Green Bay Packers become first team in history to begin a season 1-1-WTF

Posted: September 25, 2012 in Fuck You Friday

I have resisted calling the replacement refs ‘scabs’.  But they have proven multiple times that they are in no way ‘replacements.  The NFL ownership, by replacing trained professionals integral to the game with laughably inept scavenged almost-rans have turned the game of football into Calvinball. Sunday is now Anything Can Happen Day!  The referee uniforms need to have red foam noses and big floppy shoes added.

The new refs might also just be Fosse cast-offs.  Jazz hands everyone!

I had never considered before how much the referee squad contributes to a well-paced, fairly run game that allows the players to actually compete using their ability.  But look at this clusterfuck they have now; unnecessary injuries caused by players who know they are essentially off the leash, and now, quite obviously, game-changing fuckups that will change the season and post season.

I recognize, of course, that the Seahawks have some real talent (their quarterbacking team is from Wisconsin, after all) and that racking up nine sacks was stellar.  But Rodgers sacked up and calmly moved the ball in the second half, just getting it done.  And it was all undone by the rank incompetence of the scabs in the final minutes:

1: when the Packers went for 2 points, they gave them a kicking ball, which apparently is smoother (there’s a separate kicking ball. Who gnu?) OK, this one maybe wasn’t game changing, but even with the others, had the potential to make it an OT game.
2: Egregious roughing the passer call, which negated a Packer interception.
3. Called defensive pass interference rather than the much more obvious offensive pass interference; the defender was turned all the way around to the ball.  Without that yardage, the Seahawks weren’t close enough for the Hail Mary play.
4. Offensive PI in the end zone. Admittedly, rarely called in a Hail Mary situation, but this was so blatant; Tate pushed the Packer completely to the ground.
5. Possession of the ball. Jennings had both hands on it, well before Tate, and had it cradled. Tate had one hand on it around Jenning’s chest. It wasn’t simultaneous, and it wasn’t even shared possession until after they hit the ground. One of the refs called touchback (interception) and the other touchdown. The one who called touchback had a better view of the ball. Look at this:

Local fishwrap had a good headline: Packers interception gives Seahawks victory.

This is not a strike, it’s a lockout.  The NFL owner’s are bitchy that the refs had a pension plan, and want to change it to a 401K; or as has been noted, from a defined benefit plan to a defined contribution plan, or as I call it, having an extra slice of bread with your shit sandwich.  I would like to think that the players’ union is discussing the idea of going on strike; this situation is affecting their ability to play the game, as well as fucking up their potential bonuses; not to mention increasing the unnecessary violence in what is already a violent game.

They locked out the profession refs for a benefit that amounts to $4000 per game, in a business that sees 9 BILLION dollars in revenue.  It’s not even a rounding error.

It’s simply that they are rich assholes who want other people to suffer more.  Eliminating pensions and weakening unions are wet dreams of theirs.  John Cole of Balloon Juice (who famously abandoned the Republican Party after the stupid wars) is a huge Steelers fan, but the disillusionment of last night’s game has inspired him to again turn away from his long time allegiance.  And again, Vikings punter Chris Kluwe comes through.

The Packers loss is tough,of course, but it’s just a game.  But to have the result fucked up so horribly by incompetent scabs because a handful of rich assholes want to fuck with unions is unconscionable.  In recent years, I had become increasingly uncomfortable with the amount of injury and damage that players are taking, especially brain injury (at least in part because I have nephew playing the line in college ball).   Maybe by Sunday I will be feeling a bit differently, but for now, I am with John Cole, and I am out.  I wish the Packers well in this travesty of a season, but I can’t watch this anymore.

In short, Roger Goodell, you overpaid rich fuck asshole and the rest of your stupid NFL Owners who would rather see the NFL die at the hands of scab refs than pay the unions for what amounts to valuable work:

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Comments
  1. mikey says:

    Nope. Not me.

