Blackstar

Posted: January 22, 2016 in Body Count, Fridge Note, Shovels

Jeezus, how can you say goodbye to someone you never met?

Those of you in the bloggerhood may remember Dusty, the Leftwing Nutjob and mouthy wench.  I know at a minimum, AK asked after her on the Book of Face.  Myself, I had wondered where she had gotten herself off to…

Well, it seems that the mystery has been cleared up, in the most horrifying and tragic way imaginable.

We argued much about politics, and I called into her podcast broadcasts occasionally.  Many of the politically oriented of the bloggerhood showed up, and memorably both M Bouffant and I called in on the same day!  mikey and Dusty got into some EPIC fights on my blog.  Nick called her names…

I refer to all of you bunch as my “Imaginary Digital Friends” which kind of cracks up Wife Sublime especially when we meet one of you IRL.  But this brings home, in the most gut-punchy kind of way, that none of you are actually imaginary but real physical beings with problems and loves and a life that maybe has difficulties and then ends in tears and tragedy.

I am very saddened by this; and the tears seem kind of weird, considering that I never even met her.

Rock on, Dusty.  Say hi to Lemmy for me, as I am sure both of you are in the same place….

ETA I posted this on FaceHell, so visitors please feel welcome.  I will have to approve your first comment, but I almost always do, so don’t worry.  Also, in Dusty’s memory, please curse as much as you would like!  We fully endorse the complete range of the English Language here at the Empire!  And if you want to curse in another language, well, we all might learn some new words….

Dusty

Comments
  1. another kiwi says:

    Wow, that’s pretty serious. I rang her up and talked to her on her show once and also to Bouffant. she was lovely, had a wonderful laugh. Dammit, universe, this is not cool. Rock on Dusty

  2. another kiwi says:

    God yes, she had more than enough. What an awful thing it is.

    • I can’t believe I am crying over a person I have never met. You’re not going to die, are you AK?

      • another kiwi says:

        Trying not to, man. Gotta lotta old planes to see today, no time for being deceased.

        • Good plan. I chose to being pre-deceased and now I don’t have to worry, even when my traitor heart tries to secede prematurely…

          On that topic, we have the EAA flight festival every year up here, and we went one year because we got to see Space Ship One fly, and also a Harrier JumpJet. Also, the museum has a life size mock up of the first Wright Flyer, which just made my jaw drop.

  3. M. Bouffant says:

    Um um um …. wow? Not seeing any grim/bizarre details at that link, but wasn’t she illing as well?
    Or is my memory really going?

    A meat-space friend of many yrs. died the wk. before Xmas from sudden heart stoppage; entirely too much of this going around. Don’t think I’m not worried about you, zombie rotten. Keep your ass in shape. (And watch your spawn.)

  4. Dusty was so honest about her life and her relationship with Jerry, and she was so pissed when he had health issues that he never told her about. She was upfront about her own physical pain and that pot helped her deal with that. Such an honest, upfront and foulmouthed woman…

  5. tengrain says:

    Good Lord!

    I’m shocked, I always figured Dusty was eternal, and after the Bomb dropped, she’d be the lone human survivor and would organize the cockroaches into a very productive feminist collective.

    The world needs more Dustys not fewer, we are diminished with this terrible, horrible news.

    Sadly,

    Tengrain

  6. You know what, though? Dusty died in a world that still had Lemmy and David Bowie in it….

  7. Big Bad Bald Bastard says:

    That is tragic, horrible news. Dusty was truly a force of nature, she deserved better than this. I loved her podcast and she was always super supportive.

  8. Mikey Hemlok says:

    It’s funny. She annoyed the crap outta me, and I can’t for the life of me remember why.

    Sure doesn’t matter now, does it?

  9. reallysmall fish says:

    well, shit

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

