A Different Kind Of Tension

Posted: August 26, 2012 in Fridge Note, Wa fuckin Ha

First off, a Fungus Report, for Thunderpants.  The pictures may not be thunder-level (mainly because I only bother using my iPhone), but the growth is SPECTACULAR.  those bigger discs are about 12 inches across.  My neighbor asked me if I thought they were edible, but more than one person at the party last night seemed to be more interested in the possibility of hallucinogenic properties….

Oh yeah, the party.  Oh well, we had a good time.  Some friends were regrettably missing, but we made up for it with the ones we had.  Making do.  There were kids, and dogs, and Zelmo delivered a bottle of a local distillery’s whiskey that I am quite looking forward to trying….

Speaking of which, yelped Smut Clyde: “..I am happy to provide extensive suggestions & tasting notes. That is what you are after, right?”  

No sir.  I am suggesting you blatherskites deliver samples.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The weather was gorgeous, warm and sunny, maybe a little humid.  A fine time, it was, and we wish all of you could have joined us, if for no other reason than to demonstrate that all these people I talk about do not exist solely in my head.  Maybe then EVERYONE WILL STOP LOOKING AT ME FUNNY.

In any case, Lucifer is a fucking wreck today:

She’s got to learn to pace herself.

Comments
  1. blue girl says:

    Any blogging people in those pics? Are you allowed to say?!

  2. the little white dog is Snag.

    Pinko was in the tree.

  3. Here’s a parlor game, BG: Guess how many bloggers can NOT be seen in those photos!

  4. blue girl says:

    the little white dog is Snag.

    Pinko was in the tree.

    LOL

  5. blue girl says:

    Also meant to say: Awesome fungi

  6. mikey says:

    Too many babies.

    But then again, I’m frightened of the clerk at Walgreens…

  7. Pinko Punko says:

    If class weren’t starting tomorrow- I would have tried a lot harder to make it. It would have been great. I would have mixologisted!!!!!! Also, probably tried to get some choco skitties from ebay.

  8. wait. I was certain you were here, pinko.

    Are you sure? There were red trackies… and bacon, as well as pork-adjacent items.

  9. herr doktor bimler says:

    My neighbor asked me if I thought they were edible, but more than one person at the party last night seemed to be more interested in the possibility of hallucinogenic properties….
    Are they anchored straight to the tree-trunk like brackets, or with stems? This is IMPORTANT. You need to take DECENT PHOTOGRAPHS.

  10. guy-wires and epoxy bolts, HDB.

  11. You need to take DECENT PHOTOGRAPHS.

    I was drinking.

  12. Pinko Punko says:

    TROLLYPANTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  13. herr doktor bimler says:

    I was drinking.
    That’s never stopped Thundra.

  14. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    Even if they are neither edible nor hallucinogenic, those fungi would make great disposable plates.

  15. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    Also, nice Buzzcocks reference.

  16. Jennifer says:

    If they’re magical mushrooms… I’m sneaking up under the cover of darkness and stealing them.

    It looks like it was a good time, ZRM! Up until Friday, we had every intention of going, but as you know, crazy life took us in the opposite direction. I’m guessing you had a better weekend than I did.

    I realize it’s early, but have you set the date for next year??? It’s not too early to work on getting the Upsy-Downsy people here.I hear one of them likes beer… and has some fungi knowledge. Also, if B^4 makes it, I’ll bring a huge shopping bag full of purslane.

    Lucy looks very cute and donutty. That’s what we say when SLD is circling to get into perfect donut formation… he’s donutting. Actually, I think we say Donette… and donetting. His donut formations are smaller.

  17. I realize it’s early, but have you set the date for next year??? It’s not too early to work on getting the Upsy-Downsy people here.I hear one of them likes beer…

    Piffle. I begin to think all of my meatspace friends are right, you all are just imaginary….what proof is there? That I was once forced to eat Chocolate Skittles? I think a hallucination is more likely.

    Anyway, it’s usually Labor Day weekend. We shift it once in a while, like we did this year because a nephew is playing in a big-time college football game in St Louis that weekend. But that’s in the ballpark, FWIW.

  18. I was drinking.
    That’s never stopped Thundra.

    I am a professional.

  19. fish says:

    I was there at 2:30. WHERE WERE YOU?!?!?

  20. Jennifer says:

    And at 2:30… for no known reason, ZRM came down with a case of the hives.

    you all are just imaginary….

    That’s what happens when you eat those mushrooms… you start a new blog (or ten) and discover new imaginary friends!

  21. mikey says:

    The clerk at Walgreen’s says she was there and it was very nice. I realize the possibility exists she’s fucking with me, but I find it fairly easy to just assume everybody was there but me because my life sucks dog’s ass.

    I woulda thought that at least at this point somebody would have put me on top of the car in a little plastic box (well, little being relative here, but you know what I mean) and drove me to Milwaukee, stopping every five hundred miles or so to hose the shit off me.

    When you finally come to the realization that your life has reached the point where you wish you were Seamus, Mitt Romney’s famously tormented canine, you can gaze pensively out the window knowing you’re looking at the nadir.

    Of EVERYTHING!!!

  22. blue girl says:

    Is that a gigantic speaker by Lucy?! Looks like it’s from 1977!!

