Here Be Monsters

Posted: April 18, 2014 in Fridge Note, Music nobody listens to, Shovels

So, Friday.  It was a toss-up between a Fuck You Friday and a Friday Musical Spew, but then there was no client check in the mail,  so….

 

Which is appropriate, since Jesus Bunny day is 4/20.  Also, there is a fambly of bunnies living in our backyard/adjacent that are making Lucy-orange-flatulent remarkable agitated.

 

abc_ann_420_jesus_140418_16x9_608

Maybe there will be a check in the mail tomorrow, maybe not.  Welcome to the world of being Independent Contractors.  Fortunately, I have a second job, which is Uniquely American I am told (and not desperate) so I have alcohol.

Furthermore,  Bob Mould.

I do not, however, have smoke because Wisconsin will never even be a Medical Marijuana state while Turdwaffle tries to make Wisconsin into Alabama.  Because it is just sad for a zombie over the half-century mark trying to score dime bags from college students who hail from the richer suburbs.

 

Title Lonkalicious:  John Langford has a fine new album, titled Here Be Monsters.  Buy it from your favorite vendors, just as soon as you can, and resist the streaming bullshit because that rips off the musicians and Langford is an artist. musician of the top caliber who deserves your ten bucks yes even you mikey.  But in the interim, feel free to download a live audience recording of his band at the Bell House in New York:

 

https://archive.org/details/jlangford2014-04-04

 

EDIT FOR ALSO TOO

I don’t do it that often, but this here is how zombies do stripmalls:

aerial from north aerial from north

Comments
  1. mikey says:

    Queso, two things.

    First, I pays my money and I gets my music. I didn’t write the fucking rules and I didn’t create the stoopid topheavy corrupt record label music ownership system. I used to steal. Now I stream. Not gonna feel bad about that.

    Second. Before they were the Peacemakers, subsuming bits of Dead Hot Workshop and Gin Blossoms in order to corner the market on Tempe creative brilliance, they were The Refreshments. And what they did should never be forgotten.

    Una soda por favor
    Can’t drink cervesas anymore
    ‘Cause if I do I fear I’ll fall down on the floor
    Una soda por favor
    Can’t drink that anymore….

    Who’s that pretty girl, standing there, by the door?
    I think I knew her from a thousand years before…

    • Nope, you didn’t make the system. Neither did the artists, who were mostly ripped off by it, either.

      And now it’s dead, or dying. And music is being distributed other ways. But here’s the thing, and as you noted, before you stole the music and now you just stream it. And neither of those systems allow musicians to make a living at it.

      So for myself, I’d like to see the musicians I like be able to make a living at it. They need to sell a few CDs or some other swag (one FB post I saw said that each t-shirt you buy gets a band 50 miles down the road). If they can’t, we won’t be able to enjoy the fruits of their labor anymore, and we all would be better served by learning an instrument or two on or own, like people did before.

      ….umm, now I look at these damned string instruments around here, and realize that I should just take my own damn advice anyways. Von is way ahead of me on it already, and I had a couple of decades head start on her.

      So I’ll just shut up and practice. Carry on.

    • But anyways, that’s why I included the link to the download of the live recording. It’s free! And hopefully people will like it enough to buy the actual CD or download, like I done did.

  2. SilentMike says:

    Oh yeah! How’s the Cabbie biz? Evidently keeping you in booze.

    • Dude, I helped you out, and now I helped Rory out. I won’t be driving a cab, but he’s gotta get a Crown Vic outfitted and on the road. From what I understand, it’s worth like a few hundred thousand dollars if I was selling, but I ain’t; I have a friend who may make use of it.

  3. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    It was a toss-up between a Fuck You Friday and a Friday Musical Spew

    Why choose?

    Second. Before they were the Peacemakers, subsuming bits of Dead Hot Workshop and Gin Blossoms in order to corner the market on Tempe creative brilliance, they were The Refreshments. And what they did should never be forgotten.

    Refreshments were a great band.

  4. I’m the son of a working musician, so a big “fuck you” to those that so blithely dismiss creative folks getting paid. There are people behind the music, and it means food on the table for them and their families.

    Anyway, in other related news, the first medical dispensary (of a few registered) just opened here in Beerville, and, to make it even more relevant to your post, it’s in a strip mall. A really, really ugly strip mall. It needs the zombie’s treatment, badly.

  5. The music business is a fascinating study in innovation and corruption. And innovative corruption. It was a daunting problem – they had to make thousands of identical items and somehow get a small number of them to thousands of retail outlets in every city, town, village and crossroads in the country. That was something they did remarkably well. They there was the record labels foul partnership with the radio broadcasters to determine who would be fabulously wealth stars and who would suck it. The problem is that making art is inherently a blue collar job. It’s like laying bricks, or painting houses, or landscaping. There was never any reason for A&R guys and label execs to become millionaires, but there really was never any reason for musicians to do so either. It was all due to the fact that, because of the corruption and marketing, there were billions of dollars sloshing around the industry and lots of venal and greedy people to scoop them up.

    I will dissent with the sentiment that if there isn’t a certain amount of money people will just stop making music. People paint and starve, they write and starve, they write poetry and starve, they produce independent theater and starve. Art is either in you or it’s not, and if you have art in you you’re going to give it to people because you have to, and because there’s nothing in the world more satisfying to you than applause. There is a new normal, where there is no radio and no records, where everything is streamed or live, and the artists are going to end up making a decent living. Probably quite a lot more than could make a decent living under the old system. People love music, and musicians love to make music for people, and that’s a perfect system of supply and demand. In the end, it will be better for all – I spent decades resentful that I had to spend $18 on a record with ONE GOOD FUCKING SONG ON IT.

    Look out Hollywood – you’re next…

    • I will dissent with the sentiment that if there isn’t a certain amount of money people will just stop making music.

      Well, that’s not what I said, so I dissent with it also. They will, however, stop making music for YOU. You will either need to pay to go see them, or pay to buy their CDs/downloads/t-shirts. Why should the face that they love their occupation disqualify them from making a living at it?

      But I recognize that this is a perennial argument point between you and I, like Macs vs. Linux or Shovels vs….well, whatever the hell you use in lieu of shovels. It is good that you are paying for streaming, at least, even if it only provides the artists we love with miniscule compensation.

      On another front (and I started a post about this last night, but it started to get overwhelmingly involved with Rush so I gave it up as a bad job) I just received notice that the project I did last year just won another award; Mayor’s Design Award, which is my fourth and the third for this series of projects. AND I have a meeting tomorrow morning with the Alderman to discuss a relatively big project (100 units!) on the fashionable East Side.

      It almost makes me feel like an architect.

      • I just received notice that the project I did last year just won another award; Mayor’s Design Award

        Congrats!

      • If an artist can make a living behind a paywall by all means they should do it. And if I liked that artist, I’d pay. The problem is audience building – in the old days it was radio, now it’s streaming. Roger Clyne has been tremendously successful at just that – hell, you can’t even find his shit on YouTube, which is weird. But even he’s on GMusic.

        Also, too, awards are cool. You must be doing something right, because I get the impression you can’t afford to keep bribing the Mayor (although the way things are going you may find yourself in that position soon enough). Perhaps he is unaware you are a zombie, or perhaps he is prejudiced against living architects. Me, I go home every afternoon ecstatic that another day has gone by and nobody fired me.

    • and if you have art in you you’re going to give it to people because you have to, and because there’s nothing in the world more satisfying to you than applause.

      Not exactly.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

