In The Light

Posted: November 8, 2012 in Fridge Note

I like to check out which posts random passers-by and Google hits at the Empire end up at, it’s an interesting way to review some of the archives.
Today, someone landed on this post, written during the frenzy of the recall election; It seems that the paragraph I wrote in there is still applicable after this recent election, so I’m doing an EotS Classic post today:

I’ve already said most of what I want to say about the election, with one more thing:
It’s not as bad as you think. It’s not as bad as the Right wants it to be. The Republicans doesn’t give a shit if you’re angry, in fact they prefer it that way.   No matter how it comes out, and no matter how the next election comes out, there is still a metric fuckton of work to do. There always will be; lifting a civilization is a strain.  So we need you, all of you, to just calm the fuck down a little bit and look at these kitties and take a break, have a drink, walk a dog and let it all go until next week. Next Month.  Next year, whatever it takes.  Listen to/play some music, feed your heart and rest your brain.  Look at these kitties.  Look at them.

Also, excellent argument about music in the comments to that post.  Including vague shovel-related threats from mikey.

Myself, both of my major clients are out of town on vacation, I saw a disappointing compromise on a project under construction today, I am up to 48,500 tracks on the library; so I feel fortunate that I stocked up the office rum today and I figure I just better check it right now to make sure it hasn’t gone bad.  Feel free to join in.

Comments
  1. IM HAVING OFFICE TEA AND SCONES

  2. of course I stayed home sick today, which is why I am online in the first place….

  3. Rmoney conceded FLA, K, so break out the damn cranberry vodka already.

  4. actually after going back to the prev post, now I really want some pizza

  5. I AM IN OAKLAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. mikey says:

    Hmm. Think I’ll take a little nap before I break out the rum.

    It’s a nice, rainy afternoon in yuppie-town, and the scent of wet eucalyptus wafts pleasingly through the door. Andrew Luck will run & throw shit on my teevee tonight, and tomorrow I’m thinking about helping Willard Romney find something to do with his spare time…

  7. mikey says:

    Dood, Oakland and San Francisco are NOT the same thing.

    THEIR baseball team lost in the first round of the playoffs….

  8. Heh. I might as well just start a Mac/PC war in this thread….

  9. mikey says:

    You can see it over there across the bay – well, actually that’s Richmond, but same diff, gnome sane? We always thought it was like another country or something, a rare adventure, someplace you had to drive through to go to Yosemite…

  10. someplace you had to drive through to go to Yosemite…

    Oh! Well, I did THAT….

  11. I have these cute little brane-shaped ice cubes in my kooba zombre.

  12. mikey says:

    I’ve never watched a James Bond movie (at first I typed it James Bong – that would be a funny approach), but the commercials for this new one are making me want to write a blog post about all his poor choices in combat preparedness, from choosing to fight a running gunbattle in a suit and tie to his wimpy little .380 toy. It would be cooler, if he wanted to use something small and light like that, to switch to the five seven…

    • I am sure there are all kinds of reasons, from Agency directives, to needs for concealment and things that I am not knowledgeable about. I mean, other than that he’s a fictional character.

      Sounds like you are more of a Mack Bolan fan, mikey.

    • Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

      I gave up on them after “View to a Kill”- too young brothers were sitting in front of me in the theater and, when James Bond bedded the character played by Grace Jones, they started shouting, “DON’T DO IT, JAMES, SHE’S A UGLY AMAZON!!!” Hilarious.

      I recently read “You Only Live Twice” (the screenplay of the movie was actually written by Roald Dahl), and it was basically a travelogue which was startlingly condescending to the Japanese, and the final fight between Bond and Blofeld was cheesy as hell and totally lame. The one conceit of the book which was interesting (the reason I bought it) was the weird poison garden, but even that would have been handled better by Clark Ashton Smith.

  13. yeah, I am kicking some Bob Geldof/ Boomtown Rats today. One of the bands that made me Zombie. I have a smart playlist called “Loudmouth”:

  14. mikey says:

    I read every Mack Bolan novel (until he sold out to the feds – screw him at that point). And yes, it crossed my mind that James Bond needed to wear a blacksuit like Bolan. Sadly, he came before a lot of the more interesting breakthroughs in modern firearms, so he carried and old-school Berretta 9mm, and recognizing the limitations of that cartridge, also began carrying the brand new .44 Automag. There were lots of problems with that thing (he never had any, though), including a severe shortage of the special .44 Automag ammunition it used. My favorite was #4, Miami Massacre. He used a suppressed Luger in that one, and in the end an early hand-cranked automatic 40mm grenade launcher. And he got laid on the beach in the end with a hippie chick. He had no problems with hippie chicks…

  15. mikey says:

    Mafia BRANES with Marinara sauce…

  16. My favorite was #4, Miami Massacre.

    It’s been quite a few years since I’ve read any, but Wasn’t it the first one where the Mob killed his fiance? Bad move that.

