Drawerings

Posted: February 20, 2014 in Fridge Note, Music nobody listens to, Shovels

damn, I give good meeting.

We reviewed hedgehogs:

on the left: under construction. On the right: hedgehog stage.

on the left: under construction. On the right: hedgehog stage.

Sometimes, I find it very cool that I can stand on several intersections of Milwaukee and see multiple examples of my work over a couple of decades.  Sometimes, however, it’s depressing that that doesn’t seem to matter in terms of monetary success.  Sigh.

moar

2:20:14-1

Since the meeting was good, I got a ticket for the Alejandro Escovedo/ Pete Buck show across the street from my office, because, hey, last time I saw Pete Buck was the damn Green tour.  Annoyingly, the face value of the ticket was $24.50, but the fees added another 14 bucks.  Just charge me what you’re gonna charge me, will ya?

Live music rocks.

Go Fuck Yourself, Turdwaffle.

Comments
  1. Very peculiar. I was talking with the client today, about changing tools and work habits; I mentioned that in college, I usually worked in two dimensions, even if the work I was doing was more-or-less three dimensional in my head. After getting my first job in the field, I started working much more in three dimensions, through paraline drawings — drawings where the lines were all on a parallel axis, isometric and axonometric and such.

    modern computer based software allows for me to work in actual perspective during the design phases, so images like this are now part of the design process. On a lark, I set Sketchup to be a paraline representation, and the distortion was unnerving. Even though it was a typical design tool for me at those times.

    Also kind of interesting, is that mechanical design tools like Autodesk Inventor and PTC Creo, are set at default as paraline representations. Sketchup and Vectorworks are set by default in perspective mode. All of them, however, can switch back and forth at will.

    • Back in the day I was actually a draftsman/tech. illustrator. ‘Round ’92 or ’93 or so I started doing solid modeling of of our machine parts in AutoCAD 12 and doing renderings for pre-production mock ups and marketing materials and such in 3DStudio. I remember telling a meeting of technical illustrators and writers at the time that it was going to be the way everybody did it in the future and they laughed at me.

      But then again I had an Internet account back then too and nobody understood why.

      Oh and holy crap was it slow to do a rendering. Took the machine overnight, at least. I think it was a 40MHz 386 with 32 whole megabytes of RAM. Good times.

      Also, nice hedgehog.

    • mikey says:

      Yeah – back in those days you’d go into a high tech company for a meeting and you’d see some people just wandering aimlessly around, talking to people. They were doing so because all their compute resources were tied up rendering a 3D piece – the good folks at Wired actually named it “renderwandering”.

      I remember going to E3 shortly after Microsoft bought Softimage. They were showing some stomp-down AMAZING render times, and people were oooing and ahhhing at the raw speed. I was shooting the shit with some of their IT doods and they took me back behind the booth and showed me how they were doing it. Behind that cute little Windows Workstation they had a compute farm of SIXTY Sparcstations with GPUs set up as a compute farm and they were offloading the rendering process to that monstrosity.

      Alls fair in love and trade shows…

    • After graduating and getting my first actual architectural job, one of the things I got to do was work on evaluating and selecting the firm’s first CAD system. we wound up with a high end Software solution, Bentley Microstation which kicked eleven kind of AutoCad ass, and we ran it on Sun Sparcstation pizzaboxes, over a unix OS. There was some birthing pains, as the system was not familiar to the Windows geeks, but once it was set up it was awesome.

      The CAD jockey we had would say that in his previous job, running a bog-standard PC solution with AutoCad, he would occasionally go to regen the display, and he would have time to go to the toilet, get some coffee, ‘renderwander’ as you put it.

      But with this setup, even with massive files, he would go to regen and by the time he would get to the corner of his workstation, it would softly chime, telling him it was done.

    • herr doktor bimler says:

      Great things can be done with a Tempested Sun sparcstation running a special-purpose board which arrived from Fort Meade in the diplomatic bag. Or so I hear from a friend.

    • Bentley Microstation which kicked eleven kind of AutoCad ass, and we ran it on Sun Sparcstation pizzaboxes

      Oh man, I wanted to use Microstation so fucking bad. The boss (family-run engineering firm) was a total cheapskate though.

      I actually ended up getting out of that kind of work and did networking and sysadmin stuff, including lots and lots of work on Sun machines with SunOS and Solaris, before moving on to (mostly) just programming. I had an old pizza box sitting on my desk for a long time (used it as a monitor shelf), just out of nostalgia, finally got rid of it a while back. Now that Oracle owns Sun, it’s a complete fucking disaster. Their operating system is still great, but the new licensing models are completely fucked and we can’t afford to use it anymore in the nonprofit sector. The open source versions Sun spawned before being sold are coming along, but it’s just too much work to deal with to make it worth it. Larry Ellison is a major asshole.

  2. mikey says:

    I will never, ever forget that mechanical drawing class I took in the eighth grade. With a board and a T Square and these awesome fine mechanical pencils. Mostly, we used the class time to torment Lopperbutt, and most of the class was drawing things with holes in them and nutz & boltz and gears n shit, but I’ll never forget the late spring night I was working on some goddam perspective drawing using the T Square and a 30-60-90 triangle as homework (because I didn’t get the goddam thing done because of fucking Lopperbutt) (did I mention I have NO fucking talent whatsoever? I did? Ok good) and all of a sudden I found myself imbued with an unrealistic courage and took a break from the smudged and now hopeless drawing to call Patti Dougherty up and invite her to go water skiiing with us.

    Patti wouldn’t go, I got a well deserved D in the mechanical drawing class and Lopperbutt probably makes more money than I do.

    Fuck….

  3. Scott says:

    I just love the idea of you sitting down at a meeting and kicking things off by starting to sing in J Mascis’s laconic drawl.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

