After Dark

Posted: November 25, 2013 in Fridge Note, It's not the heat, it's the humanity, Shovels

OK, first of all I have to report negative success on that damn Aussie Cave.  Even the balcony tickets are 50 bucks, and I am not able to justify that kind of thing.  Good seats are $150-200.  fucking fuck.

Next, I am fucking fuck toward my fucking lame fucking asshole son, who slept in all day and didn’t bother shoveling the small amount of snow that fell.  I had to go out to work, and he is home between trimesters.  Apparently he slept all day, so when I got home, I had to scrape off the small amount of snow.  Ok, it wasn’t that much, but the sidewalk had been tromped down by college students all day, and could have been cleared off; if it isn’t, it turns into hard pack, and never goes away until April at best.

But the best is yet to come.  Some of you may recall an episode where I was walking a job site and stepped on a flanged nail, then had to pull the nail out of my foot where I had nailed my shoe on?  OK, similar.  While shoveling the sloped portion of the drive, I slipped and put my hand out to stop myself.  and, as I discovered, dislocated my right hand pinky finger at the big knuckle.

What do you do when you dislocate one of your fingers?  Well you pull on it until it pops back into place.  You’ll be able to tell, believe me.  If it moves somewhat like prior, it’s back in place.  If it is sticking at a funny angle, keep trying.

Then pound a bunch of aspirin and/or ibuprofen, because it will hurt like a fucker tomorrow.  Alcohol is also recommended.

And if you feel like it, yell at your son who sat on his fucking ass all day hoping the snow would melt.

Comments
  1. the weirdest part? the finger (and its adjacent) was broken during my misguided participation in high school basketball. when they were originally broken by jamming, we just taped them all together and went on with practice.

    Apparently, though I am a bad person for coming home late from the architectural office and then shoveling. Wife sublime just marched off to bed.

  2. herr doktor bimler says:

    Alcohol is also recommended.

    “All else is commentary.”

  3. Silentmike says:

    ‘Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time’.

    You got married, had a kid and bought a house.

  4. What do you do when you dislocate one of your fingers?

    Actually, first, I scream. A bunch. Possible some tears and random destruction.

    Then drink.

  5. mikey says:

    You seem to be managing to type your thoughts without the use of Ps, “s, or ?s. This would be hard for me – sure, I could manage without Ps, but I LIKE ‘s and”s and would be hard put to type my actual thoughts in the case of their unavailability.

    So I’m going to march off to bed…

  6. Jim H. says:

    Kids. Can’t live with ’em, can’t shoot ’em.

  7. You seem to be managing to type your thoughts without the use of Ps, “s, or ?s. This would be hard for me – sure, I could manage without Ps, but I LIKE ‘s and”s and would be hard put to type my actual thoughts in the case of their unavailability.

    It’s an homage.

    Or a tribute. Yeah, a tribute.

  8. Since you refuse comments on the Sarah Pabouttoir video… Happy TGiving ZRM and rather less lifeless family!

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

