level of my music library. I was frankly surprised to find that it only allowed me to either se the whole thing to upload, or nothing; I am curious to see what it does when I hit the 20,000 track limit. And why didn’t it allow me to do playlists or genres?

  35. mikey says:

    “And you know that how, exactly?”

    Because they run sandboxed in a browser? I mean, dood, if you don’t know how this shit works, just asks.

    Look, I don’t know what else to say. If you want to support Big Cupertino, you CAN! I honestly don’t give a righteous fuck. But I DO remain surprised that, knowing what I do about what you believe, this is not only your choice but one you defend rabidly.

    Hey, I’m sure it will all work out for you.

    I’m going to go all horizontal now. I’ll be back in the morning to see what developed. But again, just think about what you’re defending and what I’m proposing. ‘Cause I think we’re a lot closer to the same page than it sounds…

  36. Because they run sandboxed in a browser?

    Interestingly, the next iteration of OS X will incorporate system-wide sandboxing. Of course, people are aggravated about THAT too. (hey, how surprized are you that I knew THAT term?)

    mikey, it’s not that I defend the choice “rabidly” it’s that you can’t provide me with a workable alternative. In the absence of alternatives, I have two pragmatic choices: Windows, running the various programs I do, or OS X running the exact same choices. As you often point out to thunder, these may not be my ideal choices, but they are the ones I have.

    However, unlike the Dem vs. Rep ‘lesser of two evils’ choice we usually have when voting, I feel that OS X is much more workable, flexible and yes, attractive than the Windows alternative. And cheaper; when I have to support my own network and printers, it makes a huge difference.

    I am not sure it will all work out for me, and I am thankful you do; but over the course of the work I have done, using Macs has been WAY less expensive than PCs.

    I ain’t defending nothing. This is my personal infrastructure, and it is the best I can cobble together with my meager skills. Unless all you IT wranglers are able to work without pay, I don’t know how to do something more pure.

    If I get a little defensive, it’s probably a lingering hangover of the 90s, when the “Apple is Dead” triumphalism was not only annoying but I think prevented movement toward common languages like HTML or DXF or PDF, things we use every day now.

    At the end of the day, what I think about my computers is that they are tools. I do a lot of things with these tools, as do we all; what I need is reliability, ease of use, and flexibility. And yes, as I do with almost everything else in my life as a designer, if I can get that in a package that has a strong aesthetic, it’s good.

    I have my own little Apple museum (and turning the Cube into a fish tank is on my workbench) but I will always have a sweetly warm memory of unpacking that first iMac at home and hearing Young Zombie say “that is cool ‘puter” Yes, YZ, yes it was. and now he is using his Macbook to write java code for his robotics team. Yes, YZ, that was pretty much the best computer I ever bought.

  37. I’ll try to use little words. It’s a propiretary operating system. They charge you to use it and refuse to let it be analyzed by software experts. They have an agenda that is NOT aligned with my own interests.

    Google offers me storage and browser based applications. I don’t have to install anything on my home computer

    see, now I don’t feel good about pointing out that the first part of you argument is about OSes, and the second is about storage and applications. come on, guy, I know Sailor Jerry is a bastard, but that is quite clearly two different subjects.

  38. Nick says:

    God you people are weird. =)

  39. hey, look at that, mikey. we managed to squick BOTh Subby and Nick.

    Quite a success, I’d say.

  40. Now, I have to go look at any shovel-related damage to the neighbor’s houses….

  41. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    AWESOME ZARDOZ!!!
    ~

  42. mikey says:

    I’d like to think that a lot more folks were annoyed, bored or angered by that conversation and just didn’t bother to register a complaint with the management.

    Also, too, I have always considered “Weird” a compliment…

  43. well, we did our best, mikey.

  44. mikey says:

    Well, at least I know one thing for sure:

    Bigfoot could kick the Loch Ness Monster’s ASS!!

  45. blue girl says:

    I think ZRM should work on a Kindle.

  46. blue girl says:

    And so true, Nick. So true.

  47. Jennifer says:

    Did I miss anything?

  48. Kathleen says:

    293!!(#($*%*@)@)@@(#

  49. Kathleen says:

    man I need to get 3G

  50. Kathleen says:

    I DO regret it!!

  51. Kathleen says:

    47,000 songs is just….amazing

  52. Kathleen says:

    I am a teeth grinder

  53. Kathleen says:

    man I am out of practice with this….

  54. 1bluegirl says:

    Hi Kathleen!!!

  55. NEW POST YA FECKING ZOMBIE!!!!

  56. blue girl says:

    Yes, please entertain us more efficiently!!

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