    I LIKE watching football. And while there are some who say this is no longer football, that’s silly. Of course it is. At the same time, it DOES have a different quality, the addition of a layer of randomness that at times functions as comic relief even as at other times brings about a travesty of the first order. If people get used to this, once the regular refs throw in the towel and come back with a 401(k) and an 80% HMO the league will have to do something else, maybe plant a couple of land mines somewhere on the field, just to make sure that the best team doesn’t ALWAYS win.

    Nope. I’ll keep watching the games, even as I’ll continue complaining about the officiating (you ever notice that nobody EVER uses that word except in sports?). I mean, c’mon, it’s not like we didn’t complain about the refs when they were ‘real’, right? Hey, remember when you could go all Sunday and never hear the words “After further review…”? And who nose, maybe this will serve as an object lesson to all the beer drinkin chilli-fartin redneck Republicans who like their negrows on the field and not in their neighborhoods, a cautionary tale about the value of unions to the working man, particularly when the power imbalance has grown so huge.

    I think the league has made it pretty clear that they aren’t going to back down on this, the players aren’t going to strike, and people are going to continue to fill the stadiums. So depending on how long the real refs can hold out, this is what the state of professional football will look like. The ultimate ten thousand spoons on your wedding day irony would be if it went long enough that these guys actually got as good as the ones they replaced.

    In the meantime, in case you were wondering about the level of experience the replacement refs actually have, it turns out that at least one of them was officiating games in the Lingerie Football League. Um, until the FIRED him for incompetence.

    Yep. You could look it up….

  2. And who nose, maybe this will serve as an object lesson to all the beer drinkin chilli-fartin redneck Republicans who like their negrows on the field and not in their neighborhoods, a cautionary tale about the value of unions to the working man, particularly when the power imbalance has grown so huge.

    While you’re at it, ask for a pony that pisses rum and farts dollar bills.

    Anyway, like I said mikey, my disgust may change by Sunday. I like footerball too; perhaps I will watch college ball. I hear Wisconsin has a team. In any case, I never suggested anyone should follow my lead. We all do what we do.

    I hear that college refs passed on the replacement offer. I hope it was in solidarity with their brethren…

    in case you were wondering about the level of experience the replacement refs actually have

    umm, after watching those calls, I really no longer wonder about that at all. In fact, it would be possible to do a weekly satirical video of the scabs blowing calls, like NFL films doing a blooper reel. The soundtrack can be a mix of Yakety Sax, “boink” sounds, and a guy yelling “FUCK!”

  3. mikey says:

    Yeah. Every now and then I try to watch college football. After all, it’s football, I LIKE football, why not?

    Well, I guess it turns out, at least for me, that the games aren’t interesting without both a rooting interest and some backstory information on the teams, their owners and coaches, and most of all the players. Knowing who they are, which ones I like and which ones I hate, always actually caring about the outcome, well, that stuff is necessary for me.

    So I watch college football for a while, but all the games and players all just kind of run together, the individual plays are interesting but the narrative is missing.

    And so I drift away again…

  4. Might as well post this before fish does:

    Irony stirs from its grave, Turdwaffle and ZEGS both demand the return of the Union Referees. Although Ryan had the Republican grace to blame it on Obama.

  5. FWIW, the NFL statement says the Offensive PI on that play should have been called.

  6. And who nose, maybe this will serve as an object lesson to all the beer drinkin chilli-fartin redneck Republicans who like their negrows on the field and not in their neighborhoods, a cautionary tale about the value of unions to the working man, particularly when the power imbalance has grown so huge

    judging by the comments at deadspin, the answer is categorically “no”

  7. blue girl says:

    I quit football after the Art Modell screwed Cleveland. I’ve been disgusted with owners for a long time. It was enough that that broke my heart, but it totally broke the heart of my old boss. Loyal season ticket holder forever. It was terrible.

    Because The Skimmer’s such a Steelers’ fan, I bought him a Polamalu jersey for his bday a few years back. It was a fortune. My disgust-ed-ness increased.

