The Best of Times

Posted: December 20, 2014 in Music nobody listens to, Shovels, Wa fuckin Ha

I remember watching Letterman when he was uncomfortable and weird on camera, and his show was uncoordinated and saved by the stunts, like dropping things off the back of the building.  He got better.

 

He got much better, and the weirdness became an affectation.  Weird Pet Tricks became predictable.

But one of his traditions remained, and rightly so:  Darlene Love singing “Baby Come Home For Christmas”  Different every year (so I hear, I stopped watching when the Stewart/Colbert duopoly took over) and always good.  Since Letterman is retiring next year, they pulled out all the fucking stops this year:

 

THAT.  WAS.  AWESOME.

I kept expecting the 12-string guitarist to stop mid-song to tune it.

I hope Colbert finds a similar tradition, perhaps Rush playing every Christmas season, but I have no fear.

But at the end of the day,. Letterman has just convinced me that I will be tuning in for HIS final week, like I did for Colbert’s.

 

Comments
  1. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    Ms Love plays a holiday show every year at the gorgeous Tarrytown Music Hall.

  2. Scott says:

    That was magnificent. My favorite Christmas song by one of the all-time greatests of the greats. (And DAMN but she’s still incredibly attractive.)

  3. mikey says:

    I’ve never watched Letterman. Mostly because I don’t stay up that late, and in a previous life when I never slept I didn’t watch television. But also because I’m so bloody out-of-touch with culture, movies and music that I never get any of the jokes or know who any of the people are. My favorite Christmas Song is 2000 Miles. All the children were singing/He’ll be back at christmastime….

    • Tht’s really weird, to say that you’ve NEVER watched Letterman. I mean, it’s like decades of shows. NEVER?

      I mean, I understand that you need to maintain that facade, in your ‘mikey hemlok is above all that stuff you poor mortals pay attention to” but really? NEVER?

      You want to position yourself as an oracle, but you also claim to have never paid attention to a large portion of the data flow that is part of the culture of the mortals you want to criticize?

      Shenanigans, says I. Shenaniganserei. Shenaniganzomberie.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

