Beaten and Broken

Posted: November 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

Open Letter to my friend Scary Joe:

Joe, man, I understand.  I misbehaved, and I damaged the relationship you have with others in the city and in the bar community.  I was a wreck.

It is weird, at best.  I met you when you were a wreck, and needed a place to crash; you and your cats.  And the place we had, the landlord got pissed about the cats and all of us got launched.  It was the kind of thing that happened, right? I had to live with Craig after that, and that was its own kind of punishment….

But you leveraged the whole music thing into a great position with QVC, and I just kind of worked my way into being a local designer with local semi-notoriety.  And then the Bush crash happened, and I found I couldn’t manage that career, and that nobody wanted to hire me.  Whatever, that isn’t the worst,right?  I mean, it’s not like I got kicked out and had to sleep on friend’s couches.  Not quite…

We’ve been great friends. In all versions of the words.  But I think I may have overextended my friendship.

That night where we were drinking Kenny into the hereafter, I went over the line, admittedly.  And I really thank you for making sure I got into a cab to go home.  Leaving my car in whatever location it was; definitely a good idea on so many levels.  I really regret if any of that damaged your relationship with the owners of Shakers.

As I have implied, I have had a stressed time (as I m aware that you have; I do not pretend that my life is special).  I always enjoyed seeing you and drinking with you.  I don’t pretend that my heart attack earlier this year didn’t have an effect; especially in light of Kenny’s death.

But I feel bad that the whole episode is making you feel bad.  you have been a great friend to me, and I hope that I have been a good friend to you, even when I did’t know you in those days of the flat on Prospect avenue.

Your last comment to me on Facebook was “OK. Stop”  so I will.  It’s not the worst, since your ranting during Packers games is difficult (even if I basically agree with your attitude toward Joe Buck and/or Dom Capers).  I stopped the Facebook linking.

I am not happy about that, but it seemed like the right thing to do.

I apologize, Joe.

Comments
  1. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    Things happen, that’s all they ever do.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

