What’s the Frequency, Kenneth

Posted: November 14, 2019 in Body Count, Fridge Note, the Self-pity goes to 11, Uncategorized

Made very famous by REM’s use of it in one of their great, great,  songs from Monster – an album that I waited in line at midnight to buy as soon as possible-  But also not noted is that one of my other favorite bands, Game Theory, used it in the proper phrasing “Kenneth, What’s the frequency?”

It was a slight amazing bit of sound and intro to one of the best of the albums from the 80s, and one of the best bands I had ever seen.  Saw them in a dive on the south side of Milwaukee, in the middle of winter, which seemed to shock the women in the band, because they wore completely inappropriate skimpy tops.

I saw Dan Rather interview the Two Mikes from REM the other night, and of course the phrase came up.  They had a clip of Dan Rather trying to sing the song during a sound check which was not amusing, it was painful.

So, let’s talk about the frequency of eye lengths.

Do you guys remember being in grade school?  Do you remember being asked to read the text on film strips?

Well, it was Second grade, I was seven, you know?  And when the teacher was going through the class asking for students to read the film strip, and got to me, I was not able to respond.  Not because I couldn’t read, but because I couldn’t SEE. After she spent a little time trying to help me because she thought I couldn’t read, she eventually understood it was an eyeball thing….How would I know?  My eyes were what I had, and what I could see was the way things were.  Had no idea I should be seeing better, because I had no comparison.

So after my teacher stopped embarrassing me, she told my parents that it was time to get an eye test.  And after that, I got some glasses for the first time in my life.  And I saw things I had never seen before.  IN fact, when I had glasses, I was weirded out by the depth perceptions.  It made walking weird, at best for a short tome of acclimatization, until i got used to the way everything seemed a bit….closer.

I have worn glasses since then.  Or contacts. For a few years, as a kid, I needed new glasses pretty much every year, because my eyes kept going south. I much prefer contacts, but it is hard because I have a weird diagonal astigmatism.  I haven’t seen my eye doctor in some time, And I need new contacts and new glasses.

I had my glasses fall apart tonight, one of the lenses fell right the hell out, and I was forced to use a bent paper clip to put them back together.  Believe me, as a guy who has worn glasses for WAY more than half my life, I have worked out any number of ways to do emergency and field repair.

And it was curious, in that I was forced to use my backup last version glasses, and that those glasses seem to serve better than the ones that lost the screw.

See now here.  As a diabetic, I am supposed to expect my eyes to go weird and degrade.  Which, I guess, is not going to be any weirder than any year before; my eyes have degraded all  my life.

Since I have been wearing glasses all my life, and my prescription is weird and changing and I have the diabetic multiplier, I have long been sensitive to the quality of the eye care I seek out, and I have a very clear preference for a for-real Optometrist or an Ophthalmologist versus an optician, and when providing lenses, I have never had a satisfactory experience from the mall shops or places like Mall-Wart.  Fortunately, one of my neighbors is an Optometrist, and a good one; and in a fine example of work going both ways, I designed his new office on the south side:

IMG_0012

What we found is that my right eye has decided to make a run for it, getting much worse over the past couple of years.  So I need new contacts, and we’ll be trying a couple of different treatment options, and my existing frames get new lenses.  There doesn’t seem to be any other degradation of my eyeballs, so other than just getting older and worser,  we seem to be in good shape.

Comments
  1. Mikey Hemlok says:

    Monster is one of those many CDs I bought in the 90s due to ONE song being played on the radio. Like New Miserable Experience or Lost Somewhere Between the Earth and My Home. It was kind of a ripoff, paying like eighteen bucks for one song and hoping that there’d be some other good shit on their – which often there was, but more often there wasn’t…

    • Huh. I never felt that way about Monster. I saw it as being a typical REM album; a couple of instant classics, a couple of tracks that take some listening, and a lot of tracks that any other band would sell their children for. Certainly it was better than Green.

  2. “They had a clip of Dan Rather trying to sing the song during a sound check which was not amusing, it was painful.

    Truer words.

    “New Miserable Experience” — I’m not sure I would have admitted this by the time the late 90s rolled around, but I feel comfortable these days saying there are at least three or four good tracks on there. Although I was surprised to learn just recently that perhaps their very best song, “Follow You Down,” wasn’t on it! I really thought they were a one-hit-LP wonder.

  3. Silent Mike says:

    I remember my first pair of glasses. My eyesight wasn’t that bad but for the first time I could see the leaves on trees. INDIVIDUAL LEAVES!!!! Not just a greenish blob on the branches. Life shattering.

Go ahead, tell me how I fucked up this time.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.