    Things won’t change unless the fans say enough is enough and stay away from the games, and turn off the TV.

    Browns came back to Cleveland. And my boss bought his season tickets again. So, I say… it ain’t never gonna happen.

    And mikey’s point about people getting used to this clown ref’ing now is just so depressing to me cuz it’s probably completely true.

    Good point, ZRM.

    • sure, but Green Bay is community owned, so the ownership is slightly less evil. And they can never be moved.

      Much as I hate fighting with mikey, I disagree with him about people getting used to the scabs. Football fans are irate, and it isn’t getting better; the replacements seem to be wilting as the pressure goes up. EVERY result will be called into question until the real refs are back.

      • blue girl says:

        Much as I hate fighting with mikey

        I hope it’s not fighting; I hope it’s just debating.

        Football fans are irate, and it isn’t getting better; the replacements seem to be wilting as the pressure goes up. EVERY result will be called into question until the real refs are back.

        Maybe something good’ll come from it, then? Or do the majority of irate football fans just not care how the real refs are treated as long as they come back? You don’t have to answer that.

  8. blue girl says:

    I am like a scab typist/commenter.

  9. M. Bouffant says:

    Oh shit, finally get the NFL Network & now I find out there’re no CFL games on it this yr.! There is no justice!!

    Sub’s just cheerful ’cause his Lions are leading the league.

  10. Edroso, of course, has a good take (although in a weird happenstance, I got there first). Best Line: “The race to the bottom enlists us all whether we have numbers on our shirts or not.”

  11. fish says:

    Yeah. Every now and then I try to watch college football. After all, it’s football, I LIKE football, why not?

    I have no interest in a league where Pete Carroll and Steve Spurrier can be considered excellent coachs.

  12. fish says:

    um coaches.

  13. It will be hardest to ignore when the Packers play the Vikings or the Bears. I guess Brando doesn’t get the chance for revenge.

  14. mikey says:

    And those freakin Vikings are REALLY good, it turns out.

    We’re talking REALLY good.

    They don’t need any help from the refs…

  15. Meh. They usually choke for the Packers, even when they’re good. Kind of like the Pack kindly choked for your guys…

    OT, and it’s my blog so why not, the hits keep coming; Ror and I are going to see these guys do an Acoustic show at Turner Hall on Tuesday:

    Funny to think what an acoustic Bell X1 show will be.

    Perenially awesome faves Mountain Goats are in a couple of weeks, and English Beat with Paul Collins opening shortly thereafter. I missed the Swans, and don’t think I will have the energy or Mission of Burma….

  16. Landru says:

    Thanks for visiting, it’s always a pleasure to have my brains devoured. Explanation there. Thanks also for reminding me that I should be fucking visiting here regularly. I hate being an ignorant fucking twatwaffle that way.

  17. Landru says:

    I know. I fucking blame fish.

  18. Landru says:

    Also, I presume my confusion about Zardoz will clear up when it eats my brain. Which ought to be a pretty good meal, since it’s sort of dense like that.

  19. Confusion about Zardoz is mandatory.

    But these days, fish is AWOL, Jennifer is fruit-bloggin, 3Bulls has become a grey-hole, Kathleen is…well, what the hell. Von never talks to anyone anymore, BBBB and thunder hate me for being an O-bot, and the Substance/ Riddled axis, well who the hell knows what the hell those fuckers do anymore.

    It boils down to me and mikey and occasionally paleo, and that is not enough to to string an effective Zardoz together. Son, it is sorry, but you missed out on an Internet Era.

    Sad zombie face goes here.

    However, feel free to stop in here and cuss me out on a regular basis.

  20. mikey says:

    Dood, imagine how many friends you’d have if only you weren’t such an O-Bot Apple Fanboi.

    Slainte, mi amigo.

    Here’s to Catalonian independence, for fucks sake….

  21. fish says:

    WAIT!!!! You like the Mekons? Sha,n,t be back.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

