One Step Up – Two Steps Back

Posted: January 15, 2014 in It's not the heat, it's the humanity, Music nobody listens to, Shovels

OK, Jimmy Fallon wins January.  Make Chris Christie cry.

…but why is the guy on the left dressed like Jimmy?

EDIT and by the way OFF TOPIC (just to make Scott P feel more comfortable)

Here is what I been working on today.

street-from NW

After helping to give a tour of the project we finished last year, which is up for a Milwaukee Award for Neighborhood Development Innovation.  No cash for it though, just a warm fuzzy feeling.

Comments
  1. Scott says:

    That’s, of course, by far the best part of this: this must have caused Christie such heartache, and that pain will never go away.

  2. Scott says:

    ZRM posting brings me to the joint. I just have nothing (well, even less) semi-moderately interesting to say about non-music-related posts.

  3. Or, you could just go OT Scott.

    Like this, which I am pretty sure will make paleotectonics cry like a Google search for “Bigfoot Rape” would:

  4. Also OT, Scott, but have you heard the new Springsteen yet?

    • Scott says:

      I have! Only once, so far. I like it. But after all of one listening, I’d say it’s the least essential LP of his career. As has been said, it’d have made a killer Disc Five of Tracks. There’s some really good stuff and possibly some great stuff and then some really remarkably lightweight stuff. Still and all, I’m glad we have it. I’m glad he’s releasing “too much” stuff these days, rather than not enough.

    • I found his cover of “Dream Baby Dream”, as much as it shows him trying to move out of his comfort zone, to be pretty damn weak. Especially compared to the wild-eyed unskilled yearning of the original.

    • Coincidentally, emusic has a Bruce sale going on in recognition of his new one, I tagged Tracks for 15 bucks.

    • Scott says:

      Tracks for $15 is a damn bargain and no mistake.

      His “Dream Baby Dream” may or may not be weak—did you ever hear him when he first did it, back on the Devils & Dust tour? It’s how he ended every show, just him at the pump organ. It was an awesome way to end the shows but it was so minimalist that after a few shows it grew wearisome, so I actually like the serenity of the more fleshed out version. Of course, it wasn’t designed to been seen that many times, so that’s my problem—but I keep thinking about how damn much Alan Vega and Martin Rev must fucking love him. My guess is this year their income’ll be roughly 5x their average.

    • I like Springsteen when he goes lightweight. “Girls in their summer dresses” is amazeballs.

    • Scott says:

      Ah, see, I love “Girls in their Summer Clothes,” but I don’t think that’s lightweight. I think that’s a remarkable pop song, with an incredibly powerful undercurrent of mortality wrapped in a melody Burt Bacharach would have been proud to have come up with.

    • Isn’t that lightweight for Bruce?

      — to be clear, I do not disagree with any of your comments. Also, thank you for not dropping a bomb on me for getting the title wrong.

    • Scott says:

      Springsteen’s always had a lot of really light, fluffy, semi-throwaway stuff, it’s just that it’s rarely the stuff that gets played on the radio, so unless you have his albums—or, even more on point, his b-sides—you probably don’t know most of them, or at least, they’re not so much on the tip o’ your tongue. But he’s always been a big fan of 60s pop–it, way more than Dylan, was maybe his primary influence. But then he does tend to slip something in there that makes you realize that perhaps it’s not all quite as simply simple fun as it seemed at first glance, and there’s stuff going on down under the surface. You’ll be shocked, shocked to learn how often and consistently class issues have figured in his work, for instance. No, it’s true.

      But, no, he’s not nearly as grim or earnest or irony-free as the general perception of him is. (And not without reason.)

    • Agreed on all points. and for myself, when I consider poppy music, I like it when it is subvertive in some way. The Smiths come to mind. Almost anything that qualifies as Power Pop, mostly. I like cheery music about depressing subjects.

      Admittedly, there are also times I like depressing music about depressing subjects.

      Mostly, though, I don’t care for depressing music about cheery subjects.

    • But he’s always been a big fan of 60s pop

      This was always the most intiguint thing for me about Genesis. that was also their inspiration, and they had no way to achieve it. So they spent a year with basically no outside influence, and wound up with “Trespass”. They wanted to be pop, but never managed to figure out how to do it until they shed three original members and Phil Collins went insane.

    • But, no, he’s not nearly as grim or earnest or irony-free as the general perception of him is.

      As the video above shows.

      That has always been one of the cool things about Rush. The have an incredible sense of humor about their careers, and themselves.

    • Scott says:

      “[Their love of pop] was always the most intiguing thing for me about Genesis. that was also their inspiration, and they had no way to achieve it. So they spent a year with basically no outside influence, and wound up with “Trespass”. They wanted to be pop, but never managed to figure out how to do it until they shed three original members and Phil Collins went insane.”

      I think I’d argue they came pretty close with “I Know What I Like” and “Counting Out Time”—I mean, those are some pretty poppy tunes right there, albeit as filtered through the askew mind of Peter Gabriel, and played by a bunch of prog-besottled Beatles fans who were never and would never be the rockers their idols were. But, you’re right, clearly it wasn’t until Phil became the singer–and even more, after Steve Hackett sadly bolted–that they really went nearly whole hog in the pop direction.

  5. Those are some damn nice trees, ZRM. You oughta erase the building though – it’s kinda interfering with the presentation of the trees.

    Also, too, I recognize Bruce, but what the hell’s a Fallon?

    • mikey, you heathen that’s an old 30’s era school building. It’s lovely. And frankly, this neighborhood has had far too many buildings erased already; we have been working to repair the damage for a decade.

  6. good FSM, I dearly love “The Ghost Of Tom Joad” done as a squalling Neil Young version featuring Tom Morello. His guitar work makes Springsteen rise to the occasion. Fuck it, Imma listen to it AGAIN.

  7. mikey says:

    But you let your blue walls get in the way of these facts
    Honey, get your carpetbaggers off my back
    You wouldn’t even give me time to cover my tracks
    You said, “Here’s your mirror and your ball and jacks”
    But they’re not what I came for, and I’m sure you see that too

    • I woke up this morning
      I could barely breathe
      Just an empty impression
      In the bed where you used to be
      I want a kiss from your lips
      I want an eye for an eye
      I woke up this morning to the empty sky

    • Scott says:

      Last night I was out driving
      Coming home at the end of the working day
      I was riding alone through the drizzling rain
      On a deserted stretch of a county two-lane
      When I came upon a wreck on the highway
      There was blood and glass all over
      And there was nobody there but me
      As the rain tumbled down hard and cold
      I seen a young man lying by the side of the road
      He cried Mister, won’t you help me please

  8. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    I like cheery music about depressing subjects.

    One of my favorite musical juxtapositions.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

