WHERE THE HELL’S MY MONEY

Posted: January 31, 2016 in Body Count, Fridge Note, It's not the heat, it's the humanity, the Self-pity goes to 11

Recently, doing some discussion late night with folks on FaceHell about houses and designing houses and how architects actually design houses.  It was late at night on both sides, but I expressed a bitter side of it…

 

I have often said that I am conflicted, sometimes.  I bill a bit less than most attorneys, but I still kind of figure that when I spend time on your behalf, that I should be recompensed.

But what is weird, is here.  Many many people figure that if I work on their behalf and they never go forward with the project, they really don’t owe me anything.  Which is never part of whatever agreement we have (admittedly, I am perfectly willing to spend some amount of time for clients that I have an ongoing relationship with, but that is based on already cashing some checks,even if they are on other projects.  Good credit, you see….)

I have done work for impoverished areas to improve the housing stock, and I have also done multi-million dollar penthouses in the factory district.  I have one client for whom I have done his residence three times….and he is a third generation person who used his parents to help him become a big time developer; he is mostly Republican, although his parents are die-hard Democrats.  But here’s the difference; He has learned, through working for his parents, the value of being a decent developer and he is one of the most respectable people I have ever met in this debased business.

In fact, here was a recent conversation I had with him:

“blah blah blah “

(Side conversation) ” have a good weekend pam”

You’re letting Pam have the afternoon off? (this was like 2 PM on a Friday)\

Shit, on a Friday I am pretty much the only person here.  I am the best boss ever

You don’t have to tell me.  I have had some pretty crappy clients….

His parents are also lovely people, who I have done work for.  They are first-person contacts with the Obamas (so I am 2 degrees, right).  I started working for his father’s company when I was in college, and managed a 24 unit building (a block from where I live now) and later, designing a new office down the hall from my office in a rehab building (they resided in their previous office for like 27 years!) and then designing their offices later when they moved to a a rehab building in the Third Ward.  I have to say that there is no better feeling than when someone keeps coming back to you as a professional….

But I digress.  I came here to talk about the draft.  Wait.  Let me back up.  I was here to talk about Shithead fuckhead people who stiff people who gave them credit.

Like Turdwaffle. Yes, he will eventually find a way for his captive Legislature to turn that back to us in Wisconsin; in fact, they might find a way to make Milwaukee bear the brunt, if not taking it out of the hide of the UW or, in the end, public schools.  So many victims!

Like I said, I am conflicted.  As an architect, my clientele tends toward the wealthy, because who the fuck else can spend and extra 5-8 percent on their construction cost for a turtleneck-wearing motherfucker?  Or more, if that motherfucker has already designed houses for all your parent’s friends? (I don’t wear turtlenecks)

Myself, I have designed several extra-million dollar house projects.  So how am I to feel about those?  When they happened, I sucked up to rich fuckers as as necessary, and cashed those goddam checks, you know I did.

I don’t want to blow my own horn, but I am  fucking good architect, who has had many design awards. But that’s not even the point; the idea is that I do some great works, both outside and inside.

And should I not be paid for that?

I understand, that when it comes to the work I have done for the NFP corporations in the distressed areas of the city.  But When I have done the same work for other cities?  Damn.

After many years, I am fucking great at several aspects:  Code work.  Existing buildings.  design.  GREAT design.  coordination with all the other assholes.

What I suck at?  getting money from dickwads.

 

Comments
  1. (I don’t wear turtlenecks)

    Sure you don’t.

    My house is weird (and awesome) and I really wish I knew who designed it (I haven’t been able to get the blueprints from the original owner yet) just so I could buy them a beer.

    I (briefly) dreamt of a career in architecture eons ago, but, y’know, school/credentials and such. Not something I handle well. But I do appreciate the skills of you and your turtlenecked cohort.

    Also, too: the check’s in the mail.

  2. scott says:

    Totally off topic, but every time I see you commenting elsewhere (LGM just now), I get a little “hey! I know that (undead) guy!”

    • I have referenced myself (especially in the IRL realm) as notorious.

      So, why are you not commenting at LGM? It tends to be a bit rough-and-tumble, but from what I know about you, I think you could fit in well. Unless, of course, you are commenting under a nym…

      • So, why are you not commenting at LGM?

        I don’t know about scott, but I don’t comment there anymore for two reasons:

        1) I never created an account after they started requiring them.
        2) Erik Loomis annoys me
        3) A fanatical devotion to the pope

        THREE, three reasons… I’ll come in again.

        • Oh, pshaw. If I didn’t comment anywhere that I get annoyed, I’d be off the internarfles FOREVER.

          Which might be a good thing, now that I type it out.

          …in any case, the only one at LGM that really annoys me is that polar bear guy. Which is weird, because I contributed to his book. Also, that Denverite guy, because he’s so insufferable. Oh, and bspencer, because now she’s OH TOO GOOD to comment here anymore.

          Maybe I should come in again as well, Cardinal Fang…

        • I will admit that I do occasionally still visit LGM. And also, too, the addition of Shakezula to the front page has been a net positive. And I like Atwell’s stuff about comics.

          Unrelated: I just got tickets (early access reserved, no less) for this show. BNL was the obvious draw for em, but Mrs. Snob was also a huge fan of HoJo back in the day, hence: I now have tickets.

        • Saw them on the last go-round, with Colin Hay and the Violent Femmes. The Femmes were surprisingly good, and patched things up enough to have a new album coming out.

          It needs to be mentioned, here, especially with Scott in attendance, that I have tickets for The River tour next month…

        • Do you have the latest BNL album? I’ve heard good things, but I need to get it.

          It needs to be mentioned, here, especially with Scott in attendance, that I have tickets for The River tour next month…

          I hate you. They’re not coming anywhere near the northwest as far as I can tell (unless they add dates later).

        • Things ain’t like they used to be, this ain’t the summer of love buddy….

      • scott says:

        I comment occasionally. On political blogs, I’m usually logged in as some variant on “scott (the other one),” and rarely bother to change it. But it also seems like I usually get to threads when they’re already scores deep, so whatever I was going to say has already been said.

    • also, scott, I hope you don’t hang out at Riddled. Yeah, they have BOC lyrics, but it could damage your brane….

  3. Since comments are closed on the latest post, I’ll leave this here instead:

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

