some things will never change. They just stand there looking backwards, half unconscious from the pain

Posted: December 6, 2012 in Music nobody listens to

Hey, since I have lots to say but little time and inspiration, it’s video time!  You know what I haven’t posted in a while?  Meat Puppets!

Dunno who the guy in the sweater is, but I think he’s got a future:

One of my favorite songs:

One story I always thought was kind of funny; Courtney Love once said that Cobain would play Meat Puppets II incessantly, and she could never understand why he liked it so much.  Until he started playing the songs on his acoustic, and when the squalling guitars were stripped away, the stark beauty of the songs and the near-jabberwock of the lyrics was pushed to the fore.

And when I wake up in the morning
To feel the daybreak on my face
There’s a blood that’s flowin’
Through the feeling, with a knife
To open up the sky’s veins

Some things will never change
They stand there looking backwards
Half unconscious from the pain

They may seem rearranged
In the backwater swirling, there is
Something that will never change

And when I shoulda been gone a long time
Laughs and says, I find ways
Just when we’re sheltered under paper
The rockets come at us sideways

Some things will never change
They stand there looking backwards
Half unconscious from the pain
They may seem rearranged
In the backwater swirling, there is
Something that’ll never change

Hey,
I’m blind
Good, fine
Roll the time
On whose dime

And when I wake up in the morning
To feel the daybreak on my face
There’s a blood that’s flowin’
Through the ceiling, with a knife
To open up the sky’s veins

Some things will never change
They stand there looking backwards
Half unconscious from the pain

They may seem rearranged
In the backwater swirling, there is
Something that’ll never change

Comments
  1. mikey says:

    Wow. I was in a residential recovery facility from June of ’94 to February of ’95. Playing that song just takes me back to that great big old house in Downtown San Jose in such a visceral way. I continue to find it strange that I have such fond memories of that time…

  2. I FORGOT SAM. NEVER FORGET SAM.

  3. Landru says:

    Wow. Lake of Fire (although I prefer the slower, crankier version) and Billy the Mountain in one day. I am fulfilled. Temporarily, of course.

  4. Gotta love the Meat Puppets, they got their name from William Gibson’s SF.

  5. mikey says:

    Hmmm, nothing much happening here tonight, and what is occurring is incoherent. I’ll watch the end of the football game and come back….

    • Hmmm, nothing much happening here tonight, and what is occurring is incoherent.

      You say that like it is out of the ordinary…

    • Landru says:

      Coherent:

      Fuck you, Zombie, Zappa’s a fucking genius. Besides, Billy the Mountain was just as much Flo and Eddie. And anyway, Zappadan’s coming, show a little respect. Or maybe that was a little respect. Whatthefuckever.

      Incoherent:

      Blarg blarf mschnazzlff oh my fucking god i’m on the road in the flyover hills again, please for the love of dog shoot me and bill me for the bullet.

      Actually, that was more coherent than I really meant for it to be.

  6. zencomix says:

    I love the Meat Puppets. I wonder what ever happened to theMeat Puppets poster I had on my wall?

  7. New T-shirt:

    “Sure they’re only in my head, but the Voices have a LOT of good ideas”

    guaranteed to keep other people from talking to you on the bus.

  8. Christmas shopping: FUCKING DONE.

    unless you count alcohol, of course. Also, technically my brother’s gift is not paid for yet; but that won’t happen until his mortgage is due in January.

  9. Weird Dave says:

    Tempe’s best band evah!

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