    OK, I cheated, and looked it up. It was his sister that got killed, by her father, but due to the Mob in the first one, Val was later….

  17. mikey says:

    That was the one where he was making it with a Puerto Rican Terrorist that was his little Soldata and they caught her and tortured her, which was a REALLY bad idea, then they all went to a party on a big yacht, which turned out to be an even worse idea.

    There’s a great scene in the end of the Boston one after he gets them to return Val and Johnny (TELL THEM I’M HERE. TELL THEM SOMEBODY KNOWS WHY) when he nods to the consigiere and says “you lived past my guns, counselor”. Always loved that line…

  18. The mack Bolan novels were kind of funny. The original run, he disliked cops nearly as much as the Mob, except he wouldn’t kill them; he recognized that they were decent guys for the most part, but unable to operate as vigilantes (although I recall he also took them out when they were corrupt)

    And then when Pendleton sold the rights, it’s like the owners decided that he needed to be a right wing Ted Nugent clone chicknehawk fap object. I recall reading one of the later books and going WTF? This is kind of a totally different guy.

  19. Upside down kitteh at upper right is my favorite. I feel a kinship.

  20. I took a tube train through the subway systems.
    I rode those tunnels like a six foot mole.
    I came back out and I was gasping for air.
    I made it to your place, I was praying you’d be home.
    We really shouldn’t be alone tonight.
    Let’s go to a movie where everybody fights
    But in the end there’s dancing, songs, and smiles
    You need lots of smiles….when the

    Wind chill factor’s minus zero
    Wind chill factor’s minus 10 below.
    Wind chill factor’s minus zero
    Wind chill factor. There you go.

    It’s one of those days where I don’t like myself (uh huh)
    But I get along with myself O.K. (O.K.?)
    I’ll slip beneath these sheets and shiver here awhile (hmmmm)
    I find this happening more frequently these days.
    Still….I practice nightly, I try to keep ahead.
    This art of surfacing is all but dead.
    But I keep coming up, with time enough to breathe,
    I take what I need…..when the

    Wind chill factor’s minus zero
    Wind chill factor’s minus 10 below.
    Wind chill factor’s minus zero
    Wind chill factor. There you go.

    Do you agree (no)
    With anything (no)
    Do you believe (no)
    In anything (no)
    At all (no)

    You know when winter comes to visit these big cities,
    And the wind starts howling through the elevator shafts.
    Well, our love is like one of those older, colder buildings.
    But there’s cracks in my concrete, I begin to feel the draught.

    You start to laugh (no)
    You say you’ve won (no)
    It’s just I lost (no)
    That’s not the same (no)

    I hobble to my corner and view the situation.
    And we’ll settle finally for some form of deep freeze
    Hibernation…….now the

    Wind chill factor’s minus zero
    Wind chill factor’s minus 10 below.
    Wind chill factor’s minus zero
    Wind chill factor. There you go.

  21. Somewhere a screen door slammed
    Somewhere, someplace, somebody’s killing a man
    Down the road I’m told five people died
    And I wonder are you making love to anyone tonight.

    Cos she and I, we’re still sitting here
    Our eyes are dry but we’re bored to tears
    She said lets talk about the future, lets forget about the past
    Did I forget to tell you time never lasts,

    Can I hold on that long
    Is it worth the same old stringalong
    There’s been a few rights but there’s plenty wrongs
    I can make it if you can.

    Don’t trust anything, especially love
    Be careful of the broken bottles on the wall above.
    They burn your brain and they tear at your mind
    I know I won’t be making love to anyone tonight.

    Cos she and I we’re still sitting here
    Our eyes are dry but we’re bored to tears.
    Don’t talk about the future, please don’t talk about the past
    Lets forget about the present, it makes me want to laugh.

    Can I hold on that long, can I?
    Is it worth the same old stringalong
    There’s been a few rights but there’s plenty wrongs
    I can make it if you can.

  22. Here you go, the Most Evil Democrat in our lifetime:

    I am especially horrified by the way he wiped tears away as he walked away. Fecking monster.

  23. I am afraid to watch a Most Realistic Fight Scene Ever.

    Also that WWZ trailed LOOKS AWFUL

  24. I am a little concerned by how much I love the Mekons.

    wait.

    I think I will get more drunk and make this a post. Hold tight.

  25. mikey says:

    The most realistic fight scene evah was one night when I was in a bar out in the Avenues called the L’il Village and I somehow managed to piss off the entire place, patrons, staff and passers-by. They beat me up one side and down the other, kicked me repeatedly for a while, threw stuff at me, picked me up and threw me out on the sidewalk, went out and got me, drug me back in and beat me some more than threw me out in the middle of the street.

    Of course, I learned a very important lesson from this. I need a gang…

    • blue girl says:

      Is that true, Mikey?

      The Skimmer worked at the Rubber Bowl in Akron when he was 19 in the mid 70s. There was a game one Sat — an all white team vs. an all black team. Huge fights broke out in the stands. The Skimmer’s boss (who was probably all of 22) yelled to the Skimmer and the other guys who worked there, “Go break it up!” Well, guess who got broken up? The Skimmer. A bunch of guys beat him up, broke his ribs, etc. and threw him over the railing back onto the football field.

