Field Report, a local band that helped spawn Bon Iver, has a new album out and is playing tonight at The Pabst Theater.  The Mayor acclaimed it Field Report Day, and I am thus playing FR all day, as should you.

 

 

 

 

Fans of Bon Iver or Sufjan Stevens will like this.  It’s not mellow, as such; but it does take a bit to grow on you.  The first album was one that never grabbed me, but soon I realized that whenever one of the songs came up I would have to check who it was.

Still haven’t decided if I will go to the show tonight, I have a lot of work to do and a threatening cold.  It’s across the river; I admit I would be much more likely to go if it was at Turner Hall across the street.

Of course, I would suggest you actually pay for the music.  Others disagree.

Comments
  1. The song “Ambrosia” coins the term ‘wishful drinking’…

  2. Plummet says:

    Just as annoying as Bon Iver

  3. mikey says:

    I don’t think I actually advocated not paying for music. In fact, in a break with long – held ideology, I DO pay for music these days. The question I was pondering in the piece over at my gravel pit was twofold: How much should music COST, and how much should making music PAY? The underlying question is one of how much revenue music can generate and how best to distribute those funds. it’s a genuinely hard – and interesting – question…

    • If it’s streaming, apparently very little: http://www.cbsnews.com/news/musicians-say-music-streaming-leaves-them-broke/

      Sure, Justin Bieber, Lady Gaga and U2 have no problem raking in the money. And we agree that expecting to be multi millionaire musicians is not reasonable; however, none of the musicians I ever talk to expect that. What they WOULD like, is for streaming services to pay them for the content they provide.

      Which, I suppose, puts them in the same boat as other writers and artists these days.

      In the end, from what I read streaming services are not making money and in the process of spending themselves into nonexistence, are likely to kill any new music along the way. Yeah, you say that musicians will continue to make music and maybe that’s so but the reality is that if you have to work two jobs to keep life together, the time and energy to write and perform music is pretty limited; and at that point, how exactly do they get some exposure and distribution? I am a rare bird that will search out new artists on their own website nd through Soundcloud and such.

      And, mikey, just when was the last time you saw a band you hadn’t heard before?

      • mikey says:

        I’m no one to judge – I don’t leave the bunker and I discover new music and new bands at the rate of one or two a year.

        And listen – I have no problem with musicians making a living – but I also find having every song ever recorded in my pocket for 8 bucks a month to be an irresistible deal. Even better than stealing!

        The problem is figuring out what people will pay for music – somewhere between you and me would be ideal – and then figuring out how to distribute that revenue to the musicians. It certainly seems to me if you can take the parasitic record labels out of the equation, that should free up some funds. The labels no longer add much in the way of value – marketing and distribution costs simply aren’t what they used to be. I know RCPM make a very good living – they make and sell their own CDs, and they tour NONSTOP. It looks like they have fun, but it also looks exhausting and they are getting older – if they did less live shows I’m sure they’d make less money, so that’s going to be a problem for older musicians.

        Again, it’s a tremendously interesting discussion. Along with the question of why car companies, fast food companies, soft drink companies and beer brewers keep funding television shows? I cannot imagine that all those Ford Truck or Wendy’s teevee commercials make any real impact on sales. And if/when they ever decide to get out of the teevee commercial business, what will that do to the teevee model?

        • Along with the question of why car companies, fast food companies, soft drink companies and beer brewers keep funding television shows

          I once read a proposal, in the liner notes to Negariveland’s Dispepsi album, that either Coke or Pepsi could instantly make a couple of billion dollars by cutting their advertising budget in half; under the theory that essentially no one on the planet is unaware of the products and they have all pretty much tried them and know what they prefer. And that outside of thirteen year olds, they are all pretty much not invested in being a part of the cool factor…

  4. Jennifer says:

    That first one has kind of a Tangerine Dream does the soundtrack for Portlandia feel to it…

  5. but I also find having every song ever recorded in my pocket for 8 bucks a month to be an irresistible deal. Even better than stealing!

    And it doesn’t have NEARLY as much threat of malware!

    But I have played around with every streaming service, including the Holy Google Music (admittedly haven’t tried Beats yet; waiting to see if Apple modifies them at all, but from poking around it seems to be a much more robust service for Insufferable Music Snobs like me) And ‘every song ever recorded’ pretty much drastically overstates the case. And none of them is very conducive to music exploration. For instance, why do Beatles songs show up in pretty much EVERY playlist ever created in Pandora (including Mekons; although oddly, 3B radio appears to have avoided this).

    • I haz dispute.

      The Beatles are not as universal a presence on the Pandora so’s I’ve noticed, and when they do pop up their mopped tops, it is all too often the ‘Cirque du Solail “Love” Soundtrack’, a mess of remixes, medleys, and Satan.

      The one song that shows up everywhere, alt-country, funkedness, death metal, classic comedians, it has (for moments, I’m quick on the thumbs down) blared out, damning my good moods to oblivion, time and again.

      The goat-assed mother-molesting piece of horrendous shitting dick nippled ‘Drops of Jupiter’ by Train. FUCKINING DIE, already!!!

      • I don’t care what the source is, whenever I listen to Pandoo-ra-ra, the Beatles come up.

        You may be right on Train. The hopeless song selection paradigm, not to mention the electro-shock therapy of 3Bulls Radio, turned me offa Pee-dor some time ago…

  6. mikey says:

    Well, the explanation is obviously that you and I are radically different music consumers. But I would submit that the median music consumer looks a lot more like me than like you. I have never looked for something on GMusic that wasn’t there, and I don’t value exploration particularly highly. At any given moment I usually know what I want to listen to, and while I’m listening to that it hits me what I want to listen to next. So you just search for it, and click ‘Play Next’ and move on. And when you’re done, if you think it works particularly well, you click ‘Save as Playlist’. Doesn’t work for Zombies, but 100% mikey recommended…

    • But I would submit that the median music consumer looks a lot more like me than like you.

      Of course, I have never even tried to argue otherwise, even when I am knee-walking, zombie-biting drunk. But what I DID argue is that your constant “subscribe to every song ever recorded” meme is wildly not-true; and that if you are hoping to use any streaming service to discover new music, not only is it a poor tool, but you don’t even have any idea how much it DOESN’T cover…

      Millions of songs on Google music, so they say; but does anyone ever LISTEN to a million songs?

  7. Pupienus Maximus says:

    Sorry for the late notice. https://www.facebook.com/zombiebrewfest

  8. Also, guessing Imma probably late to this particular party, but:

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

