The Fabled City

Posted: August 10, 2012 in Fridge Note

I am having a time.  Not a bad time, not a good time.  But an EMOTIONAL time, certainly.  To make things make sense, I have been kind of alternating between Weird Al and Tom Morello.  What the hell, it makes some kind of sense to me.

Young Zombie has been working off and on all summer with a friend of his who does some landscaping and carpentry, and so we engaged them to put the effort into finishing the half-deck:

The patio design is not simple, involving angles and arcs and the herringbone field because I am an architect, dammit, and we WILL do it that way; but they are doing an admirable job and the workmanship will respond to the design resulting in a SPECTACULAR finished product. Eventually it will have another step and a pedestal for a fire pit..

But for myself, I had to work on Klark Kent work all day, and notwithstanding a less-than-stellar client meeting, had a helluva time myself:

It’s going to be a fun, sizable, and notable project; and it is in my neighborhood.

Deposited a check today, and a different project breaks ground on Monday.

I am not sure I know how to deal with this.

 

Update:  MOAR PATIO

 

Comments
  1. M. Bouffant says:

    Don’t worry, something’s bound to go wrong soon, ‘though I’m really hoping it doesn’t.

  2. I am certain of that, MB, I am twitchy and keep jumping and looking behind me because I KNOW IT IS SNEAKING UP

  3. mikey says:

    Thinkin you might wanna move the top part over to the right a smidge so it’s not all catty wampus n shit, gnome sane?

    I mean, I don’t pretend I know fuck-all about buildings or crap like that, but I know if you put some cups on top of some bowls and plates, you need to put them near the center so they don’t tip over ’cause that’s nine ways from fucked up…

  4. TOO LATE MIKEY THE ARCHITECT HAS DECREED

    ….wait, are you talking about the patio or the building?

    DOESN’T MATTER. ARCHITECT. DECREE, YOU KNOW.

  5. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© says:

    He is LEARNING a TRADE!
    ~

  6. Silent Mike says:

    You got a check? Money? Let’s get a case of Rhinelander, chill it in the bathtub on the porch, drink and play Eucher!

  7. herr doktor bimler says:

    but I know if you put some cups on top of some bowls and plates, you need to put them near the center
    ZRM has inserted a combination of depleted uranium and live elephants within the attic to ensure that the centre of gravity is in the right place.

  8. I don’t get it. Where do the jetpack grannies set down?

  9. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    Nice designs on both patio and project.

    Let’s get a case of Rhinelander, chill it in the bathtub on the porch, drink and play Eucher!

    I thought Eucher was an Ohio game. I was taught how to play Eucher by an Ohio cutie-pie (huge tracts of land, so to speak), it’s kinda like scaled down bridge, if I recall correctly, so I was able to house her pretty early on. Similarly, my mom used to be able to take my brothers’ Army friends to school playing Spades.

  10. i have had a shitty seven months. My mother passed, then my father passed exactly 7 months TO THE DAY, plus it was the day before her birthday.

    Add to that..one of my dearest, oldest friends died two weeks ago..from lack of insurance of course. Her significant other is beside himself and now all alone in friggin Vegas of all places. I and others, are trying to get him to come back to Cali where there are people that love him.

    Life…and Death both suck ya know?

    But I do love your patio/deck..its very beautiful btw Zombilicious. And Substance McGravitas’ last comment just cracked me the fuck up. Thank you to both of you for making me laugh this morning.

  11. blue girl says:

    I’m sorry to hear what you are going through, Dusty. My sympathies. Wishing you peace soon.

    Bravo to Young Zombie and his friend!! Beautiful work – and beautiful design, too.

    Glad to hear you got a check!!

  12. fish says:

    Needs moar dog.

  13. mikey says:

    Man, that patio with the bricks n shit is pretty damn cool, dood.

    You get that outta Sunset Magazine or something?

  14. out of this creaking, jury-rigged, rattletrap brain I keep in my noggin.

  15. The patio and deck (no longer half-) are looking fantastic. Finished the step and the pedestal, Ordered the firepit, get some paint and trim on there, and install the tiki torches, and we are set. Anybody not showing up is getting left behind.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