  26. mikey says:

    Also, too, why have our friends in KiwiLand chosen to re-enable blogger’s stoopid word verification. It causes me pain, indigestion and flatulence….

  27. blue girl says:

    I don’t know why the Skimmer wants aliens to come to earth so bad when there are MEAT-EATING SPONGES ALREADY HERE.

    • mikey says:

      …the Skimmer wants aliens to come to earth…

      Sheesh. Is it already time for me to write another post pointing out that while there is certainly life, including intelligence, scattered through the galaxy and the universe at large, even at 0.9c it will take hundreds or thousands of years to travel between stars? There ARE no aliens coming to earth, and there ARE no humans visiting other worlds, because basic physics creates a negative incentive structure with no viable resource allocation process.

      You’d essentially have to build a medium size city in space, provide for many generations of people who will do nothing but live their lives maintaining the spaceship, you’d have to figure out how to fuel the engines for hundreds or thousands of years in deep space, you’d have to find a way to make sure none of the critical systems or subsystems ever failed even as nobody who invested resources in the project will ever have a chance of learning anything from it, or even knowing how it turned out.

      Not. Gonna. Happen…

      • You’d essentially have to build a medium size city in space, provide for many generations of people who will do nothing but live their lives maintaining the spaceship, you’d have to figure out how to fuel the engines for hundreds or thousands of years in deep space

        HOW ARE YOU SPYING ON MY SECRET PROJECT??!

      • I always liked the skiffy stories where one of those generation ships degenerate into chaos, and the descendants not only forget the mission, they forget they’re even ON a ship…

      • blue girl says:

        I read your comment to the Skimmer and he said that is very true! And he thinks about it all the time. That is, when he’s not wondering where Sasquatch is.

  28. Re: Petraeus. Someone posted a tweet on FB: ” I guess once you start blowing up weddings, it’s hard to know when to stop.”

    • mikey says:

      From a “he oughta know better and have a little fucking discipline” standpoint it’s bad enough, but c’mon, Dave, banging your biographer? How stupid and cliche is that? Keep the goddam thing in your pants and you’re set for life. Idjit…

      • herr doktor bimler says:

        Banging your biographer and giving her access to your e-mail account? Letting her act as your spokeswoman? A biographer who’s a borderline personality case and searches through that account looking for the e-addresses of Other Women so she can harass them? Someone was not paying attention during the lecture on OpSec.

        Petraeus looks to have put a lot of effort into managing press relationships and cultivating a public image of himself as Superhuman Strategic Genius — possibly more effort into things like winning wars — and ended up believing his own bullshit about his capabilities.

        This seems to be a recurring theme in US politics at the moment…

      • herr doktor bimler says:

        Also wondering now about the quality of the background checks before the nominated head of the CIA receives his security clearance. You would think that something like “embedded with over-involved journalist ever since Afghanistan” would stand out before Petraeus was given the keys to his office and access to the TSC documents.

        Is “Head of external intelligence” such a political-appointee role now that no-one bothers?

  29. blue girl says:

    Also wondering now about the quality of the background checks before the nominated head of the CIA receives his security clearance.

    Humans checking into other humans. The system is inherently fallible.

  30. herr doktor bimler says:

    Zombies and keys? That’s basically the plot of Tokyou Gore Police.

  31. mikey says:

    What does that mean? Please stop speaking in code.

    It means that one person can keep a secret, but as soon as two people know it’s not a secret anymore…

  32. mikey says:

    But calling it growls and grunts, that’s just hurtful, man.

    Apologies. I was unaware it was an actual language like Elvish or Klingon. I shall seek out the Zombie-to-English translation software in order to discover the poetic subtleties contained in a shambling search for BRANES…

  33. I think we are about due for a fish-festation….

  34. mikey says:

    I hope Mikey doesn’t think we’re talking about him behind his back

    Good heavens no! I like being in the conversation. Besides, it’s kind of flattering to an obnoxious know-it-all like me. Makes me feel like a Smart Feller who Smelt Fart…

  35. Jennifer says:

    These threads need Cliffs Notes.

  36. mikey says:

    Cliffs Notes:

    There’s a cliff to our east about 150 meters. It’s pretty steep, with some loose rocks and gravel and some scree at the bottom. The only other cliff in the area is half a klick north. It’s a nasty one, with mostly sheer granite and a railway roadbed at the bottom. I think it has some rattlesnake population.

    Hope you found the Cliffs Notes helpful. Be careful out there. And always carry rum.

  37. Someone NEEDS to get started on the Bullsosphere Reference Wiki.

    Also known by its working title, Pinko’s House O’ Pork.

  38. Fridge note: Off to get drunk with Zelmo. He only manages to get an hour or two to himself, so we are going to have to be VERY EFFICIENT.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