  23. Not that big, Beege. Bose 901s. Gotta have decent equipment to hear all the intricacies of Rush!

  24. I woulda thought that at least at this point somebody would have put me on top of the car in a little plastic box (well, little being relative here, but you know what I mean) and drove me to Milwaukee, stopping every five hundred miles or so to hose the shit off me.

    Realistically, it sounds more comfortable than flying steerage.

  25. mikey says:

    I was just staring pensively out the window and a thought occurred to me.

    If the Chicxulub asteroid had narrowly missed, would the Dinosaurs have gone on to develop intelligence?

  26. herr doktor bimler says:

    would the Dinosaurs have gone on to develop intelligence?

    They did, mikey. Come to NZ and we’ll introduce you to a kea and it will steal your swiss army knife.

  27. hdb, here’s a pic of the underside of one of the tree toad stools in the backyard.

    (In W.V., not Wisconsin.)
    ~

  28. I guess this blog might as well serve as a message center for upside down people. Doesn’t any other real purpose.

  29. Jennifer says:

    I wonder if AK has written any new poems lately… I wonder what beer hdb is drinking right now…

  30. I still wonder how they don’t fall off the earth.
    ~

  31. I still wonder how they don’t fall off the earth.

    Maybe Australia sucks.

  32. mikey says:

    Yo ho ho, half a bottle of Rum and Josh Beckett starting for the Dodgers in Colorado.

    I’m good!

  33. In honor of paleotectonics, I may stick with vodka-and-diet-Mountain-Dew tonight. It’s an atrocity, but I don’t want him to suffer alone….

    but if I get to feeling it, I may venture Zelmo’s whiskey gift….

  34. mikey says:

    Our old friend Brad Reed (Who’s now writing for BGR, you should check him out) from the golden days of SN! has been spewing his Schadenfreude all over Facebook around this abject surrender of the Boston Red Sox.

    Let’s stipulate that the Dodgers spend a quarter of a billion dollars to upgrade their offense at first base, but I’d (along with good ol’ Brad) sure like to see Beckett just melt down and get lit up like a cheap chinese christmas tree on a bad afternoon in early january.

    Just sayin….

    M

  35. BGR? Zombies know BGR not.

    Links can be our friend.

  36. herr doktor bimler says:

    I wonder what beer hdb is drinking right now…

    There are a few bottles of Thomas Hardy Ale in the cupboard that I’m saving for a rainy day, but it’s stopped raining so I may have to work instead.

  37. I still haven’t received the educational whiskey Smut Clyde was supposed to send me.

  38. herr doktor bimler says:

    I cannot understand it! I poured the whiskery into the laptop and pressed ‘send’!

  39. probably wound up in thunder’s computer.

  40. all these people I talk about do not exist solely in my head

    Feel thirsty? That’s me tickling your hypothalamus.

  41. come on, Substance. Anyone who frequents this dive knows I pretty much feel thirsty ALL the time.

  42. herr doktor bimler says:

    Inside ZRM’s head (contents may differ from actual SMcG).

  43. herr doktor bimler says:

    Inside ZRM’s head.

  44. I keep trying to drown that little fucker. HE’S VERY LOUD.

  45. But y’know? Torchwood does the best aerial place-setting visuals ever. It’s like a movie that incorporates Sim City.

  46. “Because I am talking, and the replicants don’t do that.”

  47. herr doktor bimler says:

    Actual Cardiff turns out to be surprisingly unlike Torchwood.

  48. nobody is wiling to pay to send zombie architects ANYWHERE.

    ….although typically, we are able to tell the difference between reality and tee vee shows. Perhaps it is more difficult in NZ.

    For instance, actual Milwaukee turns out to be entirely unlike Happy Days. This may shock you.

  49. fish says:

    but I’d (along with good ol’ Brad) sure like to see Beckett just melt down and get lit up like a cheap chinese christmas tree on a bad afternoon in early january

    Whatever bad Beckett has brought on recently (and he brought some really bad), he still was instrumental in bringing a WS championship to Boston. So yeah, he’s okay with me. Everyone on the 2004 and 2007 teams gets a pass. Even Schilling…

  50. mikey says:

    Huh. San Francisco is EXACTLY like Bullit…

    Although, to be fair, the old Hutcheson Quarry in Marin where they shot the end of “Magnum Force” is condos now.

    Bastards…

  51. mikey says:

    Beckett last night. Five and two thirds, seven hits, three earned, three walks, seven Ks. Picked up the “L”.

    That’ll do, pig. That’ll do…

  52. Brando says:

    I keep asking Theo to hold me and tell me the Cubs are going to be all right, but he won’t take my calls.

  53. Brando says:

    It would also be amazing if ZRM’s patio was one giant mushroom.

  54. I think Brando is onto something.
    ~

  55. It would also be amazing if ZRM’s patio was one giant mushroom.

    OK, Imma sit on it this afternoon with a big ol’ hookah, making enigmatic statements to young ladies walking by….

  56. Jennifer says:

    That reminds me, madhatter never comments on the blogs anymore.

  57. I started a new blog, and he hangs out there all the time now.

  58. herr doktor bimler says:

    It would also be amazing if ZRM’s patio was one giant mushroom.

    You would be engulfed as part of the fungoid mass. This always happens. It must be a tradition, or an old charter or something.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

